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HIGHLIGHTS 
 
 
• During FY06, we worked to implement the most comprehensive changes to the Workers’ Compensation 

Act in nearly 30 years.  This bill, agreed to by business and labor leaders through negotiations sponsored 
by the governor, established a medical fee schedule; regulated utilization review of medical treatment; 
increased benefits for widows, orphans, and the lowest-paid workers; created a workers’ compensation 
fraud law and investigatory unit; and improved procedures for cases litigated before the Commission. 

 

• Pursuant to the reform legislation, Governor Blagojevich appointed three more commissioners to move 
cases at the review level. 

 

• Arbitrators decided more cases in FY06 than any year in the past decade. 
 

• The Commission hired a former prosecutor to run the Insurance Compliance Division, which then 
collected over $150,000 from uninsured employers, and brought nearly 500 employees under the 
protection of the law.  (Note: In FY07, we collected over $1 million in penalties.) 

 

• The perception of workers’ compensation costs is often different than the reality.  Among the 50 states and 
the District of Columbia, Illinois is ranked: 

  10th  lowest in w.c. injury rate; 
  25th lowest in w.c. benefit cost rates (w.c. benefits divided by payroll); 
  26th lowest in w.c. medical costs per claim; 
  30th lowest in w.c. insurance premium rates; 
  30th lowest in w.c. indemnity costs per claim; and 
  43rd lowest in wages. 
 

• Accident rates have fallen dramatically.  Illinois' 2003 workers’ compensation total injury rate was  
 53% lower than in 1991.  Everyone wins when injuries are avoided.   
 

• After adjusting for inflation, the 2007 advisory rate for workers’ compensation insurance in Illinois 
represents a 34% decrease since 1990.   

 
 

MISSION  STATEMENT 
 
The Illinois Workers’ Compensation Commission resolves disputes that occur between injured workers and 
their employers regarding workers' compensation.  The Commission strives to assure financial protection to 
injured workers and their dependents at a reasonable cost to employers.   
 

The Commission performs four main functions:  
 

1)  Resolve disputes.  The Commission strives to provide a fair, timely process by which disputed claims 
may be resolved. 

 

2)  Ensure compliance with the law.  The Commission protects the rights of employees and employers under 
the Illinois Workers' Compensation and Occupational Diseases Acts. 

 

3)  Administer self-insurance.  The Commission evaluates and approves eligible employers that wish to 
insure themselves for their workers' compensation liabilities. 

 

4)  Collect statistics.  The Commission compiles information on work-related injuries and diseases. 
 

The Commission intends to accomplish these goals while looking constantly for ways to improve the quality 
of service and treating the public and co-workers with respect.  The success of this organization depends on 
the commitment and full participation of every member. 
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BOARD MEMBERS 
 
 
We are grateful to the individuals who serve on our boards.  All serve without compensation.  
 

COMMISSION REVIEW BOARD 
 

The board investigates complaints made against arbitrators and commissioners.  The governor appoints two 
public members, the senior labor and business commissioners serve by statute, and the arbitrators elect one 
Chicago and one Downstate arbitrator. 
 

Robert Hanaford 
Attorney, Robert H. Hanaford 

 

Ann Marie Walsh 
Attorney, Lord, Bissell & Brook 

Mario Basurto 
Senior Business Commissioner 

 

Barbara A. Sherman 
Senior Labor Commissioner 

Edward Lee 
Chicago Arbitrator 

 

Ruth White 
Downstate Arbitrator

 
SELF-INSURERS ADVISORY BOARD 

 

The board reviews applications from private companies for the self-insurance privilege and makes 
recommendations to the chairman.  The board also ensures the continued payment of benefits to workers of 
bankrupt self-insurers.   
 

Alex G. Alexandrou 
City of Aurora 
 

Curtis C. Beam 
Archer Daniels Midland Co. 

Margaret Blackshere (Public member) 
Illinois State AFL-CIO (ret.) 
 

Gerald F. Cooper 
Scopelitis, Garvin, Light & Hanson 

Paul M. McCloskey 
Amalgamated Bank of Chicago 
 

David Taylor  
Intl. Truck & Engine Corp. 

 
WORKERS’ COMPENSATION ADVISORY BOARD 

 

The board assists the Commission in formulating policies, setting priorities, and developing administrative 
goals.  The board also makes recommendations to the governor regarding Commission appointments.  
 

 EMPLOYEES EMPLOYERS 
 

Michael Carrigan 
Illinois AFL-CIO 
 

Frank Cavarretta 
United Steel Workers 

 

Elwood Flowers 
Amalg. Transit Union 

Dave Menchetti 
Cullen, Haskins,  
  Nicholson and Menchetti 
 

Kim Presbrey 
Presbrey & Assoc. 

David Buckman 
CORE Construction Group 
 

Mark Flannery 
Caterpillar, Inc. 
 

Kim Maisch 
Natl. Fed. of Ind. Business  

Boro Reljic 
Abbott Industries 
 

Gerald Roper 
Chgo. Chamber of Comm. 
 

David Vite 
IL Retail Merchants Assoc.  
 

 
WORKERS’ COMPENSATION MEDICAL FEE ADVISORY BOARD 

 

The board advises the IWCC on the establishment of medical fees and the accessibility of treatment. 
 

EMPLOYEES 
 

Eric Dean  
Intl. Assoc. of Ironworkers 
 

Roger Poole 
International Assoc. of Machinists 
 

Ronald Powell 
United Food & Commercial Workers 

EMPLOYERS 
 

Maddy Bowling 
Maddy Bowling & Associates 
 

John Smolk 
United Airlines 
 

Kathryn Tazic 
Sedgwick Claims Mgmt. 

MEDICAL PROVIDERS 
 

Elena Butkus 
Illinois Hospital Assoc. 
 

Jesse Butler, MD 
Illinois Bone and Joint Institute 
 

Edward Sclamberg, MD  
Illinois Bone and Joint Institute 
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OVERVIEW OF  
WORKERS' COMPENSATION 

 
 
Workers' compensation laws were the first acts of social legislation passed in the United States, and they 
have always been controversial.  At the beginning of the 20th century, employers feared the assumption of 
liability for work-related injuries would destroy their businesses, while workers feared financial ruin from 
disabling injuries.  
 

Before the laws took effect, an injured worker seeking compensation had to file a lawsuit against his or her 
employer in court.  At the time, the common law held that the employer had a duty to provide a safe place to 
work and safe tools; to give warnings of dangers; and to provide a sufficient number of appropriate fellow 
servants to perform the tasks.   
 

In court, the employee had to prove negligence.  The employer could present a defense that blamed the 
injured worker's contributory negligence, or attributed the injury to the negligence of a fellow servant, or 
argued that the employee assumed certain risks in accepting the job.  The process was prolonged and 
uncertain, with large risks to both employee and employer.   
 

The high injury and death rates throughout the Industrial Revolution and growing dissatisfaction with the 
common law gradually led to the enactment of employer liability acts.  Employers were held more 
responsible for negligence, but employees still had to file lawsuits for damages.   
 

The first workers' compensation laws originated in Germany in 1884 with a compulsory system of accident 
insurance covering all employees in manufacturing, mining, and transportation.  Similar laws passed in other 
European countries.  
 

In the U.S., laws were passed on a state-by-state basis.  Most of the early laws covered only hazardous 
occupations and were frequently challenged as unconstitutional.  Maryland passed the first act in 1902, 
which was restricted to fatal cases.  The first law of general application that withstood legal challenges was 
Wisconsin's act of 1911.  Illinois passed its law in 1911, effective May 1, 1912.  It took until 1948 for all 
states to establish a workers' compensation law.   
 

Workers' compensation laws contain two tradeoffs: 
 

1. Employees gave up their right to sue and potentially win large awards in court in exchange for more 
modest but prompt compensation; 

 

2. Employers gave up their common law defenses in exchange for limits on their liabilities.   
 

Workers' compensation was established as a no-fault system.  The theory behind the law is that the cost of 
work-related injuries or illnesses should be part of the cost of the product or service.   
 

Originally, the courts administered the Illinois act.  The volume overwhelmed the courts, however, and on 
July 1, 1913, a three-member Industrial Board was created.  In 1917, a five-member Industrial Commission 
was created within the Illinois Department of Labor.  In 1957, the Commission separated from the 
Department of Labor and became a self-standing agency.  On January 1, 2005, the agency officially became 
the Illinois Workers’ Compensation Commission.   
 

Almost every employee who is hired, injured, or whose employment is localized in Illinois is covered by 
workers' compensation.  For the most part, benefits are paid for accidental injuries that are caused, in whole 
or in part, by the employee's work.  This includes the aggravation of a pre-existing condition and injuries 
brought on by the repetitive use of a part of the body. 
 

Illinois employers pay for workers' compensation benefits through insurance policies or by self-insurance.  
Benefits are based on the worker's earnings, subject to certain limits.  Cases are first heard by arbitrators, 
whose decisions may be appealed to commissioners.  Cases may proceed on to the circuit court, Illinois 
Appellate Court, and the Illinois Supreme Court.  Most cases, however, are settled between the parties.  
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OVERVIEW OF DISPUTE RESOLUTION PROCESS  

 
 

Employee reports injury

to employer

250,000/year

Employer reports 

 to Commission injuries 

of more than 3 lost workdays

80,000/year

Commission mails 

handbook to employee

Parties resolve case Parties do not 

resolve case

Employee files claim

at Commission

60,000 - 70,000/year

Arbitrator settles case Arbitrator issues decision Arbitrator dismisses case
50,000 - 60,000/year 3,000 - 4,000/year 7,000 - 8,000/year

Decision appealed
to commissioner

50% appealed

Commissioner settles case Commissioner issues decision Commissioner dismisses case
300 - 600/year 1,000 - 1,100/year 100/yr.

Decision appealed
to Circuit Court
30% appealed

Circuit Ct. issues decision

250 - 300/year

Decision appealed

to Appellate Court

Appellate Ct. issues opinion/order

100/year

Opinion appealed

to Supreme Court

5% appealed

Supreme Ct. issues opinion

1 - 5/year

Note:  Cases can go back and forth between levels.  Figures reflect the past five years, and are rough estimates. 
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FINANCES 
 
 
In 2003, the legislature and governor authorized an independent source of operating funds for the 
Commission.  Illinois became the 46th state in the country to pay for its workers’ compensation agency 
through an independent source of funds.   
 
SPECIAL FUNDS 
 

The Commission operates eight funds that are independent of the General Revenue Fund. 
 

ACTIVITY OF SPECIAL FUNDS 
 
 6/30/05 plus minus plus/minus 6/30/06 
 Balance Income Expenditures Adjustments Balance 
 

IWCC Operations Fund $4,247,068 $18,190,973 $15,916,971 ($3,148) $6,517,922 
 

Injured Workers’ Benefit Fund $0 $159,467 $0  $159,467 
 
Rate Adjustment Fund ($15,924,302) $12,099,357 $11,184,046 $751 ($15,008,240) 
 

Second Injury Fund $523,931 $1,474,395 $1,465,583  $532,743 
 

Self-Insurers 
Administration Fund $473,185 $366,331 $175,860 ($256,423) $407,233 
 

Self-Insurers 
Security Fund $21,058,586 $5,185,636 $6,860,402 ($1,140,566) $18,243,254 
 

Transcript Deposit Fund $30,496 $11,340 $7,700  $34,136 
 
Workers' Compensation 
Benefit Trust Fund $199,426 $1,886 $0 ($199,931) $1,381 

 
IWCC OPERATIONS FUND Illinois Compiled Statutes, Ch. 820, Para. 305, Sec. 4d; Ch. 215, Para. 5, Sec. 416 
 

The IWCC Operations Fund was created in 2003 to pay for the administrative costs of the agency.  Each 
year, employers pay a 1.01% surcharge on workers’ compensation insurance premiums, while self-insured 
employers pay an assessment of 0.0075% of payroll.   
 
INJURED WORKERS’ BENEFIT FUND Illinois Compiled Statutes, Chapter 820, Section 4(d) 
 

The Injured Workers’ Benefit Fund was created as part of the 2005 legislative reform package.  The IWBF 
collects fines from uninsured employers and pays benefits to the injured employees of uninsured employers 
whose employers fail to pay. 
 
RATE ADJUSTMENT FUND Illinois Compiled Statutes, Chapter 820, Paragraph 305, Sections 7-8 
 

The Rate Adjustment Fund was created in 1975 to pay cost-of-living increases to roughly 1,200 individuals 
who are either permanently and totally disabled or the survivors of fatally injured workers.  Individuals who 
receive awards or settlements for permanent and total disability or death benefits are eligible.   
 

Benefits are paid each month, beginning on July 15 of the second year after the award or settlement is 
entered by the Commission.  Recipients are given an amount equal to the percentage increase in the 
statewide average weekly wage, as calculated by the Department of Employment Security.  If there is a 
decrease in the statewide average weekly wage, there is no change in the compensation rate.  
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The fund has run a deficit since 1994.  The assessment amount has been increased several times over the 
years, but it has never been enough to cover the benefits paid out.   
 

As provided in the 2005 reform legislation, self-insured employers and insurance companies semiannually 
pay 1.25% of all indemnity payments paid in the six-month period preceding the payment date.  This rate 
should guarantee that the Commission will pay benefits on time and pay off the debt over the next several 
years.   
 
SECOND INJURY FUND Illinois Compiled Statutes, Chapter 820, Paragraph 305, Sections 7-8 
 

The Second Injury Fund provides an incentive to employers to hire disabled workers.  Illinois' SIF is more 
narrowly constructed than most other states.  If a worker who had previously incurred the complete loss of a 
member or the use of a member (one hand, arm, foot, leg, or eye) is injured on the job and suffers the 
complete loss of another member so that he or she is permanently and totally disabled (PTD), the employer is 
liable only for the injury due to the second accident.  The fund pays the amount necessary to provide the 
worker with a PTD benefit.   
 

Approximately 100 individuals receive SIF benefits.  In January and July each year, insurers and self-insured 
employers pay assessments up to 1/8 of 1% of compensation payments made during the previous six months.   
 
SELF-INSURERS ADMINISTRATION FUND Illinois Compiled Statutes, Chapter 820, Paragraph 305, Section 4a-6.1 
 

The Self-Insurers Administration Fund was created in 1988 to pay the administrative costs of the 
Commission's self-insurance program.  Private self-insured employers pay a fee of $500 per entity when 
applying for or renewing the self-insurance privilege.   
 
SELF-INSURERS SECURITY FUND Illinois Compiled Statutes, Chapter 820, Paragraph 305, Section 4a-5, 6 
 

The Self-Insurers Security Fund was created in 1986 to pay benefits to employees of private self-insurers that 
became insolvent after 1986.  Self-insured employers pay assessments based on their indemnity payments, 
up to a maximum of 1.2% of indemnity benefits paid during the preceding year.  The “income received” 
column also reflects the collection of bonds and escrows from self-insured employers during the year.  The 
“adjustments” column reflects changes in the unpaid liability of the fund.  This fund has always paid the 
benefits in full.   
 
TRANSCRIPT DEPOSIT FUND Illinois Compiled Statutes, Chapter 30, Paragraph 105 
 

When a case is appealed to the circuit court, the appealing party pays a $35 fee for the preparation of the file.   
 

 
W.C. BENEFIT TRUST FUND Illinois Compiled Statutes, Chapter 30, Paragraph 105 
 

The Workers' Compensation Benefit Trust Fund pays benefits to employees of private self-insurers that 
became insolvent before 1986.  Benefits are paid from securities posted by the self-insurers; any unused 
funds are then returned to the insolvent estate.   
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INSURANCE 
 
 
Employers are responsible for the payment of benefits to injured workers; they must either purchase 
insurance or obtain permission to self-insure.   
 
INSURANCE 
 

The workers' compensation insurance business in Illinois is profitable and highly competitive.  More 
insurance companies sell workers' compensation policies in Illinois than in any other state.1  And, over the 
last 10 years, the number of companies selling w.c policies in Illinois actually increased 10%.2 
 

The National Council on Compensation Insurance, a private organization, issues advisory insurance rates.  
Illinois carriers are free to set their own rates, and use the advisory rate in their calculations.  
 

Using the NCCI advisory rates, a premium of $100 in 1990 would cost only $104.32 in 2007.  After 
adjusting for inflation, the 2007 advisory rate actually represents a 34% decrease in costs.3 
 
INSURANCE COMPLIANCE PROGRAM 
 

Illinois law requires employers to insure themselves for their workers' compensation liabilities, but some 
employers fail to comply.  These employers enjoy an unfair competitive advantage over law-abiding 
companies, while leaving their employees vulnerable if accidents should occur.   
 

If the Commission finds an employer knowingly and willfully failed to obtain insurance, it may be fined up 
to $500 for every day of noncompliance, with a minimum fine of $10,000.  Corporate officers may be held 
personally liable if the company fails to pay the fine.    
 

Under legislation that took effect July 20, 2005, an employer may also face criminal charges and/or a work-
stop order for failing to obtain workers' compensation insurance.   
 

In FY06, the Commission hired a former prosecutor to run the Insurance Compliance Division.  The unit 
brought 31 employers, with 467 employees, into compliance, and collected $156,467 from employers found 
to be operating without insurance.  (Note: In FY07, we collected over $1 million in penalties.) 
 

Pursuant to the 2005 reform legislation, fines are deposited into the newly created Injured Workers’ Benefit 
Fund, which then pays benefits to injured workers whose uninsured employers fail to pay.   
 
BALANCE BILLING 
 

By law, employers are responsible for the payment of all medical services reasonably necessary to cure or 
relieve the injured worker from the effects of the injury.  In some cases, however, the medical provider or 
insurer will try to get the injured worker to pay any unpaid balances of medical bills.  Workers may be 
pursued by collection agencies, and their credit records may be damaged, for bills that were never their 
responsibility.   
 

The legislation that took effect July 20, 2005 contains a balance billing provision.  If an employee informs 
the medical provider that a claim is on file at the Commission, the provider must cease all efforts to collect 
payment from the employee.  Any statute of limitations applicable to the provider's efforts to collect from the 
employee is tolled from the date that the employee files the application with the Commission until the date 
that the provider is permitted to resume collection.   
 

When an employee notifies a medical provider that the treatment or service is for a work-related injury, the 
provider shall bill the employer directly.  If the employer does not dispute payment of first aid, medical, 
surgical, or hospital services, Section 8(a) provides that the employer shall make payment directly to the 
provider on behalf of the employee.  The employer shall pay the bill within 60 days of receipt of the bill as 
long as the claim contains substantially all the required data elements necessary to adjudicate the bills.  
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Unpaid bills incur interest at a rate of 1% per month, payable to the provider.  A provider cannot hold an 
employee liable for costs related to non-disputed services for a compensable injury and shall not bill or 
attempt to recover from the employee the difference between the provider's charge and the amount paid by 
the employer or insurer on a compensable injury. 
 

While the claim at the Commission is pending, the provider may mail the employee reminders that the 
employee will be responsible for payment of the bill when the provider is able to resume collection efforts.  
The provider may request information about the Commission claim and if the employee fails to respond or 
provide the information within 90 days, the provider is entitled to resume collection efforts and the employee 
is responsible for payment of the bills.  The reminders shall not be provided to any credit agency.  
 
SELF-INSURANCE 
 

Private employers may obtain approval to insure themselves for their workers' compensation liabilities, or 
they may join a pool of other employers.  The Commission evaluates individual self-insurers, while the 
Illinois Division of Insurance evaluates pools.  Public employers may self-insure without obtaining approval.   
 

Less than 1% of employers self-insure, but they are among the largest organizations in the state, and employ 
roughly 10% of the employees in Illinois. 
 

As the cost of traditional insurance has decreased, many employers have stopped self-insuring and returned 
to conventional insurance arrangements.   
 

PARENT COMPANIES 
PARTICIPATING IN THE 

COMMISSION'S SELF-INSURANCE PROGRAM 
 
 Date # Parent Companies 
 

 6/30/95 496 
 6/30/00 361 
 6/30/01 335 
 6/30/02 329 
 6/30/03 314 
 6/30/04 317 
 6/30/05 319 
 6/30/06 311 
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ADMINISTRATION 
 
 
ADMINISTRATIVE ACCOMPLISHMENTS 
 
• In FY06, arbitrators issued the most decisions since FY93.   
 

• The chairman directed arbitrators to give special attention to the oldest cases and make more efforts to 
resolve these cases.  Since that directive, the number of red-line cases—those three years old or older—has 
dropped by 9%. 

 

• The total number of cases pending at the Commission has declined from over 111,000 cases in FY03, when 
the Blagojevich administration took office, to less than 100,000 cases at the end of FY06.   

 

• The Commission hired a former prosecutor to run the Insurance Compliance Division, which then 
collected over $150,000 from uninsured employers, and brought nearly 500 employees under the 
protection of the law.  (Note: In FY07, we collected over $1 million in penalties.) 

 

• The Commission implemented the first medical fee schedule in Illinois.  The schedule is the first in the 
country to be offered completely online. 

 

• The Commission expanded its web page, adding a page that allows users to check the status of all w.c. 
cases, and another page that allows users to check employers’ w.c. insurance coverage.  Previously, an 
individual would have to either call or come to the office to obtain this information.   

 

• The Workers’ Compensation Advisory Board was reactivated and met for the first time in over a decade.  
The board continues to meet quarterly.  

 
ORGANIZATIONAL STRUCTURE 
 

At the end of FY06, the Workers’ Compensation Commission consisted of the chairman, nine commissioners, 
161 employees, and six employees in the separately funded Self-Insurance Division, for a total of 177 people.    

 

ILLINOIS WORKERS' COMPENSATION COMMISSION 
ORGANIZATIONAL CHART 

 

 

Commission
Governor Review Board

Self-Insurers'
Advisory Board

Commissioners (9) Chairman Workers' Comp.
Advisory Board

WC Medical Fee

Advisory Board

Staff Arbitrators (33) Operations (72) Chairman's 
Attorneys (14) Staff  (4)

Admin. Assts, Arbitration Support MIS  (9) Self-
Clerks (9) Staff (3) Insurance  (6)

Fiscal  (9) Insurance
Compliance (4)

Human Research &
Resources  (2) Education  (2)
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For the sake of clarity, we list the individual in a position as of the time this report went to print.   
 
 
CHAIRMAN'S OFFICE Headcount:  4 
 

Dennis R. Ruth, Chairman 
 

The Chairman's Office consists of Katherine Devereaux, state purchasing officer; Kathryn Kelley, legal 
counsel; and Angela Moore-Gardner, private secretary to the chairman.   
The legislative liaison position was filled at the end of FY06 but is currently vacant. 
 
FISCAL OFFICE Headcount:  9 
 

Carol Reckamp, Manager 
 

The unit maintains the Commission's budget, manages the appropriations process, administers the 
Commission's seven special funds, and handles payroll and purchasing. 
 
HUMAN RESOURCES Headcount:  2 
 

The manager position is currently vacant. 
 

This office handles all personnel transactions and benefit programs.   
 
INSURANCE COMPLIANCE Headcount:  4 
 

Jannis Eisbart, Manager 
 

This unit enforces the law that requires employers to have workers' compensation insurance. 
 
JUDICIAL DIVISION Headcount:  58 
 

Carolyn Parks, Executive Director/Judicial Manager 
 
Arbitration  Bertha Parker, Coordinator 
 

Arbitrators conduct hearings, issue decisions, and approve settlements of cases.  At the end of FY06, 15 
arbitrators worked in the Chicago office and 18 arbitrators traveled to 31 downstate hearing sites.  Two 
support staff set schedules, conduct legal research, and provide clerical support.  
 
Commission Dora Shabazz, Coordinator 
 

Three panels of three commissioners conduct hearings, issue decisions, and approve settlements of cases that 
have been appealed from the arbitration level.  On each panel, one member represents business, one 
represents labor, and one is a public member.   
 

Each commissioner has two staff attorneys who analyze and summarize cases, and draft decisions and 
orders; each commissioner also has an administrative assistant who manages the caseload and provides 
clerical support.   
 
MANAGEMENT INFORMATION SYSTEMS Headcount:  9 
 

Daniel Coluzzi, Manager 
 

MIS maintains the computer systems, and produces notices, call sheets, and other documents.  
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OPERATIONS DIVISION Headcount:  72 
 

Amy Masters, Secretary of Commission/Chief of Staff 
 
Central Files 
 

Employees maintain the case files, coordinate correspondence with the downstate arbitrators, and provide 
copies of case records to the public. 
 
Court Reporting 
 

Court reporters record hearings and produce typewritten transcripts of hearings.  One staff person tracks 
transcripts throughout the hearing process. 
 
Data Entry 
 

This unit enters case information into the mainframe computer system. 
 
Docket 
 

Employees process all incoming claims, motions, and other case documents. 

 
Information 
 

Employees in four locations handle roughly 100,000 telephone calls each year.  They explain procedures, 
distribute informational materials, and prepare summons for the circuit courts.   
 
Mail Room 
 

The Mail Room handles nearly one-half million pieces of mail each year.   
 
Reception 
 

The receptionist directs visitors and telephone calls. 
 
Review and Emergency Hearings (19(b) and 19(b-1)) 
 

The unit maintains files for cases on review and schedules oral arguments.  It also manages cases filed under 
Sections 19(b) and 19(b-1) of the Act, which outlines the process by which emergency cases are to be 
handled.   
 
RESEARCH AND EDUCATION Headcount:  2 
 

Susan Piha, Manager   
 

This unit conducts operations research, handles communications, and manages training programs. 
 
SELF-INSURANCE DIVISION Headcount:  6 
 

Maria Sarli-Dehlin, Manager 
 

This division administers the self-insurance privilege and handles insolvencies of individual bankrupt self-
insurers.   
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STATISTICS 
 
 
Each year in Illinois, roughly 250,000 work-related accidents occur.  In most of these cases, the worker does 
not lose time from work.  Each year, approximately 60,000 claims are filed with the Commission; the 
statistics in this section refer only to those cases that are filed with the Commission.   
 
ACCIDENT 
 

Location of accident.  Cases are assigned to the hearing site nearest the site of the accident.  If the accident 
occurred outside of Illinois, the case is assigned to the hearing site closest to the petitioner's home; if the 
petitioner lives outside of Illinois, the case is set at the site most convenient to the parties.   
 

The following table groups the 1,200 cities and towns in Illinois by the 32 hearing sites to which the claims 
were assigned, and indicates where accidents occur. 
 

NEW CASES FILED BY HEARING SITE 
 
 Hearing Site FY06 FY05 FY04 FY03 FY02 FY01 
 

1. Belleville* 1,277 1,365 1,459 1,681 1,689 1,829 
2. Bloomington 1,396 1,682 1,940 1,854 1,805 1,790 
3. Carlinville  319 309 322 366 389 369 
4. Carlyle 522 619 652 703 892 991 
5. Chicago 22,575 23,096 24,712 26,475 27,795 29,257 
6. Clinton 211 175 255 240 231 273 
7. Collinsville* 1,918 1,904 2,095 2,021 2,013 2,016 
8. Danville 504 541 541 653 625 632 
9. Decatur 816 853 851 915 1,093 1,282 
10. De Kalb 410 458 483 521 552 533 
11. Galesburg 570 710 664 734 753 865 
12. Geneva 2,464 2,558 2,704 2,773 2,824 2,859 
13/14. Herrin/Whittington 2,276 2,577 2,487 2,466 2,368 2,471 
15. Jacksonville 491 535 533 542 486 579 
16. Joliet 2,548 2,431 2,543 2,617 2,671 2,651 
17. Kankakee 615 686 728 781 797 863 
18. Lawrenceville 375 416 357 475 438 430 
19. Mattoon 910 1,114 1,090 1,162 1,292 1,410 
20. Mt. Vernon 561 527 492 506 515 508 
21. Ottawa 925 898 983 931 1,086 1,013 
22. Peoria 2,671 2,644 2,845 2,838 2,738 2,954 
23. Quincy 492 478 525 558 554 532 
24. Rock Falls 492 427 555 634 692 872 
25. Rock Island 747 814 795 799 899 947 
26. Rockford 2,320 2,314 2,612 2,649 2,886 2,975 
27. Springfield 1,424 1,298 1,435 1,424 1,399 1,324 
28. Taylorville 143 137 150 139 146 170 
29. Urbana 820 892 934 964 1,060 1,013 
30. Waukegan 2,066 2,178 2,272 2,462 2,480 2,550 
31. Wheaton 3,107 3,135 3,219 3,456 3,829 3,953 
32. Woodstock 946 944 1,034 964 1,081 1,127 
 

Total new cases filed 56,911 58,715 62,267 65,303 68,078 71,038 
 
* In FY04, cases in eastern Madison County were moved from the Belleville docket to the new Collinsville docket.   
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ACCIDENT 
 

Part of body injured.  If a case involved more than one body part, each part was counted separately.   
 

PART OF BODY INJURED 
BY FISCAL YEAR OF ACCIDENT  

 
 FY06 FY05 FY04 FY03 FY02 
Head and neck 
 Eyes <1% <1% 1% <1% 1% 
 Head--other parts 2% 3% 3% 3% 3% 
 Neck 4% 4% 4% 4% 4% 
 

Trunk 
 Back 17% 18% 18% 18% 18% 
 Shoulder 7% 6% 6% 7% 6% 
 Not specified 2% 2% 2% 2% 2% 
 

Upper extremities 
 Arm 10% 10% 10% 11% 10% 
 Hand 13% 13% 13% 14% 14% 
 Finger 5% 5% 5% 6% 6% 
 Not specified 3% 3% 3% 3% 3% 
 

Lower extremities 
 Foot 5% 5% 5% 5% 5% 
 Knee 6% 6% 6% 6% 6% 
 Leg 7% 7% 7% 7% 7% 
 Toe <1% <1% <1% <1% <1% 
 Not specified 2% 2% 1% 1% 2% 
 

Body systems <1% <1% <1% <1% <1% 
 

Multiple parts 15% 16% 16% 13% 13% 
 

Total 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 
 
AVERAGE WEEKLY WAGE 
 

Claimants' wages generally lag behind the statewide average weekly wage.  The wages of workers who 
experienced accidents in FY06 averaged 13% lower than the statewide average.  
 

AVERAGE WEEKLY WAGE  
BY YEAR OF ACCIDENT 

 
 FY06 FY05 FY04 FY03 FY02 
Claimants' Average 
Weekly Wage $716.48 $690.49 $677.14 $670.85 $653.98 
 

Statewide Average 
Weekly Wage as of 6/30 $822.20 $788.99 $764.80 $753.31 $742.24 
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BENEFIT RATES 
 

Unless otherwise noted, benefits are paid at 66 2/3% of the injured worker's gross average weekly wage 
(AWW) during the year preceding the accident or last exposure.  Benefits are limited to a percentage of the 
statewide average weekly wage (SAWW) in effect at the time of the injury or exposure.  The Illinois 
Department of Employment Security publishes the SAWW every six months. 
 

WEEKLY BENEFIT LIMITS AS OF JUNE 30, 2006 
 
TEMPORARY TOTAL DISABILITY # DEPENDENTS MINIMUM MAXIMUM 
 

 0 $173.32 $1,096.27 
 1 $199.32 $1,096.27 
 2 $225.32 $1,096.27 
 3 $251.32 $1,096.27 
 4+  $260.00 $1,096.27 
 

For injuries occurring on or after February 1, 2006, the minimum rates for TTD are 66 2/3% of the sum of 
the federal minimum wage or the Illinois minimum wage, whichever is higher, multiplied by 40 hours.  The 
percentage increases by 10% for each spouse and child, not to exceed 100% of the total wage calculation.  
The benefit shall not exceed the worker’s average weekly wage.   
 
TEMPORARY PARTIAL DISABILITY 
 

For injuries occurring on or after February 1, 2006, an employee who works light-duty and earns less than he 
or she would be earning at full capacity is entitled to TPD.  TPD shall be paid at two-thirds of the difference 
between the average amount the employee would be able to earn in the full performance of his or her duties 
in the occupation in which he or she was engaged at the time of the accident, and the net amount that he or 
she is earning in the modified job.   
 
PERMANENT PARTIAL DISABILITY # DEPENDENTS MINIMUM MAXIMUM 
 

 0 $173.32 $591.77 
 1 $199.32 $591.77 
 2 $225.32 $591.77 
 3 $251.32 $591.77 
 4+ $260.00 $591.77 
 

For injuries occurring on or after February 1, 2006, the minimum rates for PPD are 66 2/3% of the sum of the 
federal minimum wage or the Illinois minimum wage, whichever is higher, multiplied by 40 hours.  The 
percentage increases by 10% for each spouse and child, not to exceed 100% of the total wage calculation.  
The benefit shall not exceed the worker’s average weekly wage.   
 

Amputations and enucleations are compensated at a higher rate: the minimum is 50% of the statewide 
average weekly wage, and the maximum is $1,096.27. 
 

The maximum benefit under Section 8(d)(1) is 100% of the statewide average weekly wage.   
 
PERMANENT TOTAL DISABILITY  MINIMUM MAXIMUM 
 

 $411.10 $1,096.27 
 

The minimum PTD benefit cannot be less than 50% of the SAWW.  The maximum benefit can be no more 
than 133 1/3% of the SAWW.   
 
FATALITY  MINIMUM MAXIMUM 
 

 $411.10 $1,096.27 
 

The minimum death benefit cannot be less than 50% of the SAWW.  The maximum benefit can be no more 
than 133 1/3% of the SAWW. 



16 

CASES CLOSED 
 

As in other court systems, most cases at the Commission are settled.  Please note that these figures report 
only the final action on a case.  If a case had more than one action (e.g., a case was decided at arbitration, 
then decided by the Commission, then settled), only the final action is reported here.  An arbitration case is 
counted as closed if it was dismissed, settled, or if a decision was issued and no appeal was filed.   
 

TOTAL CASES CLOSED 
ARBITRATION AND REVIEW LEVELS 

 
 FY06 % FY05 % FY04 % FY03 % FY02 % 
 

Dismissals 7,831 12% 7,173 11% 6,785 10% 6,707 10% 7,856 11% 
Settlements 54,468 85% 56,327 86% 57,482 87% 61,815 88% 62,316 87% 
Decisions   2,160 3%    1,977 3%     2,108 3%    1,914 3%    1,846 3% 
Total  64,459  65,477  66,375  70,436  72,018 
 

 
 

CASES CLOSED 
AT ARBITRATION 

 
FINAL ACTION FY06 % FY05 % FY04 % FY03 % FY02 % 
 

Dismissals: 
Voluntary 673  712  590  582  627 
DWP* 7,043  6,352  6,069  6,042  7,143 
Total dismissals 7,716 12% 7,064 11% 6,659 10% 6,624 10% 7,770 11% 
 

Settlements: 
Original settlements 9,551  9,876  10,480  10,723  11,401 
Before arb. decision 43,605  45,223  45,922  50,206  50,014 
After arb. decision     742       713       668        549       495 
Total settlements 53,898 85% 55,812 87% 57,070 88% 61,478 89% 61,910 87% 
 

Decisions 1,466 2% 1,303 2% 1,379 2% 1,180 2% 1,093 2% 
 

Total closed 63,080  64,179  65,108  69,282  70,773 
 
* DWP = Dismissed for Want of Prosecution 
 
 

CASES CLOSED  
AT REVIEW 

 
FINAL ACTION FY06 % FY05 % FY04 % FY03 % FY02 % 
 

Dismissals at review 115 8% 109 8% 126 10% 83 7% 86 7% 
 

Settlements: 
Before arb. decision 129  75  45  42  49 
After arb. decision 323  321  252  196  235 
After review decision 118  119  115     99  122 
Total settlements 570 41% 515 40% 412 33% 337 29% 406 33% 
 

Review decisions 694 50% 674 52% 729 58% 734 64% 753 60% 
 

Total cases closed 1,379  1,298  1,267  1,154  1,245 
 

 
Because of rounding, percentages do not always add up to 100%. 
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CASES OPENED 
 

CASES OPENED 
 
 FY06 FY05 FY04 FY03 FY02 
 

New claims filed 47,135 48,711 51,752 54,504 56,548 
Original settlements filed    9,796 10,004 10,515 10,799 11,530 
Total new cases filed 56,931 58,715 62,267 65,303 68,078 
 

Returned for further action* 39 222 42 384 
Reinstated 2,195 1,992 1,914 2,244 2,616 
Remanded to arbitrator 53 52 54 36 32 
Remanded to commissioner      40      65     73      55      50 
Total cases returned to caseload 2,327 2,331 2,083 2,719 2,698 
 

Total additions to the caseload 59,258 61,046 64,350 68,022 70,776 
 

* This category was created to make the caseload numbers balance, accounting for those cases that were counted closed more than once  
 ( e.g., a case was decided in one fiscal year, and counted as closed, but then a settlement was approved in the next fiscal year).   
 

A new claim is opened when a worker files an application with the Commission; in 83% of those cases, the 
worker hires an attorney.  When a settlement contract is filed without a prior application, it is referred to as 
an original settlement; in 94% of those cases, the worker does not have an attorney.   
 
CASES PENDING 
 

As the chart below shows, the pending caseload had been rising rapidly since 1975, but the trend has finally 
reversed. 
 

 
 

Arbitration.  At the end of FY06, there were roughly 97,000 cases pending at arbitration.  In most cases, the 
parties to these pending cases are not waiting for the Commission to act.  Roughly 90% of these cases have 
the status, “continued at arbitration,” which means the case is being automatically continued, waiting for the 
parties to act.  The majority of cases at arbitration are settled, and parties are free to settle at any time.   
 

In May 2005, after the Commission hired more arbitrators, the chairman directed arbitrators to give special 
attention to the oldest cases, and make efforts to resolve these cases.  By the end of FY06, the number of red-
line cases—those three years old or older—had decreased by 9%.   
 

Review.  At the end of FY06, there were 2,600 cases pending before commissioners.   
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DECISIONS ISSUED 
 

As in other court systems, most of the cases filed with the Commission are settled.  Fewer and fewer cases 
proceed on to the next level, as shown below.  Cases involving state employees cannot proceed past the 
Commission.   
 

Note that the Commission operated in FY06 with only two panels of commissioners.  A third panel was 
added at the end of the year.  Commissioners will issue approximately 1,500 decisions in FY07.   
 

DECISIONS AND APPEALS 
 
 Arbitration  Commission  Circuit Ct. Appellate Ct. Supreme Ct. 
 Decisions % Decisions % Decisions Opinions/Orders Opinions 
 Issued Appealed Issued Appealed Issued Issued Issued 
 

2002 2,802 50% 1,093 29% 250-300 112 1-5 
2003 2,912 50% 1,055 29% 250-300 107 1-5 
2004 3,759 51% 1,025 31% 250-300 123 1-5 
2005 3,578 52% 1,054 28% 250-300 106 1-5 
2006 3,899 50% 1,090 28% 250-300 108 1-5 
 

Note:  Commission figures are for the fiscal year; court figures are for the calendar year. 
 
Appeal rates.  The petitioner appeals an arbitration decision hoping for an increase in benefits, but of those 
cases appealed by the petitioner, the commissioners did not increase benefits in 63% of these cases.  
Similarly, the respondent appeals with the hope of a decreased benefit, but of the cases appealed by the 
respondent, the commissioners did not decrease benefits 75% of the time.   
 

OUTCOME OF APPEALS 
REVIEW DECISIONS ISSUED IN FY06 

 
Arbitration decision Petitioner Respondent 
was appealed by: (Employee) (Employer) Both Total 
 

Affirmed 61% 71% 51% 64% 
Reversed 16% 4% 7% 9% 
Modified, no change in benefits 0% 1% 7% 2% 
Benefits increased 21% 3% 19% 13% 
Benefits decreased 2% 20% 15% 12% 
 
Turnaround times.  The times shown below should be considered together.  A regular case that is decided at 
both the arbitration and Commission levels, for example, would take about 52 months.   
 

During FY06, we had only two panels of commissioners operating, whereas in FY07, we added a third panel.  
We expect to see improvement in these times, and substantially more decisions.   
 

DECISIONS ISSUED  
DURING FY06 

 
 Regular Cases 19(b) Cases 19(b-1) Cases 
 

Arbitration decisions* 2,987 895 17 
# Months to issue 36 6 2 
 

Commission decisions** 685 318 8 
# Months to issue 16 14 3 
 
* For regular arbitration cases, the turnaround time is calculated from the date a claim is filed until the date the decision is filed;  
 for 19(b) and 19(b-1) cases, the time is calculated from the date a petition is filed until the decision is filed. 
 

** For Commission decisions, the turnaround time is calculated from the date a Petition for Review is filed until the decision is filed. 
 

Note:  Some decisions—those involving only attorney fees or penalties, for example—are not included in the three categories above.   
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Trends.  Under Section 19(b-1) of the Act, an injured worker who is not receiving temporary total disability 
benefits or medical benefits may petition for an emergency hearing.  Alternately, the worker may choose to 
file under 19(b) of the Act if he or she is not receiving temporary total disability benefits.  Over the years, 
there has been a clear shift from 19(b-1) petitions, which involve statutorily set deadlines, to 19(b) petitions, 
where the deadlines are not defined but expedited hearings are set.  The new law requires the Commission to 
issue a 19(b) review decision within 180 days of the date the Petition for Review was filed.   
 

EXPEDITED DECISIONS 
ISSUED BY ARBITRATORS 

 
 19(b)/8(a) 19(b-1) Total 
 

FY90 170 342 512 
FY00 347 20 367 
FY05 825 10 835 
FY06 895 17 912 

 
GENDER 
 

Women constitute 47% of the work force in Illinois,4 but they file a smaller share of workers' compensation 
claims.  The most dangerous industries—construction, agriculture, transportation, etc.—are still  
male-dominated.  Over the years, the proportion of female claimants has increased, however, from 22% of 
claimants in FY85 to 33% in FY06. 
 
INJURY RATES 
 

The statistics in this section come from the National Council on Compensation Insurance and the U.S. 
Bureau of Labor Statistics, which use different methods to derive their data.  There are limitations to all these 
data collection methods—e.g., NCCI excludes self-insurers, the BLS nonfatal survey is prone to sampling 
error—but they produce the best data now available.   
 

In rough terms, both data sets indicate that less than 5% of Illinois workers experience an injury each year, 
and that the injury rates have declined dramatically over the years. 
 

The overall injury rate in Illinois has tended to be lower than other states (see “Interstate Comparisons”), and 
it is declining dramatically:  Illinois' 2003 total injury rate is 53% lower than in 1991.  
 

PERCENTAGE OF WORKERS  
EXPERIENCING WORK-RELATED INJURIES IN ILLINOIS EACH YEAR 

BY INJURY TYPE5 
 
NCCI DATA 
 

 Policy Medical Temporary Permanent Permanent 
  Year Only Total Partial Total Fatal Total 
 

 1991 6.3% 1.49% 1.04% .004% .004% 8.9% 
 1995 4.9% 1.23% 0.68% .004% .004% 6.8% 
 2000 3.9% 0.84% 0.69% .007% .005% 5.4% 
 2001 3.4% 0.75% 0.65% .008% .004% 4.9% 
 2002 3.2% 0.70% 0.64% .006% .002% 4.5% 
 2003 2.9% 0.66% 0.61% .005% .003% 4.2% 
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RATE OF NONFATAL WORK-RELATED INJURIES AND ILLNESSES 
IN ILLINOIS, 20046  

BLS DATA Workers’ Nonfatal Distribution of Injuries 
 Injury and Illness Rate by Industry In Private Sector by Event 
 

Transportation 8.3% Overexertion 30% 
Government 6.9% Contact w. objects/equip. 25% 
Mining 6.7% Fall 18% 
Manufacturing 6.6% Transportation accident 6% 
Construction 5.4% Repetitive motion 5% 
Agriculture 4.2% Exposure to harmful substances 4% 
Services (excl. Transp. & Fin.) 3.9% Slip or trip (no fall) 3% 
Finance 1.0% Assault or violent act 1% 
  Fire or explosion <1% 
Average for all workers 4.7% Data not available 9% 

 
DISTRIBUTION OF THE 208 FATAL WORK-RELATED INJURIES  

IN ILLINOIS, 20047 
BLS DATA 
 Workers’ Fatal Injury Rate by Industry Distribution of Fatalities by Event 
 

Construction 19% Transportation accident 40% 
Transportation 16% Assault or violent act 20% 
Agriculture 15% Fall 14% 
Trade, wholesale and retail 8% Contact with objects/equip. 16% 
Manufacturing 7% Exposure to harmful subst. 7% 
Government 4% Fire or explosion 4% 
Other 30% 

 
MEDICAL CARE 
 

By law, the employer is required to pay for medical care that is reasonably required to cure or relieve the 
employee from the effects of a work-related injury or disease.  The employer shall pay for all necessary first 
aid and emergency services, two treating physicians, surgeons, or hospitals of the employee's choice, and any 
additional medical care providers to whom the employee is referred by the two physicians, surgeons, or 
hospitals.  The employer shall also pay for necessary physical, mental, and vocational rehabilitation of the 
employee.  The employee must cooperate in reasonable programs to assist in his or her recovery and return to 
work. 
 

After Governor Blagojevich signed the reform legislation on July 20, 2005, the Commission then had only 
about six months to create the first fee schedule in Illinois.  The schedule was in place and took effect on 
February 1, 2006.  Fees for each procedure were set at 90% of the 80th percentile of actual bills in each 
geographic area.  Each year, fees can rise only by the percentage change in the Consumer Price Index.  Since 
medical costs are rising more rapidly than general inflation, this measure is expected to produce significant 
savings as the years go on.   
 

Illinois is the first state in the country to publish its fee schedule and accompanying documents online, at no 
charge.   
 

The 2005 legislation created a Medical Fee Advisory Board, composed of employee, employer, and medical 
provider representatives, which has been reviewing the process.  As information about the effects of the fee 
schedule becomes available, we will report it.  
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PENALTIES 
 

Under Section 16 of the Act, the Commission may order the respondent to pay the petitioner's attorneys' fees 
if the respondent or its agent has unreasonably delayed benefits to an employee, intentionally underpaid an 
employee, engaged in frivolous defenses, or has otherwise treated an employee unfairly.   
 

Under Section 19(k), the Commission may award the petitioner additional compensation equal to 50% of the 
amount of compensation payable at the time of the award if there was an unreasonable or vexatious delay of 
payment, or an intentional underpayment of compensation.  Based on current case law, medical expenses are 
now considered compensation under Section 19(k).   
 

When awarding 19(k) penalties, the Commission shall consider whether an arbitrator has determined that the 
claim is not compensable or whether the employer has made payments under a group health plan (§8(j)). 
 

Under Section 19(l), the Commission may award the petitioner additional compensation of $30 per day for 
every day that a cash or medical benefit has been withheld without good and just cause, up to $10,000. 
 

The law also provides that, if the employee has made written demand for payment of benefits under Sections 
8(a) or 8(b), the employer shall have 14 days after receipt of the demand to provide a written reason for the 
delay.  If the demand is for medical benefits, the time for the employer to respond does not begin until the 
expiration of the 60-day period allotted the employer to pay medical bills under Section 8.2.   
 

To put the below figures in perspective, the 226 cases in which penalties were awarded in FY06 represent 
less than ½ of 1% of total cases closed. 
 

PERCENTAGE OF DECISIONS AWARDING PENALTIES BY YEAR AWARDED 
 
 Arbitration Decisions Commission Decisions 
 Expedited Regular Expedited Regular 
 

 FY02 10% 2% 7% 3% 
 FY03 9% 2% 5% 2% 
 FY04 11% 3% 6% 2% 
 FY05 14% 3% 10% 4% 
 FY06 9% 3% 6% 4% 
 
POST-AWARD PETITIONS 
 

Cases that were closed by awards or some settlements may return to the Commission for additional hearings.  
Under Section 8(a) of the Act, an injured worker may petition the Commission to order payment for 
additional medical treatment.  Under Section 19(h) of the Act, either party may petition if the injured 
worker's physical condition changes significantly within 30-60 months of the award or settlement.  
 

CASES WITH POST-AWARD PETITIONS FILED BY YEAR PETITION FILED 
 
Section FY06 FY05 FY04 FY03 FY02 
 

8(a) 146 169 201 131 123 
19(h) 11 10 16 9 4 
8(a) and 19(h)    52    55    47    52   39 
Total 209 234 264 192 166 
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DISPOSITION OF POST-AWARD PETITIONS THROUGH DECISIONS AND ORDERS 
BY YEAR DECISION/ORDER ISSUED 

 

Section FY06 FY05 FY04 FY03 FY02 
 

8(a) 
   Granted 10% 15% 25% 22% 14% 
   Denied 2% 1% 4% 1% 9% 
   Dismissed 18% 33% 46% 40% 50% 
   Withdrawn 70% 50% 25% 38% 28% 
 

19(h) 
   Granted 24% 17% 26% 36% 11% 
   Denied 0% 9% 21% 20% 32% 
   Dismissed 35% 57% 35% 28% 46% 
   Withdrawn 41% 17% 18% 16% 11% 
 

If one decision covered both 8(a) and 19(h) petitions, each outcome is reflected separately in this section.   
Because of rounding, percentages do not always total 100%. 

 
REHABILITATION 
 

Section 8(a) of the Act requires an employer to pay for treatment, instruction, and training necessary for the 
physical, mental, and vocational rehabilitation of an injured worker, including maintenance and incidental 
expenses.  Section 6(d) requires an employer to notify an injured worker of the right to rehabilitation services 
and the location of public rehabilitation centers.  Finally, Section 7110.70 of the Commission’s rules requires 
an employer to prepare an assessment of an employee’s rehabilitation needs, both medical and vocational, 
when it becomes apparent the work injuries will prevent his or her return to the pre-accident job, or when the 
employee is off work for more than 120 days.   
 

As with other employer obligations, where there is a dispute between the parties, the injured worker has the 
burden of proving entitlement to vocational rehabilitation benefits.  In resolving these disputes, the 
Commission looks to the guidelines established by the Illinois Supreme Court in National Tea Company v. 
Industrial Commission, 97 Ill.2d 424 (1983).   
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INTERSTATE  COMPARISONS 
OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION  

 
 
The perception of Illinois workers’ compensation costs is often different than the reality.  Among the 50 
states and the District of Columbia, Illinois is ranked:  
 
 
 10th lowest in w.c. injury rate8 
 

  Illinois 4.5% 
  National median 5.8% 
 

  Illinois’ injury rate is 22% lower than the national median. 
 
 25th lowest in w.c. benefit cost rates (w.c. benefits paid divided by payroll)9 
 

  Illinois 0.94% 
  National median 0.94% 
 

  Illinois’ benefit cost rate is equal to the national median. 
 
 26th lowest in w.c. medical costs per claim10 
 

  Illinois $4,839 
  National median $4,669 
 

  Illinois’ medical costs are 4% higher than the national median. 
 
 30th lowest in w.c. insurance premium rates11 
 

  Illinois $2.69 
  National median $2.48 
 

  Illinois’ insurance rates are 8% higher than the national median. 
 
 30th lowest in w.c. indemnity costs per claim12 
  

  Illinois $19,289 
  National median $17,483 
 

  Illinois’ indemnity costs are 10% higher than the national median. 
 
 43rd lowest in wages13  
 

  Illinois $42,276 
  National median $35,204 
 

  Illinois’ wages are 20% higher than the national median. 
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OTHER INTERSTATE COMPARISONS:  BENEFIT PAYMENTS 
 
For years, Illinois’ costs have been growing at a slower rate than most other states.  In 2004, Illinois’ growth 
rate was lower than our neighbors, but it exceeded the national average and large industrial states. 
 

TOTAL WORKERS' COMPENSATION BENEFIT PAYMENTS14 
 
In $billions 2004 2003 2002 2001 2000 1999 1998 1997 1996 1995 1994 
 

Illinois $2.2 $2.1 $2.1 $2.1 $1.9 $1.9 $1.8 $1.8 $1.6 $1.4 $1.6 
% Change 5% (1%) 2% 7% 1% 5% 4% 7% 14% (9%) (5%) 
 

U.S. $52.7 $51.5 $50.2 $47.5 $44.7 $41.7 $40.4 $39.5 $38.8 $39.0 $40.4 
% Change 2% 3% 6% 6% 7% 3% 2% 2% (1%) (3%) 2% 
 

CHANGE IN TOTAL BENEFIT PAYMENTS, 1978 - 2004 
 
  2003-2004 1993-2003 1983-1993 1978-1983 
 

 Illinois 5% 26% 125% 51% 
 Neighboring states average 8% 38% 158% 49% 
 Large industrial states average (1%) 36% 184% 86% 
 National average 2% 30% 166% 84% 
 

 
COMPLIANCE WITH 1972 RECOMMENDATIONS 
 
In 1972, the National Commission on State Workmen's Compensation Laws, appointed by President Nixon, 
unanimously listed 19 items as essential to an adequate system.  Over 30 years later, no state in the country 
meets all the requirements; Illinois meets more than most states.15 
 

NUMBER OF 19 
ESSENTIAL RECOMMENDATIONS MET 

 
   NEIGHBORING STATES  National average 12.85 LARGE INDUSTRIAL STATES 
 Iowa 15.50 Illinois 15.00 Ohio 15.50 
 Wisconsin 15.00 Pennsylvania 13.75 
 Kentucky 14.25 Texas 12.50 
 Missouri 13.75 California 12.00 
 Indiana 11.50 New York 10.75 
 Michigan 9.75 Florida 9.75 
 Median 14.00 Median 12.25 
 

 
COVERAGE OF EMPLOYEES 
 
Even though Illinois does not meet four of the National Commission’s recommendations concerning the 
coverage of employees, more workers are covered in Illinois than in most other states.16  
 

PERCENTAGE OF EMPLOYEES COVERED 
 
   NEIGHBORING STATES  National average 88% LARGE INDUSTRIAL STATES 
 Indiana 90% Illinois 91% Ohio 91% 
 Michigan 89% New York 90% 
 Kentucky 87% Pennsylvania 90% 
 Iowa 86% California 89% 
 Wisconsin 86% Florida 88% 
 Missouri 85% Texas 74% 
 Median 87% Median 90% 
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11 “2006 Oregon Workers’ Compensation Premium Rate Ranking Summary,” Oregon Department of Consumer and Business 
Services, October 2006, Table 2.  Available at http://www4.cbs.state.or.us.  Indices are based on rates as of from 2004 – 2006; 
Illinois’ rates are as of 1/1/06.  This report is produced every two years.  This report compares employers’ w.c. insurance costs in 
50 different class codes.  Overall, Illinois ranks in the middle, but there is great variation in the manual premium among different 
classes.  Employers in Illinois buy w.c. insurance in an open market, the way drivers buy car insurance, and costs are heavily 
dependent on accident history and market environment.  The employer’s ability to shop for the best deal comes into play, too.   

 

12 Annual Statistical Bulletin, 2005-6 editions, National Council on Compensation Insurance, Exhibit XI.  This analysis is based on 
Policy Year 2002, First Report data.  When “First Report” information was not reported, “Second Report” data was used.  
Information is not available for the five states with exclusive state insurance funds (ND, OH, WA, WV, WY).   
 

13 “Total coverage (UI and UCFE) by State, 2004 annual averages,” US Bureau of Labor Statistics, BLS Web site 
(http://www.bls.gov/cew/cewbultn04.htm).   
 

14 "Fiscal Data," August 2006, Table 15; December 9, 1993, Table 1; May 25, 1990, Table 1.   
 

15"State Workers’ Compensation Laws in Effect January 1, 2004 Compared with the 19 Essential Recommendations of the 
National Commission on State Workmen’s Compensation Laws,” www.workerscompresources.com, John F. Burton, Jr. (former 
chairman of the National Commission), Table 1.  In 1972, the National Commission on Workmen’s Compensation issued 84 
recommendations concerning the coverage of employees and diseases, income protection, medical care, worker safety, and 
program administration.  They identified 19 of the 84 recommendations as essential to ensuring a minimum level of protection.  As 
of January 1, 2004, compliance levels range from 7.25 in Mississippi to 17.00 in Nebraska.  Illinois does not comply with the 
National Commission's recommendations 2.4 (Illinois exempts farm workers below a certain number of hours), 2.5 (Illinois 
exempts household workers and casual workers below a certain number of days), 2.6 (Illinois exempts some governmental 
employees (Chicago police and fire fighters)) and 2.7 (Illinois exempts certain classes of employees, such as those already noted).  
 

16 “Workers’ Compensation Coverage by State,” Workers’ Compensation Data Fact Sheet, No. 1, National Academy of Social 
Insurance, October 2002, Table 1, column 5.  This is the most recent year for which data is available. 
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