## MINUTES OF THE ILLINOIS WORKERS' COMPENSATION COMMISSION COMMISSION REVIEW BOARD MEETING JAMES R. THOMPSON CENTER, 100 WEST RANDOLPH STREET CHAIRMAN'S CONFERENCE ROOM HELD ON OCTOBER 16, 2013 at 10:00 AM

## Present at the meeting:

Chairman Michel Latz Commissioner Mario Basurto Commissioner David Gore Robert Hanaford

## **Present by telephone:**

Velisha Haddox Arbitrator Douglas Holland

# Not present at the meeting:

Arbitrator Milton Black

# **IWCC staff present at the meeting were:**

Carolyn Parks, Executive Director of the Commission Kim Janas, Secretary of the Commission Dennie Zankel, Deputy General Counsel

Chairman Latz called the meeting to order and noted that a quorum of members was present. There was a motion by Commissioner Basurto, seconded by Commissioner Gore, and unanimously carried, to approve the minutes of the meeting held on January 23, 2013.

Chairman Latz then provided the Board with a brief Commission update. Three arbitrators have recently joined the Commission, Ketki Steffen, Jeffrey Huebsch, and Molly Dearing. In addition, Michael Brennan was also appointed as a public member of the Commission.

The next item on the agenda was the report from Executive Director Carolyn Parks. Ms. Parks stated that she had not received many communications from members of the public. The communications received, had been forwarded to the General Counsel's office for an evaluation of whether the they fall within the definition of a complaint as set forth in Section 7500.10(a)(1) of the Commission Review Board rules, and thus falling within the jurisdiction of the Commission Review Board. On behalf of General Counsel Ron Rascia, Deputy General Counsel Dennie Zankel stated that none of the communications fell within the definition of a complaint before the Commission Review Board.

There was a motion by Commissioner Gore, seconded by Commissioner Basurto, and unanimously carried to adjourn the meeting.