MINUTES OF THE ILLINOIS WORKERS' COMPENSATION COMMISSION WORKERS' COMPENSATION ADVISORY BOARD MEETING

JAMES R. THOMPSON CENTER, 100 WEST RANDOLPH STREET, ROOM 9-036, CHICAGO, IL and WILLIAM G. STRATTON BUILDING, 401 S. SPRING ST., ROOM 500 1/2, SPRINGFIELD, IL

HELD ON August 13, 2018 at 1:00 PM

Present at the meeting:

Chairman Joann Fratianni

Present by phone:

Mark Denzler
Michael Carrigan
Joseph Coli
Jay Shattuck
Robert Karr
Mark Flannery
Mark Grant
Richard Aleksy
Philip Gruber

Not Present at the meeting:

Todd Maisch Sean Stott Aaron Anderson

IWCC staff present at the meeting:

Ronald Rascia, General Counsel Annette Roti, Confidential Assistant to the Chairman Cecelia Kasmierski, Associate General Counsel Wendy Keithley, Self-Insurance Analyst, present at the Stratton Location, Springfield, IL

Chairman Joann Fratianni called the meeting to order at 1:00 p.m. and noted that a quorum was present.

There was no Old Business and the Board did not to go into closed session. As to New Business, Chairman Fratianni advised that the Board had previously discussed arbitrator recommendations in closed session at the June 19, 2018, meeting and that no recommendations were made at that time. Mr. Rascia advised that the recommendations from the Employee members and the Employer members were now being made in open session. Chairman Fratianni advised that business and labor sent in recommendations.

The Board unanimously recommended the reappointment of the following Arbitrators: Maria Bocanegra, Paul Cellini, Gerald Granada, Jessica Hegarty, Jeffrey Huebsch, Christine Ory, Maureen Pulia, Douglas Steffenson. The Employer members did not recommend the reappointment of Arbitrator George Andros. The Employer members recommended the reappointment of Arbitrators: Stephen Friedman, Nancy Lindsay, and Melinda Rowe-Sullivan. The Employee members recommended the reappointment of Arbitrators: Stephen Friedman, Nancy Lindsay, and Melinda Rowe-Sullivan.

As to the new candidates for appointment, the Employer members recommended Daniel Cody and Jessica Tucker for appointment to any vacancy. The Employee members recommended Daniel Cody and Brian Lassen for appointment to any vacancy. Mr. Aleksy and Mr. Flannery abstained from making Arbitrator recommendations and were noted as "present". Chairman Fratianni thanked the Board for their work in reviewing the credentials and qualifications of the Arbitrators and the candidates. Mr. Rascia indicated that a recommendation letter would be drafted in accordance with the recommendations.

The Chairman advised that no members of the public were present and there was no public comment. There was a motion by Mr. Denzler, seconded by Mr. Aleksy, and unanimously carried to adjourn the meeting at 1:10 p.m.