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ILLINOIS ADMINISTRATIVE CODE 
TITLE 50:  INSURANCE 

CHAPTER II:  ILLINOIS WORKERS' COMPENSATION 
COMMISSION 

 

PART 7010:  ACCIDENT REPORTING 
 

Section 7010.10 Time limitations 
 

AUTHORITY: Implementing Section 6(b) of the Workers' 
Compensation Act  (820 ILCS 305.6(b)) and authorized by Section 16 of 
the Workers' Occupational Diseases Act (820 ILCS 310/41). 
 

SOURCE: Filed and effective March 1, 1977; amended at 4 Ill. Reg. 26, 
p. 159, effective July 1, 1980; emergency rule at 6 Ill. Reg. 5820, 
effective May 1, 1982 for a maximum of 150 days; amended at 6 Ill. 
Reg. 8040, effective July 1, 1982; amended at 6 Ill. Reg. 11909, effective 
September 20, 1982; codified at 7 Ill. Reg. 1241; emergency amendment 
at 10 Ill. Reg. 4011, effective February 14, 1986, for a maximum of 150 
days; adopted at 10 Ill. Reg. 12958, effective July 22, 1986. 
 
Section 7010.10  Time Limitations 
 

Every employer within the provisions of the Illinois Workers' 
Compensation Act (Ill. Rev. Stat. 1985, ch. 48, par. 138.6(b)) and the 
Illinois Workers' Occupational Diseases Act (Ill. Rev. Stat. 1985, ch. 48, 
par. 172.41) shall report all fatal accidental injuries to the Industrial 
Commission immediately; and, between the 15th and 25th day of each 
month shall report to the Industrial Commission all non-fatal accidental 
injuries resulting in the loss of more than three scheduled work days.  All 
reports are to be filed on forms furnished by the Commission. 
 

(Source: Amended at 10 Ill. Reg. 12958, effective July 22, 1986) 
 
PART 7020:  PRE-ARBITRATION 
 

Section 
7020.10  Docketing and Numbering of Cases 
7020.20  Application for Adjustment of Claim 
7020.30  Memo of Names and Addresses for Service of Notice and 

Attorneys’ Appearance 
7020.40  Who May Appear--Unauthorized Practice 
7020.50 Hearing: Place; Notice: Change of Venue 
7020.60  Continuances on Arbitration, Notices, Monthly Status Call, 

Voluntary Dismissal 
7020.70  Motion Practice, General 
7020.80  Petitions for Immediate Hearing 
7020.90  Petitions to Reinstate 
7020.100  Medical Examinations 
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AUTHORITY Implementing and authorized by Sections 16 and 19 of the 
Workers' Compensation Act [820 ILCS 305/16 and 19]. 
SOURCE: Filed and effective March 1, 1977; amended at 2 Ill. Reg. 49, 
p. 244, effective December 7, 1978; amended at 3 Ill. Reg. 4, p. 13, 
effective January 21, 1979; amended at 4 Ill. Reg. 26, p. 59, effective 
July 1, 1980; emergency amendment at 4 Ill. Reg. 41, p. 171, effective 
September 25, 1980, for a maximum of 150 days; amended at 5 Ill. Reg. 
5530, effective May 12, 1981; emergency amendment at 6 Ill. Reg. 5820, 
effective May 1, 1982, for a maximum of 150 days; amended at 6 Ill. 
Reg. 8040, effective July 1, 1982; amended at 6 Ill. Reg. 11909, effective 
September 20, 1982; codified at 7 Ill. Reg. 2345; emergency amendment 
8 Ill. Reg. 5986, effective August 16, 1984, for a maximum of 150 days; 
amended at 9 Ill. Reg. 16238, effective October 15, 1985; emergency 
amendment at 9 Ill. Reg. 19129, effective November 20, 1985, for a 
maximum of 150 days; amended at 10 Ill. Reg. 8096, effective May 5, 
1986; amended at 15 Ill. Reg. 8221, effective May 17, 1991; amended at 
17 Ill. Reg. 2206, effective February 16, 1993; amended at 20 Ill. Reg. 
3842, effective February 15, 1996. 
 
Section 7020.10  Docketing and Numbering of Cases 
 
a) All cases brought before the Illinois Industrial Commission shall be 

docketed, time-stamped and given a letter and number corresponding 
to either the Workers' Compensation Act (Ill. Rev. Stat. 1989, ch. 48, 
pars. 138.1 et seq.) or Occupational Diseases Act (Ill. Rev. Stat. 
1989, ch. 48, pars. 172.36 et seq.) under which benefits are claimed 
and the year of filing.  All subsequent pleadings or correspondence 
should refer to this letter and number. 

 
b) All documents filed with the Industrial Commission including, but 

not limited to, Applications for Adjustment of Claim, Attorneys' 
Appearances, Motions and Petitions for Review, shall be served on 
all parties and shall have a certificate of service setting forth the time 
and manner of such service.  A copy of all correspondence addressed 
to the Commission with respect to a pending matter shall be sent to 
all parties at the time it is sent to the Commission; all such 
correspondence shall list the parties to whom copies have been sent. 

 
c) The Industrial Commission shall file and time stamp all documents 

presented for filing Monday through Friday 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., 
except legal holidays. 

(Source: Amended at 15 Ill. Reg. 8221, effective May 17, 1991) 
 
Section 7020.20  Application for Adjustment of Claim 
 
a)  Applications for Adjustment of Claim with a certificate setting forth 

the date of service shall be filed in triplicate on an appropriate form 
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provided by the Commission.  The filing party shall serve one copy 
of the Application which has been filed on all opposing parties. 

 
b) An Application for Adjustment of Claim must be limited to one 

accident or claim.  After an Application has been filed with the 
Commission, any other Applications for Adjustment of Claim 
covering that accident, but naming a different employer, shall be 
assigned the same docket number as the original Application.  
Nothing herein shall bar the filing of an Amended Application for 
Adjustment of Claim. 

 
c) Applications for Adjustment of Claim should be completed in full 

and must provide a description of how the accident occurred, the part 
of the body injured, the geographical location of the accident for 
purposes of establishing venue, and a description of how notice of 
the accident was given or acquired by the Respondent. 

 
d) Once an Application for Adjustment of Claim is filed, the Illinois 

Industrial Commission shall send the information on the Application 
on a Notice of Hearing to the opposing party at the address supplied 
by the filing party.  If the Notice is returned to the Industrial 
Commission because the filing party has supplied the wrong address 
for the opposing party, the Industrial Commission shall so inform the 
filing party.  The filing party has the obligation of providing the 
Industrial Commission with the proper address so Notice can be sent 
to the opposing party. 

 
e) Applications for Adjustment of Claim may be amended prior to a 

hearing on the merits by filing an Amended Application for 
Adjustment of Claim under the letter and number given the original 
Application for Adjustment of Claim.  The Amended Application for 
Adjustment of Claim must be clearly labeled "Amended" and must 
have attached to it proof that filing party has served a copy of the 
Amended Application for Adjustment of Claim on the opposing 
party in the manner set forth in Section 7020.70. 

 
(Source: Amended at 15 Ill. Reg. 8221, effective May 17, 1991) 
 
Section 7020.30  Memorandum of Names and Addresses for Service of 
Notice and Attorneys' Appearance 
 
a) Each party, upon instituting or responding to any proceedings before 

the Commission, shall file with the Commission his address, or the 
names and addresses of any agent upon whom notices shall be 
served either personally or by regular mail, addressed to such party 
or agent at the last address so filed with the Commission. 

 
b) An Appearance, on forms provided by the Commission, shall be 
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filed by any attorney or law firm representing any party in any 
proceedings before the Commission.  No party or insurance carrier 
may file an Appearance on behalf of an attorney or law firm.  No 
attorney or law firm will be recognized in any case before the 
Commission unless he or they have duly entered their written 
Appearance.  When an Appearance has been duly filed by a law 
firm, any attorney member of that firm may appear and be 
recognized by the Commission.  Appearances filed by Petitioner's 
attorney shall be accompanied by an "Attorney Representation 
Agreement," on a form prescribed by the Commission, completely 
filled out and signed by Petitioner and attorney. 

 
c) Once an Appearance has been filed, Leave to Withdraw can only be 

had upon written order of the Commission or a duly designated 
Arbitrator thereof following appropriate notice to the client and the 
opposing side.  Substitution of Counsel may be had by filing with 
the Commission and serving on the opposing party a notification of 
the substitution, signed by the attorney of record, the substituted 
attorney and the client. 

 
(Source: Amended at 15 Ill. Reg. 8221, effective May 17, 1991) 
 
Section 7020.40  Who May Appear—Unauthorized Practice 
 
a) Only attorneys licensed to practice in the State of Illinois may appear 

on behalf of parties to litigation before the Industrial Commission.  
This specifically includes presentation of Settlement Contracts and 
Lump Sum Petitions. Attorneys licensed to practice in states other 
than Illinois may appear with leave of the Commission. 

 
b) For routine matters such as agreed continuances or other agreed 

ministerial acts, persons other than licensed attorneys shall be 
permitted to appear on behalf of a party at the status call. 

 
(Source: Amended at 15 Ill. Reg. 8221, effective May 17, 1991) 
 
Section 7020.50  Hearing: Place; Notice: Change of Venue 
 
a) Except to the extent modified by Section 7020.80 in reference to 

proceedings under Section 19(b-1) of the Workers' Compensation 
Act (Ill. Rev. Stat. 1989, ch. 48, par. 138.19(b-1)), the following 
provisions shall apply: 

 
b) Upon receipt of an Application for Adjustment of Claim the 

Commission shall fix a place for hearing and a date for initial status 
before an Arbitrator of the Commission in accordance with the 
applicable Act.  The place designated shall be a hearing site located 
in or nearest geographically to the vicinity in which the alleged 
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accident or exposure occurred.  Where the accident occurred outside 
the state of Illinois and the applicant resides in Illinois, the case shall 
be set at the hearing site geographically nearest to where the 
applicant resides.  Where the accident occurs outside of Illinois and 
the applicant resides outside of Illinois then the case shall be set at 
hearing site most convenient to the parties. Designation of a hearing 
site other than as provided above may be had upon showing to the 
Commission of extreme hardship worked upon a party or parties by 
the designated site, or by agreement of the parties. 

 
(Source:  Amended at 15 Ill. Reg. 8221, effective May 17, 1991)  
 
Section 7020.60  Continuances on Arbitration, Notices, Monthly 
Status Calls, Voluntary Dismissal 
 
a) Continuances on Arbitration; Notices 

Written notices will be sent to the parties for the initial status call 
setting on arbitration only.  Thereafter, cases will be continued for 3 
month intervals, or at other intervals upon notice by the 
Commission, until the case has been on file at the Industrial 
Commission for 3 years, has been set for trial pursuant to Section 
7030.20, or otherwise disposed of.  The parties must obtain any 
continued status call dates from the Industrial Commission records. 

 
b) Monthly Status Calls 
 
 1) Each Arbitrator, subject to his or her availability, shall hold a 

monthly status call of cases which appear on the Arbitrator's 
docket that month. 

 A) In Cook County, each Arbitrator's monthly status call shall 
be held at 2:00 p.m. on a date and place designated by the 
Commission. 

 B) In areas outside of Cook County, each Arbitrator's monthly 
status call shall be held at 9:00 a.m. on a date and place 
designated by the Commission. 

 
 2) The monthly status call shall be conducted by the Arbitrator as 

follows: 
 A) Cases shall be called in the order that they appear on the 

monthly status call. 
 B) Cases will be continued in accordance with subsection (a) 

above unless a request for a trial date is made in accordance 
with Section 7030.20.  A request for a trial date may be 
made in a case which does not appear on the monthly status 
call if: 

 i) a Petition under Section 19(b) of the Act has been filed 
in accordance with Section 7020.80(a); 
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 ii) death benefits under Section 7 of the Act or permanent 
total disability benefits under Section 8 of the Act are 
claimed; or 

 iii) special circumstances exist which in the opinion of the 
Arbitrator would warrant advancing the case for trial.  
The moving party must set forth in his motion the basis 
of the claimed special circumstance. 

 Motions for trial dates under subsections (b)(2)(B)(i), (ii)  
 and (iii) above shall be presented at the conclusion of the  
 status call. 

 C) Cases on file 3 or more years. 
 i) In all cases which have been on file at the Industrial 

Commission for three years or more, the parties or their 
attorneys must be present at each status call on which 
the case appears.  The case will be set for trial unless a 
written request has been made to continue the case for 
good cause.  Such request shall be made part of the 
case file. The written request must be received by the 
Arbitrator at least fifteen days in advance of the status 
call date and contain proof of service showing that the 
request for a continuance was served on all other 
parties to the case and/or their attorneys.  Any 
objection to a continuance in such case must be 
received by the Arbitrator at least seven days prior to 
the status call date and contain a similar proof of 
service.  The Arbitrator shall rule on such requests for 
continuances or objections thereto at the status call.  
The parties must appear at the status call even if there 
is no objection to the continuance. 

 ii) Failure of the Petitioner or the Petitioner's attorney to 
request or answer a request for a continuance in 
accordance with subsection (b)(2)(C)(i) above and to 
appear at the monthly status call on which the case 
appears shall result in the case being dismissed for 
want of prosecution, except upon a showing of good 
cause. 

 iii) Where the Arbitrator has set the matter for trial, the 
case shall proceed on the date set by the Arbitrator. 

 D) Section 19(b-1) pretrials, motions, pro se settlement 
contracts 

 i) In Cook County, each Arbitrator will hear motions and 
conduct pre-trial hearings on Petitions filed under 
Section 19(b-1) of the Act beginning at 8:45 a.m. on 
the monthly status call date.   The Arbitrator shall hear 
other motions at the conclusion of the monthly status 
call.  Pro se settlements may be presented on the 
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morning of any monthly status call or on days 
designated by the Arbitrator. 

 ii) In all areas outside of Cook County, the Arbitrator will 
hear motions and conduct pre-trial hearings on 
Petitions filed under Section 19(b-1) of the Act, and 
hear other motions, at the conclusion of the monthly 
status call.  Pro se settlement contracts may be 
presented at the conclusion of any monthly status call 
or on days designated by the Arbitrator. 

 
c) Voluntary Dismissals 
 1) Any party may voluntarily dismiss his or her claim or any 

petition or motion filed on his or her behalf upon motion signed 
by the party, if unrepresented, or his or her attorney of record. 

 
 2)  A party may file a motion to dismiss his or her claim or any 

petition or motion filed on his or her behalf without the 
signature of his attorney of record. The moving party must serve 
said motion on his or her attorney and the opposing party, in the 
manner set forth in Section 7020.20(a), and set the motion for 
hearing as set forth in Section 7020.70.  In such cases, there 
shall be no disposition of the claim on its merits prior to the 
disposition of said motion. 

 
(Source: Amended at 20 Ill. Reg. 3842, effective February 15, 1996) 
 
Section 7020.70  Motion Practice, General 
 
a) Form of Motions 
 
 All motions, except motions made during an Arbitration or Review 

hearing, motions for a continuance of cases in the regular review 
call, and petitions filed under Section 19(h) and/or Section 8(a), must 
be accompanied by an Industrial Commission form entitled Notice 
of Motion and Order and must be served on the Arbitrator or 
Commissioner and all other parties in accordance with subsection b).  
All such motions must set forth the date on which the moving party 
will appear before the Arbitrator or Commissioner and present the 
motion and must include the type of motion and nature of the relief 
sought. 

 
 1) Motions on Arbitration 

 A) Motions requesting a trial date will be heard during the 
status call in accordance with Section 7020.60(b)(2). 

 B) All other motions will be heard in accordance with Section 
7020.60(b)(2)(D).  Each arbitrator will hear all motions, 
other than motions requesting a date certain for trial, on any 
case assigned to the Arbitrator, even if it does not appear on 
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the status call. 
 
 2) Commissioners' Review Calls 

Each Commissioner will hear motions at the hearing location on 
the days designated by the Commission. 

 
b) Notice; Service of Papers; Proof of Service; and Waiver of Notice. 
 1) 

A) For all motions except Petitions for Immediate Hearing and 
motions requesting a date for trial, notices of motion shall 
be in writing and shall be served upon the Arbitrator or 
Commissioner and the attorney of record of all other parties 
or, where any other party is not represented by counsel, 
upon the party himself, by personal or office delivery or by 
mailing of a copy of the notice with copies of the 
supporting papers.  Such service, if by personal or office 
delivery, shall be effected 3 days preceding the day of the 
status call set forth in the notice, exclusive of any 
intervening Saturday, Sunday or legal holiday.  If service is 
had by mail, then the envelope enclosing a copy of the 
notice and supporting papers shall be deposited in the post 
office or post office box at least 5 days before the motion is 
to be heard, exclusive of any intervening Saturday, Sunday 
or legal holiday. 

 B) Motions for an immediate hearing under Section 19(b) of 
the Act and motions requesting a date for trial shall be 
served on the Arbitrator and on all other parties 15 days 
preceding the status call day set forth in the notice. 

 C) Proof of service of notices or other papers shall be affixed: 
i) in any case by written acceptance of service; 
ii) in case of service by delivery, by affidavit of the person 

delivering or leaving the papers, and, 
iii) in case of service by mail, by affidavit of the person 

depositing the papers in the mail, which affidavit shall 
state the time and place of mailing, the complete 
address which appeared on the envelope and the fact 
that proper postage was prepaid. 

 D) Where the opposite party has not appeared within time 
fixed by rule, or has appeared, but failed to designate a 
place for service, service  may be directed to his last known 
business or residence address. 

 
 2) Parties may waive the requirements of notice, service and proof 

of service.  Moreover, in the case of any motion, the hearing 
officer retains the power to enlarge or reduce the time of notice 
prescribed in paragraph (b)(1)(A) of this part. 
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c) Who Shall Hear Motions 
 
 1) When a cause is pending on the arbitration call, all motions and 

settlement contracts, except where expressly otherwise provided 
in the Rules of the Commission, shall be heard by the Arbitrator 
to whom the case has been assigned.  If said Arbitrator is 
unavailable, the Commission may assign the motion or 
settlement contract to another Arbitrator for disposition. 

 
 2) When a cause is pending on review, but not yet assigned to a 

specific Commissioner, all motions shall be assigned to a sitting 
Commissioner.  Once the cause has been assigned to a particular 
Commissioner for hearing, that Commissioner shall hear all 
motions relative to the case. 

 
(Source: Amended at 15 Ill. Reg. 8221, effective May 17, 1991) 
 
Section 7020.80  Petitions for Immediate Hearing 
 
a) Petition for Immediate Hearing Under Section 19(b) 
 
 1) Petition alleging that 
 A) he is unable to work because of a disability compensable 

under Workers' Compensation Act or Workers' 
Occupational Diseases Act, and 

 B) he is not receiving temporary total disability or medical 
benefits to which he is entitled, may file a Petition for 
Immediate Hearing, as provided for in Section 19(b) of the 
Workers' Compensation Act, on an appropriate form 
provided by the Commission.  Said Petition shall set forth: 

 i) a description of the attempts by parties or counsel to 
resolve the dispute requiring an immediate hearing, 
including the name of the representative of the 
opposing party with whom the Petitioner or his 
attorney has conferred, the date of the conference, and 
the result of the conference; 

 ii) a statement that a signed physician's report of recent 
date relating to the employee's current inability to 
work, or a description of such other evidence of 
temporary total disability as is appropriate under the 
circumstances, has been delivered to the Respondent. 

 C) A response to said Petition shall be filed on an appropriate 
form provided by the Commission within 15 days of service 
of Petition for Immediate Hearing.  Failure to respond 
timely or in good faith may result in the assessment of the 
attorneys' fees under Section 16 of the Workers' 
Compensation Act.  The Petition for Immediate Hearing 
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shall be filed and heard in accordance with Section 
7020.70. 

 
 2) The Arbitrator to whom the case is assigned shall attempt to 

resolve the matter informally.  If the matter cannot be resolved 
at that time, and the Arbitrator determines the Petitioner is not 
receiving temporary total disability or medical benefits, said 
Arbitrator shall order the case to formal hearing on a date 
certain as soon as possible. 

 
b) Petition for Immediate Hearing under Section 19(b-1) 
 
 1) Filing Petition for Emergency Hearing under Section 19(b-1) 
  An employee alleging that:  
 A) he is unable to work because of disability compensable 

under the Workers' Compensation Act or Workers' 
Occupational Diseases Act, and 

 B) he is not receiving temporary total disability and/or medical, 
surgical, or hospital benefits to which he is entitled under 
Section 8(a) or 8(b) of the Workers' Compensation Act, may 
file a Petition for Immediate Hearing before an Arbitrator as 
provided for in Section 19(b-1) of the Workers' Compensation 
Act, on an appropriate form provided by the Commission.  
Such petition must comply with all requirements of the 
Workers' Compensation Act. 

 
 2) Section 19(b-1) Proceedings before Arbitrators: Pre-trial 

Conferences 
 A) The Arbitrator will hold a pre-trial conference within 20 

days after the Petition for Emergency Hearing is filed.  If 
the venue is outside of Cook County the pre-trial 
conference will be held at either the regularly scheduled 
hearing site or at another hearing site for the same 
Arbitrator available within that time period and located as 
close as practical to the original hearing site.  Notice of pre-
trial conference will be sent by the Commission to all 
parties of record. 

 B) Any challenges to the sufficiency of the Section 19(b-1) 
Petition will be heard at the pre-trial conference. 

 C) If the Section 19(b-1) Petition is found by the Arbitrator to 
be insufficient, the Arbitrator will allow the Petitioner 5 
business days to cure all insufficiencies and all time limits 
under the statute are tolled until the Arbitrator has 
determined that the amended Petition is sufficient.  During 
the aforementioned time period the amended Section 19(b-
1) Petition with proof of service to opposing party shall be 
filed with the Commission.  If the insufficiencies are not 
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cured within the time limit, the Section 19(b-1) Petition will 
be dismissed without prejudice by the Arbitrator and 
notices of the dismissal will be sent by the Industrial 
Commission to all parties of record. 

 D) If within the time period provided above the insufficiencies 
are cured and the parties have not received from the 
Commission notices of dismissal of the Section 19(b-1) 
Petition, the Respondent shall have 15 days from receipt of 
the amended Section 19(b-1) Petition to respond thereto. 

 
 3) Section 19(b-1) Hearing, Decisions, and Transcripts 
 A) Hearings 
 i) If at the pre-trial conference the Arbitrator finds the 

Section 19(b-1) Petition to be sufficient he will set the 
case to be tried within 15 days at either the regularly 
scheduled hearing site or at another hearing site for the 
same Arbitrator available within that time period and 
located as closely as practical to original hearing site. 

 ii)  If the Section 19(b-1) Petition is insufficient, the 
Arbitrator will set the case to be tried within 35 days of 
the pre-trial conference at either the regularly 
scheduled hearing site for the same Arbitrator or at 
another hearing site for the same Arbitrator available 
within the time period and located as closely as 
practical to the original hearing site.  If within the time 
period provided in subsection (b)(2)(A)(iii) above, the 
insufficiencies are cured and the parties have not 
received from the Commission notices of dismissal of 
the Section 19(b-1) Petition, the trial will be held as 
scheduled. 

 iii) Proofs are to be closed within 45 days after a Section 
19(b-1) Petition, or an amended Petition curing any 
insufficiencies as provided above is filed, unless for 
good cause the Arbitrator extends the time for closing 
proofs for an additional period of periods not to exceed 
a total extension period of 30 days.  Good cause is 
defined as, but not limited to; additional medical 
records needed and taking of depositional evidence. 

 B) Arbitrator Decision 
  The Arbitrator's decision is to be filed with the Commission 

within 25 days after proofs are closed.  The Arbitrator's 
decision shall contain the final cost of the arbitration 
transcript, or the estimated cost of the transcript if the final 
cost is not available at the time the Arbitrator's decision is 
issued. C) Transcripts 

 i) At the beginning of each hearing at which a record is 
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made the Arbitrator will state the following rule for the 
record:  Upon the closing of proofs, at the request of 
any party, the Arbitrator shall order the Court Reporter 
to prepare an original transcript of this hearing, to be 
authenticated by the Arbitrator for use by the 
Commission in the event it is required for further 
proceedings including any proceedings for a review of 
the Arbitrator's decision.  The parties may order copies 
of the transcript of today's hearing at the close of the 
hearing, to be charged at the rate provided in Section 
16 of the Workers' Compensation Act for copies of 
transcript.  Each party shall pay the cost of its copy.  If 
a Petition for Review is filed, the appealing party shall 
pay the cost of the original transcript.  If no Petition for 
Review is filed, the parties shall pay the cost of the 
original transcript, such cost to be divided equally 
among the parties.  At the close of each day's hearing 
on Arbitration, the Court Reporter shall provide an 
estimate of the cost of preparing the transcript.  The 
estimated cost of the transcript may not be the final 
cost of the transcript for which a party is liable.  If the 
party orders the transcript at a later time, it is unlikely 
it will be received in sufficient time for use in 
preparation of the party's statement of exception(s) and 
supporting brief, or a response thereto, in the event 
either party files a petition for review of the Arbitrator's 
decision.  If the original is not on file, in the event a 
transcript is ordered it will be prepared as an original 
and the party will be charged at a rate provided for in 
Section 16 of the Workers' Compensation Act. The 
Commission will not consider the unavailability of the 
transcript good cause for the failure to file a timely 
statement of exception(s) and supporting brief, or a 
response thereto. 

 ii) Where the transcript of proceedings has been ordered 
pursuant to subsection (b)(3)(C)(i) above, the transcript 
authenticated by the Arbitrator and copy of the 
statement of the final cost of the preparation of the 
transcript shall be filed by the Court Reporter at the 
Commission within 25 days after proofs are closed.  
Where the transcript of proceedings is ordered at the 
time a Petition for Review is filed, the transcript shall 
be authenticated and filed pursuant to Section 
7020.80(b)(4)(A)(iii). 
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 4) Section 19(b-1) Proceedings before the Commission 
 A) Perfecting a Review 
  A Petition for Review must be filed in duplicate at the 

Commission within the time provided by Section 19 of the 
Workers' Compensation Act.  The Petition must contain or 
be accompanied by the following: 

 i) A Certificate of Service on the opposing party by 
personal service or certified mail; 

ii) A certification that payment for the transcript in the 
amount set forth in the Arbitrator's Decision has been 
made to the Court Reporter.  The Petition shall be 
accompanied by a copy of the check or money order 
sent to the Court Reporter.  Where the amount paid is 
an estimate, the balance of the cost, if any, shall be 
paid upon receipt of the statement from the Court 
Reporter setting forth the final cost of the transcript.  
An order entered pursuant to Section 20 of the 
Workers' Compensation Act (Ill. Rev. Stat. 1991, ch. 
48, par. 138.20) may be submitted for payment of the 
transcript; 

 iii) An order for the transcript of proceedings at 
Arbitration, where said transcript was not ordered at 
Arbitration.  The transcript of proceedings 
authenticated by the Arbitrator shall be filed by the 
Court Reporter at the Commission within 25 days of 
the filing of the Petition for Review. 

 iv) A statement of Appellant's specific exception(s) to the 
Arbitrator's Decision; attachment of the statement of 
exception(s) and supporting brief required by sub-
section (4)(B) below will satisfy this requirement. 

 B) Statement of Exception(s) and Supporting Brief 
 i) Any party filing a Petition for Review with the 

Commission shall file a statement of exception(s) and 
supporting brief with attached proof of service within 
15 days of the filing of the Petition for Review.  The 
Appellee may elect to file a response thereto, in which 
case the response must be filed and served on the 
opposing party within 15 days from the last day 
allowed for the filing of the Appellant's statement of 
exception(s) and supporting brief.  Each party filing a 
statement of exception(s) and/or additions and 
supporting brief or response thereto shall file three (3) 
copies.  Such statement of exception(s) and/or 
additions and supporting brief, or response thereto shall 
be written or printed on one side of no more than 
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twenty (20) 8 1/2" x 11" sheets of paper and shall 
follow the format set forth in 50 Ill. Adm Code 
7040.70(a).  Failure of any appellant or petitioning 
party to file timely a statement of exception(s) and 
supporting brief may result in denial of oral argument. 

 ii) Timely filing shall be shown by: the date file stamped 
on the document at the time of receipt by the 
Commission at its office in Chicago, Illinois; a legible 
postmark date at least two (2) calendar days prior to 
and exclusive of the date on which such document was 
due to be filed in accordance with this rule, applied by 
the U.S. Postal Service, and not by a party, to the 
envelope in which the document is received by the 
Commission at its office in Chicago, Illinois, or the 
date applied by the U.S. Postal Service to a certified or 
registered mail receipt bearing the same certification or 
registry number as the envelope in which the document 
was received by the Commission at its offices in 
Chicago, Illinois, showing a date of mailing which is 
not less than two (2) calendar days prior to and 
exclusive of the date on which document was due to be 
filed.  If the date required for filing or mailing falls on 
a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday, the time for filing or 
mailing shall be the next date which is not a Saturday, 
Sunday or holiday. 

 C) Hearing on Review and Oral Arguments 
No hearing on Review will be held by the Commission.  
Immediately after the Petition for Review has been filed it 
will be assigned to a Commissioner who will promptly 
schedule the case for oral argument before a panel of three 
Commissioners as provided in Section 19(e) of the Act. 

 D) The Commission shall file its decision no more than 90 
days after the filing of the Petition for Review, and not later 
than 180 days from the filing of the Petition under Section 
19(b-1), whichever is sooner. 

 
 5) Service in Section 19(b-1) Proceedings 

All service required pursuant to this rule must be by personal 
service or certified mail with return receipt.  After initial service 
to the employer, service shall be made on the employer's 
attorney or designated representative.  

 
(Source: Amended at 17 Ill. Reg. 2206, eff. Feb. 16, 1993) 
 
Section 7020.90  Petitions to Reinstate 
 
a) Where a cause has been dismissed from the arbitration call for want 
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of prosecution, the parties shall have 60 days from receipt of the 
dismissal order to file a petition for reinstatement of the cause onto 
the arbitration call.  Notices of dismissal shall be sent to the parties. 

 
b) Petitions to Reinstate must be in writing.  The petition shall set forth 

the reason the cause was dismissed and the grounds relied upon for 
reinstatement.  The petition must also set forth the date on which 
Petitioner will appear before the Arbitrator to present his petition.  A 
copy of the petition must be served on the other side at the time of 
filing with the Commission in accordance with the requirements of 
Section 7020.70. 

 
c) Petitions to Reinstate shall be docketed, and assigned to and heard 

by the same Arbitrator to whom the cause was originally assigned.  
Both parties must appear at the time and place set for hearing.  
Parties will be permitted to present evidence in support of, or in 
opposition to, the petition.  The Arbitrator shall apply standards of 
fairness and equity in ruling on the Petition to Reinstate and shall 
consider the grounds relied on by Petitioner, the objections of 
Respondent and the precedents set forth in Commission decisions. 

 
d) A cause shall be reinstated upon stipulation of the parties filed with 

the Commission, which will docket the stipulation. 
 
(Source: Amended at 6 Ill. Reg. 11909, effective September 20, 1982) 
 
Section 7020.100  Medical Examinations 
 
a) Notice of Medical Examination 

The petitioner need not present himself for any examination 
requested by the respondent unless the name and address of the 
examining physician and surgeon is furnished the petitioner in 
writing at the time the request for such examination is made. 

 
b) Cost to Petitioner 

The costs and expenses incurred by the petitioner as a result of 
submitting to an examination requested by the respondent shall be 
reimbursed him in the manner and amount provided in Section 12 of 
the applicable act. 

 
c) Impartial Medical Examination 
 
 1) The Commission may order an impartial medical examination 

pursuant to section 19(c) of the Act.  The Secretary of the 
Commission shall notify the Illinois State Medical Society in 
writing that an impartial medical examination has been ordered 
by the Commission and shall state the name and address of the 
person to be examined, the nature of the disputed condition and 
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the type of medical specialist required.  The Illinois State 
Medical Society shall select an impartial physician and arrange 
the time and place of the examination and shall notify the 
secretary of the Commission.  The Secretary shall notify the 
parties and the impartial examining physician of time and place 
of the examination. 

 
 2) The impartial examining physician shall examine the Petitioner 

named in the order and shall transmit his signed report to the 
Secretary and the attorneys for the parties within 20 days of the 
examination.  At the same time the physician shall return to the 
Secretary all the records and the data listed in the order and a 
statement for fees. 

 
 3) Either party may request the testimony of the impartial 

examining doctor.  The doctor shall be subject to cross-
examination by each party.  If the testimony of the physician is 
requested, the impartial medical physician shall not be 
subpoenaed.  The parties shall notify the Secretary of the request 
for testimony and the Secretary shall notify the physician and all 
parties of when and where the physician is to testify.  The 
Commission may order the testimony of the physician by 
deposition only. 

 
 4) Attorneys are to avoid direct contact with the impartial 

examining physician. 
 

(Source: Rule 2(10) (now Section 7020.100) renumbered from rule 2(9) 
at 6 Ill. 11909, effective September 20, 1982) 
 
PART 7030: ARBITRATION 
 
Section 
7030.10  Arbitration Assignments 
7030.20  Setting a Case for Trial 
7030.30  Disqualification of Commissioners and Arbitrators 
7030.40  Request for Hearing 
7030.50  Subpoena Practice 
7030.60  Depositions 
7030.70  Rules of Evidence 
7030.80  Briefs, Arbitrators' Decisions 
7030.90  Opening and/or Closing Statements 
7030.100  Voluntary Arbitration under Section 19(p) of the Workers’  
 Compensation Act and Section 19(m) of the Workers’  
 Occupational Diseases Act 
 

AUTHORITY: Implementing and authorized by the Workers' 
Compensation Act [820 ILCS 305] and the Workers' Occupational 
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Diseases Act [820 ILCS 310]. 
 
SOURCE: Filed and effective March 1, 1977; amended at 4 Ill. Reg. 26, 
p. 159, effective July 1, 1980; emergency amendment at 5 Ill. Reg. 8547, 
effective August 3, 1981, for a maximum of 150 days; amended at 6 Ill. 
Reg. 3570, effective March 22, 1982; emergency amendment at 6 Ill. 
Reg. 5820, effective May 1, 1982, for a maximum of 150 days; amended 
at 6 Ill. Reg. 8040, effective July 7, 1982; amended at 6 Ill. Reg. 11909, 
effective September 20, 1982; codified at 7 Ill. Reg. 2514; amended at 9 
Ill. Reg. 19722, effective December 6, 1985; emergency amendment at 
14 Ill. Reg. 4913, effective March 9, 1990, for a maximum of 150 days; 
emergency expired August 6, 1990; amended at 14 Ill. Reg. 13141, 
effective August 1, 1990; amended at 15 Ill. Reg. 8214, effective May 
17, 1991; amended at 20 Ill. Reg. 4053, effective February 15, 1996; 
amended at 36 Ill. Reg. 17913, effective December 4, 2012. 
 
Section 7030.10  Arbitration Assignments 
 
a) In cases arising in Cook County, cases shall be assigned at the time 

of the First Notice of Hearing to Arbitrators on a random basis by a 
computer program.  All cases filed prior to January 1, 1982, which 
have not been assigned to an Arbitrator for hearing or settlement 
shall be assigned to Arbitrators using a random assignment system 
established at the direction of the Commission to facilitate 
assignment of all such cases to an Arbitrator in an equitable and 
efficient manner. 

 
b) In cases arising outside Cook County, cases shall be assigned to an 

Arbitrator depending on the place of accident.  Each Arbitrator 
outside Cook County shall be given a zone or geographical territory; 
all claims based on accidents occurring within such zones shall be 
assigned to that Arbitrator. 

 
c) All assignments on arbitration are final except as otherwise provided 

in Sections 7030.30 and 7070.40, or where consolidation with a 
previously filed case is required. 

 
d) In the event a Petitioner has an Application for Adjustment of Claim 

pending and files one or more Applications for Adjustment of Claim 
against the same Respondent, or against different Respondents 
alleging accidental injuries to the same part of the body subsequent 
cases shall on motion of any party be assigned to the case filed first.  
If a case is dismissed or otherwise closed and the Petitioner files an 
Application for Adjustment of Claim relating to the same accident, 
the case will be assigned to the Arbitrator assigned to the first case 
filed involving that accident.  Where more than one Petitioner files a 
claim against the same Respondent relating to the same accident, the 
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cases may be consolidated before the Arbitrator assigned to the case 
first filed upon motion of any party, if such consolidation would 
promote consistency and efficiency of administration.  All disputes 
involving reassignment shall be heard by the Chairman or a 
Commissioner designated by the Chairman. 

 
(Source: Amended at 20 Ill. Reg. 3820, effective February 15, 1996) 
 
Section 7030.20  Setting a Case for Trial 
 
a) A written request for a date certain for trial may be made at the 

monthly status call on which the case appears. A request for a trial 
date in a case which does not appear on the monthly status call may 
only be made in accordance with Section 7020.60(b)(2)(B). 

 
b) If the parties by agreement request a trial date, the Arbitrator will 

assign a specific date and time for trial. A pre-trial conference may 
be held by the Arbitrator. Either party may request a pre-trial 
conference prior to the start of trial. 

 
c) If there is no agreement: 
 
 1) Any party may file a motion requesting a date certain for trial.  

The motion must be accompanied by a form provided by the 
Industrial Commission called a Request for Hearing, which sets 
forth the moving party's claims on each issue. 

 
 2) A Respondent may file a motion requesting a date certain for 

trial if Respondent claims that: 
 A) Respondent has not received in the prior 6 months any bills 

or other evidence that Petitioner is under medical care or 
undergoing physical or vocational rehabilitation related to 
the alleged accidental injuries, and 

 B) Respondent has evidence establishing that Petitioner has 
not been entitled for the prior 6 months to temporary total 
disability benefits as a result of the alleged accidental 
injuries, and such benefits have not been paid for that 
period. 

 
 3) The motions for trial dates shall be filed and heard pursuant to 

Section 7020.70 and Section 7020.60.  If the Arbitrator 
determines that proper and timely fifteen (15) days notice was 
given of the motion for trial date to the opposing party, 
opposing party was provided with a completed Request for 
Hearing, said case appears on the monthly status call on the date 
the motion is heard, or if the case is not on the status call, the 
Arbitrator has determined that the case falls within the 
exceptions in Section 7020.60(b)(2)(B), and that the matter shall 
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proceed to trial, the Arbitrator shall set the matter for trial on a 
date certain.  If any party fails without good cause to appear, the 
Arbitrator will hear the motion for trial date ex parte, and if the 
Arbitrator determines the matter is ready for trial will set a trial 
date convenient to the Arbitrator and the party that appeared. 
The party that appeared shall notify the opposing party of the 
trial date. 

 
d) On each trial day each party or, if represented, the party's attorney of 

record must appear before the Arbitrator between 8:45 a.m. and 9:15 
a.m. during which time the Arbitrator shall establish the order in 
which cases shall proceed that day. The Arbitrator may give priority 
to cases in which a Petition under Section 19(b) or 19(b-1) of the Act 
has been filed, death benefits under Section 7 of the Act or 
permanent total disability benefits under Section 8 of the Act are 
claimed or other cases in which special circumstances exist which in 
the opinion of the Arbitrator warrant granting priority to the case in 
the trial order. Request for Hearing forms must be completed, signed 
and submitted to the Arbitrator prior to the beginning of the hearing 
in the case. 

 
e) Failure of the Petitioner to appear before 9:15 a.m. may bar the case 

from being heard that day or may result in dismissal of the claim.  
Failure of the Respondent to appear may result in an ex parte hearing 
on the merits of the claim. 

 
f) On each trial day the Arbitrator shall begin hearing cases at 9:30 

a.m.  Any party who requests a date certain for trial must be 
prepared, absent good cause shown, to proceed to trial. On the trial 
day parties may report the case settled or request a continuance on a 
form provided by the Industrial Commission.  If the moving party 
does not respond when the case is called for trial by the Arbitrator, 
the case may be placed at the end of the trial order. 

 
g) Bifurcated hearings are discouraged and will be allowed only for 

good cause. Examples of good cause include, but are not limited to, 
where the number or location of witnesses make it impossible to 
conclude the hearing in one day or the testimony of a witness must 
be taken prior to a deposition.  All cases, except those which are 
heard under Section 19(b-1) of the Act, must be concluded within 3 
months after the first hearing date or the Arbitrator will close proofs, 
absent good cause shown, and render a decision. 

 
(Source: Amended at 20 Ill. Reg. 4053, effective February 15, 1996). 
 
Section 7030.30  Disqualification of Commissioners and Arbitrators 
 
a) Except as otherwise provided in the Workers' Compensation Act, the 
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Canons of Judicial Conduct as adopted by the Supreme Court of 
Illinois govern the hearing and non-hearing conduct of members of 
the Commission and Arbitrators.  The Commission may set 
additional rules and standards, not less stringent than those rules and 
standards established by the Code of Judicial Conduct, for the 
conduct of Arbitrators. [820 ILCS 305/1.1].  

 
b) An Arbitrator or Commissioner shall disqualify himself or herself in 

a proceeding, including the consideration of a settlement contract, in 
which the Arbitrator's or Commissioner's impartiality might 
reasonably be questioned, including but not limited to instances in 
which: 

 
 1) he or she has a personal bias or prejudice concerning a party or a 

party's lawyer, or personal knowledge of disputed evidentiary 
facts concerning the proceedings; 

 
 2) he or she served as an attorney in the matter in controversy, or 

an attorney with whom the Arbitrator or Commissioner 
previously practiced law served during that association as an 
attorney concerning the matter; 

 
 3) he or she is a material witness concerning the matter; 
 
 4) he or she was, within the preceding three years, associated in the 

private practice of law with any law firm or attorney currently 
representing any party in the controversy (provided that referral 
of cases when no monetary interest was retained shall not be 
deemed an association for the purposes of this subsection (b)(4)) 
or, for a period of seven years following the last date on which 
the Commissioner or Arbitrator  represented any party to the 
controversy while the Commissioner or Arbitrator was an 
attorney engaged in the private practice of law; 

 
 5) he or she was, within the preceding two years, employed by any 

party to the proceeding or any insurance carrier, service or 
adjustment company, medical or rehabilitation provider, labor 
organization or investigative service involved in the claim; 

 
 6) he or she or his or her spouse, or a person within the third 

degree of relationship (pursuant to the civil law system) to either 
of them, or the spouse of such person: 

 A) is a party to the proceeding, or an officer, director or trustee 
of a party; 

 B) is acting as an attorney in the proceeding; 
 C) is known by the Arbitrator or Commissioner to have a more 

than de minimis interest that could be substantially affected 
by the proceeding; 
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 D) is to the Arbitrator's or Commissioner's knowledge likely to 
be a material witness in the proceeding; 

 
 7) he or she negotiated for employment with a party, a party's 

attorney or insurance carrier or service or adjustment company, 
in a matter in which the Arbitrator or Commissioner is presiding 
or participating in an adjudicative capacity. 

 
8) the Arbitrator or Commissioner knows that he or she, 

individually or as a fiduciary, or the Arbitrator's spouse, parent 
or child wherever residing, or any other member of the 
Arbitrator's or Commissioner's family residing in the 
Arbitrator's or Commissioner's household, has an economic 
interest in the subject matter in controversy or in a party to the 
proceeding, or has any other more that de minimis interest that 
could be substantially affected by the proceeding. 

 
c) An Arbitrator or Commissioner shall keep informed about the 

Arbitrator's or Commissioner's personal and fiduciary economic 
interests and make a reasonable effort to keep informed about the 
personal economic interests of the Arbitrator's or Commissioner's 
spouse and minor children residing in the Arbitrator's or 
Commissioner's household. 

 
d) Remittal of Disqualification 
 An Arbitrator or Commissioner disqualified under subsection (b) 

may disclose on the record the basis of the disqualification and may 
ask the parties and their lawyers to consider, out of the presence of 
the Arbitrator or Commissioner, whether to waive disqualification. 
If, following disclosure of any basis for disqualification other than 
personal bias or prejudice concerning a party, the parties and 
attorneys, without participation by the Arbitrator or Commissioner, 
all agree in writing that the Arbitrator or Commissioner should not 
be disqualified, and the Arbitrator or Commissioner is then willing 
to participate, the Arbitrator or Commissioner may participate in the 
proceeding.  The agreement signed by all parties and all attorneys 
shall be made a part of the record of the proceeding. 

 
e) Reassignment 
 
 1) Cases on Arbitration 
 
 A) When an Arbitrator withdraws from a case and the venue of 

said case arises in Cook County, it shall be the duty of the 
Arbitrator to notify the Commission, whose function it shall 
be to reassign the case to a new Arbitrator chosen randomly 
from all the Arbitrators in Cook County. 
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 B) When an Arbitrator withdraws from a case and the venue of 
said case arises outside Cook County, it shall be the duty of 
the Arbitrator to notify the Commission, whose function it 
shall be to reassign the case to a new Arbitrator in the 
arbitration zone. 

 
 2) Cases on Review 

When a Commissioner withdraws from a case, it shall be the 
duty of the Commissioner to notify the Commission, whose 
function it shall be to transfer the case to a Commissioner, 
representative of the same statutorily designated class, sitting on 
a panel other than that on which the withdrawing Commissioner 
sits. 

 
f) Petitions for Substitution 

1) Cases on Arbitration 
 

A) Every application for a substitution of Arbitrator shall be 
made by a petition setting forth the specific cause for 
substitution.  The petition shall be verified by the affidavit 
of the applicant. 

 
B) Upon filing of a petition for substitution of Arbitrator, a 

hearing to determine whether cause exists shall be 
conducted as soon as possible by an Arbitrator other than 
the Arbitrator named in the petition, randomly assigned by 
the Commission.  The Arbitrator named in the petition need 
not testify but may submit an affidavit if the Arbitrator 
wishes.  If the petition is granted, the case shall be 
reassigned as set forth in subsection (e)(1) of this Section.  
If the petition is denied, the case shall be assigned back to 
the Arbitrator named in the petition.   

 
2) Cases on Review 

 
A) Every application for a substitution of Commissioner shall 

be made by a petition setting forth the specific cause for 
substitution.  The petition shall be verified by the affidavit 
of the applicant. 

 
B) Upon filing of a petition for substitution of Commissioner, 

a hearing to determine whether cause exists shall be 
conducted as soon as possible by a Commissioner of the 
same designation as the Commissioner named in the 
petition, randomly assigned by the Commission. The 
Commissioner named in the petition, need not testify but 
may submit an affidavit if the Commissioner wishes.  If the 
petition is granted, the case shall be reassigned as set forth 
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in subsection (e)(2).  If the petition is denied, the case shall 
be assigned back to the original panel including the 
Commissioner named in the petition.   

 
3) A petition for substitution may be made to the Commission if 

reasonable notice of the application has been given to the 
adverse party or his or her attorney. 

 
(Source:  Amended at 36 Ill. Reg. 17913, effective December 4, 2012) 
 
Section 7030.40  Request for Hearing 
 
Before a case proceeds to trial on arbitration, the parties (or their counsel) 
shall complete and sign a form provided by the Industrial Commission 
called Request for Hearing.  However, in the event a party (or his 
counsel) shall fail or refuse to complete and sign the document, the 
Arbitrator, in his discretion, may allow the case to be heard and may 
impose upon such party whatever sanctions permitted by law the 
circumstances may warrant.  The completed Request for Hearing form, 
signed by the parties (or their counsel), shall be filed with the Arbitrator 
as the stipulation of the parties and a settlement of the questions in 
dispute in the case. 
 
Section 7030.50   Subpoena Practice 
 
a) Issuance 
 

A blank form of subpoena for the attendance of witnesses or the 
production of documents will be furnished by the Secretary of the 
Commission upon request of the parties or their attorneys. 

 
b) Use 
 

Unless otherwise agreed by the parties, witnesses or documents may 
only be subpoenaed to appear or be produced at the time and place 
set for hearing of the cause. 

 
c) Service 
 

Personal service of the subpoena is required and payment of 
Statutory fee and travel expense must accompany the service. 

 
d) 
 1) Upon failure of any person, firm or organization to obey a 

subpoena of the Illinois Industrial Commission, a party seeking 
enforcement of the subpoena, or his attorney, shall prepare an 
application to the Circuit Court of the county in which the 
hearing or claim is pending requesting enforcement of the 
subpoena pursuant to Section 16 of the Illinois Workers' 
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Compensation Act and shall present, file and serve on opposing 
party said application together with the original subpoena and 
proof of service to the Arbitrator or Commissioner designated to 
hear the said claim, or if no Arbitrator or Commission has been 
designated, then to the Chairman of the Commission. 

 
 2) A hearing pursuant to Section 7020.70 shall be held at which the 

Commissioner or Arbitrator to whom the application is 
presented shall determine if the subpoena requested relevant 
information, and was properly issued and served and if the 
application is proper in form.  If the said Commissioner or 
Arbitrator shall so find, then, he or she shall sign the 
application.  The party seeking enforcement of the subpoena, or 
his attorney, may then file and prosecute the application in the 
Circuit Court. 

 
Section 7030.60  Depositions 
 
a) Evidence depositions of any witness may be taken, before hearing, 

only upon stipulation of the parties or upon order, called a dedimus 
potestatem in Section 16 of the Act,  issued by the Arbitrator or 
Commissioner to whom the case has been assigned upon application 
of either party.  Evidence depositions of any witness may be taken 
after the hearing begins only upon order of the Arbitrator or 
Commissioner, for good cause shown. Except as provided in 
subsection (f) below, such application shall be in writing and shall 
contain the following: 

 
 1) The reasons for the issuance of the dedimus potestatem clearly 

and concisely stated. 
 
 2) The date upon which the dedimus should be issued and the 

name and address of the party to whom the dedimus is to be 
directed. 

 
 3) The names and addresses of the witnesses whose depositions are 

sought to be taken. 
 
 4) A statement as to whether the depositions are to be taken by oral 

or written interrogatories.  Such written application shall be 
made either upon a printed form prescribed and furnished by the 
Commission or in a similar document prepared by the party 
applying for the dedimus. 

 
b) The time for taking depositions pursuant to the issuance of the 

dedimus potestatem shall be on a date set not less than ten (10) days 
after the issuance of such dedimus potestatem. 
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c) Notice and Objection 
 
 1) Except as provided in subsection (f) below, no dedimus 

potestatem shall be issued unless a copy of the application, 
together with all documents required by this rule to be attached 
to said application, has been served on the opposing party and 
proof of service of such copy made as provided in 50 Ill. Adm. 
Code 7020(a), Pre Arbitration. 

 
 2) The opposing party may, within five (5) days after the receipt of 

the copy of the application, file written objections to the 
issuance of the dedimus potestatem.  The Commission shall rule 
on such objections before the issuance of the dedimus 
potestatem. 

 
d) Except as provided in subsection (f) below, notice of the issuance of 

the dedimus potestatem shall be given in sufficient time so that the 
receipt of such copy of the dedimus potestatem shall not be less than 
ten (10) days before the date set for the taking of the deposition.  If 
the deposition is to be taken by written interrogatories, such 
interrogatories shall be filed in triplicate with the application for 
dedimus potestatem and a copy of such interrogatories shall be 
attached to the copy of the dedimus potestatem mailed to each party.  
If cross-interrogatories are desired, the same shall be filed with the 
Commission, not more than five (5) days after the receipt of the 
written interrogatories, and the party filing same shall mail a copy 
thereof within the same period of time to the applicant for dedimus 
potestatem. 

 
e) No dedimus potestatem shall be issued to take the depositions of any 

medical witnesses: 
A) where the party applying for the dedimus potestatem has refused 

or failed to comply with the provisions of Section 12 of the Act, 
and 

B) unless he shall have served the other side with a signed report of 
such medical witness--other than a treating physician--giving his 
findings and conclusions. 

 
f) Exceptions 
 
 1) Provided, however, where it is shown that by complying with 

the time requirements prescribed herein, the party seeking the 
dedimus may be deprived of the evidence sought to be obtained 
by the deposition, that the Arbitrator or Commissioner to whom 
a case has been assigned for hearing may, in his discretion: 

 A) on notice and hearing before trial waive or reduce such 
requirements, or 

B) permit a party to present an oral application of a dedimus 
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potestatem immediately before or during trial and, after due 
consideration of such application and any objections thereto 
that may be orally raised by the opposite party, rule upon 
the application. 

 
 2) Where a dedimus potestatem is issued upon such oral 

application, the hearing officer shall allow the parties reasonable 
time to complete the deposition and submit the transcript thereof 
before closing proofs in the case. 

 
g) When any party takes an evidence deposition, said deposition shall 

be filed and become part of the record as an exhibit of the party who 
applied for the dedimus to take the deposition, unless the parties 
agree otherwise. 

 
h) All objections to questions propounded or answers adduced in the 

evidence deposition shall be fully explained on the record of said 
deposition.  It shall be the duty of the hearing officer to note his 
ruling on each objection in the margin of the transcript of said 
deposition or at a hearing on the record. 

 
(Source: Amended at 20 Ill. Reg. 4053, effective February 15, 1996) 
 
Section 7030.70  Rules of Evidence 
 
a) The Illinois common law rules of evidence and the Illinois Evidence 

Act [820 ILCS 305] shall apply in all proceedings had before the 
Industrial Commission, either upon arbitration or review, except to 
the extent they conflict with the Workers' Compensation Act, the 
Workers' Occupational Diseases Act [820 ILCS 310], or the Rules 
Governing Practice Before the Industrial Commission.   

 
b) Exhibits offered in evidence, whether admitted or rejected, shall be 

retained by the assigned Arbitrator or Commissioner until a decision 
is issued in the matter.  Exhibits may not be removed by the parties.  
Once a final decision is rendered exhibits shall be retained by the 
Industrial Commission pursuant to the requirements of Section 17 of 
the Workers' Compensation Act [820 ILCS 305/17]. 

 
 (Source: Amended at 20 Ill. Reg. 4053, effective February 15, 1996) 
 
Section 7030.80  Briefs, Arbitrators' Decisions 
 
a) At the close of proofs, the Arbitrator may require that each party file 

a proposed decision or a brief within 14 days. The proposed decision 
or brief must set forth all issues in dispute and the party's position on 
each issue. The proposed decision or brief must be served on the 
Arbitrator and all other parties and contain proof of service.  The 
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proposed decision shall be written in the same manner and form as 
that which is required under subsection (b). 

 
b) After the closing of proofs the Arbitrator will issue a written 

decision which shall include: 
 
 1) the Commission number of the case, the names of the parties, 

and the name of the county in which the case was heard; 
 
 2) the issues agreed to and in dispute; 
 
 3) the Arbitrator's findings of fact and conclusions of law 

separately stated, upon each contested issue; 
 
 4) applicable orders resulting from the findings of fact and 

conclusions of law; 
 
 5) a statement of the requirements for filing a decision pursuant to 

50 Ill. Adm. Code 7040.10(a) and (b); 
 
 6) where applicable, a statement of the rate of interest due under 

Section 19(n) of The Workers' Compensation Act, (Ill. Rev. 
Stat. 1989, ch. 48, par. 138.19(n)). 

 
(Source: Amended at 15 Ill. Reg. 8214, effective May 17, 1991) 
 
Section 7030.90  Opening and/or Closing Statements 
 
A brief opening and/or closing statement may be made of record at the 
arbitration hearing. 
 
Section 7030.100  Voluntary Arbitration under Section 19(p) of the 
Workers' Compensation Act and  Section 19(m) of the Workers' 
Occupational Diseases Act 
 
a) Selection of Arbitrators to Hear Cases Under Voluntary Arbitration 
 
 1) The Workers' Compensation Advisory Board shall compile a list 

of not less than seven (7) certified arbitrators, each of whom 
shall be approved by at least seven (7) of the nine (9) members 
of the Advisory Board, to conduct hearings.  The Advisory 
Board shall submit such list to the Chairman of the Industrial 
Commission (the Chairman). 

 
 2) Within thirty (30) days of submission of the list by the Workers' 

Compensation Advisory Board, the Chairman shall select five 
(5) arbitrators from the list to conduct hearings.  The Chairman 
shall publish the selections within fifteen (15) days. 

 
 3) If a vacancy occurs among the arbitrators selected by the 
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Chairman to conduct hearings, the Chairman shall select an 
arbitrator from the list chosen by the Workers' Compensation 
Advisory Board to fill that vacancy.  At any time the list 
contains less than seven (7) names of current certified 
arbitrators, the Chairman shall request that the Advisory Board 
provide a list of additional certified arbitrators from which to 
make selections. 

 
b) Request for Voluntary Arbitration 
 
 1) After filing an application for adjustment of claim but prior to 

the hearing on arbitration, the parties may voluntarily agree to 
submit the application for decision by an arbitrator from a list of 
five (5) arbitrators selected by the Chairman to hear cases under 
this Section.  If the parties cannot agree on an arbitrator from the 
list of five (5) arbitrators, they may, by agreement, select an 
arbitrator from the American Arbitration Association. 

 
 2) Only applications for adjustment of claim which involve a 

dispute over temporary total disability, permanent partial 
disability or medical expenses may be submitted for decision by 
an arbitrator under this Section. 

 
 3) The agreement of the parties to submit the case to voluntary 

arbitration shall be in writing and shall be filed with the 
Commission.  The written agreement shall be on a form 
provided by the Commission.  The form shall contain the 
following: 

 A) a statement indicating the voluntary nature of the 
proceedings, the waiver of certain rights by the parties and 
the statement in subsection (c)(2) to be read by the 
arbitrator at the beginning of the hearing. 

 B) a certification by the arbitrator and any party not 
represented by an attorney that the statement in subsection 
(c)(2) was made on the record by the arbitrator at the 
beginning of the hearing and the party elected to proceed 
without counsel. 

 
4) When an agreement to submit a case for decision by an 

arbitrator under this Section has been filed with the 
Commission, the application shall be assigned to the call of the 
arbitrator chosen by the parties to conduct the hearing.  In cases 
in which the parties agree to select an arbitrator of the American 
Arbitration Association, the Commission shall notify the parties 
of the time and place of the hearing. 

 
c) Conduct of Hearings 
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 1) The arbitrator conducting the hearing shall advise the parties on 
the record at the beginning of the hearing of their rights under 
Section 19(p) of the Workers' Compensation Act or 19(m) of the 
Workers' Occupational Diseases Act and of the voluntary nature 
of the proceedings. 

 
 2) In all cases in which any party is not represented by an attorney, 

the following statement shall be made on the record by the 
arbitrator at the beginning of the hearing: 

 
Voluntary arbitration under Section 19(p) or 19(m) requires 
an understanding of the Workers' Compensation Act or 
Workers' Occupational Diseases Act as well as the laws of 
evidence and trial procedure.  You are entitled to be 
represented by an attorney if you so desire.  The arbitrator's 
decision under this procedure is conclusive on all findings 
of fact and your rights of appeal to the Courts are strictly 
limited to questions of law. 

 
 3) The Rules Governing Practice Before the Industrial Commission 

(50 Ill. Adm. Code: Chapter II) shall apply to hearings in cases 
submitted for decision by an arbitrator under Section 19(p) of 
the Workers' Compensation Act or 19(m) of the Workers' 
Occupational Diseases Act, except when inconsistent with this 
Section or Section 19(p) of the Workers' Compensation Act or 
Section 19(m) of the Workers' Occupational Diseases Act. 

 
d) The Commission shall pay reasonable costs for services of an 

arbitrator of the American Arbitration Association. 
 
(Source: Added at 14 Ill. Reg. 13141, effective August 1, 1990) 
 
PART 7040: REVIEW 
 
Section 
7040.10  Perfecting a Review 
7040.20  Assignment of Reviews 
7040.30  Review Hearing Dates and Places 
7040.40  Conduct of Review Hearings 
7040.50  Remanding Orders 
7040.60  Continuances for Oral Argument(s) and Extension(s) of Time 

for Filing Statements of Exception(s) and/or Addition(s) and 
Supporting Briefs and Abstracts 

7040.70  Statements of Exception(s) and/or Addition(s) and Supporting 
Briefs and Abstracts 

7040.80  Commission Decision on Review 
 
AUTHORITY: Implementing Section 19 and authorized by Section 16 of 
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the Workers' Compensation Act (820 ILCS 305/19 and16). 
 
SOURCE: Filed and effective March 1, 1977; amended at 2 Ill. Reg. 22, 
p. 90, effective May 25, 1978; amended at 6 Ill. Reg. 8040, effective July 
1, 1982; emergency amendment at 6 Ill. Reg. 15307, effective December 
7, 1982, for a maximum of 150 days; codified at 7 Ill. Reg. 2345; 
amended at 8 Ill. Reg. 4499, effective March 28, 1984; amended at 9 Ill. 
Reg. 13744, effective August 21, 1985; amended at 9 Ill. Reg. 16249, 
effective October 15, 1985; emergency amendment at 9 Ill. Reg. 19133, 
effective November 20, 1985, for a maximum of 150 days; amended at 
10 Ill. Reg. 8100, effective May 5, 1986; emergency amendment at 14 
Ill. Reg. 4940, effective March 9, 1990, for a maximum of 150 days; 
amended at 14 Ill. Reg. 13173, effective August 1, 1990. 
 
Section 7040.10  Perfecting a Review 
 
a) Time for Filing 
 

1) Petitions for review of an arbitration decision shall be filed in 
duplicate with the Commission within the time provided by 
statute. 

 
2) The Petition for Review shall contain a statement of the 

petitioning party's specific exceptions to the Decision of the 
Arbitrator. 

 
b) Order of Arbitration Transcript 
 

1) Stenographic reports of proceedings before the Industrial 
Commission shall be furnished the parties only upon written 
order filed with the Commission. 

 
2) For purposes of perfecting a review, an arbitration transcript 

must be ordered within the time fixed by statute.  The estimated 
cost of the transcript of proceedings may be obtained from the 
Industrial Commission, and the party requesting such transcript 
shall deposit a sum of money covering the estimated cost before 
the reporter shall be required to complete the transcript.  An 
order entered pursuant to Section 20 of the Workers' 
Compensation Act (the Act)  (Ill. Rev. Stat. 1989, ch. 48, par. 
138.20) may be submitted for said monetary deposits. 

 
c) Notice of Additional Evidence 

Parties desiring to introduce additional evidence shall, not less than 
five (5) days before the date of the hearing on review, give the 
opposite party a notice apprising him of the fact that additional 
evidence will be submitted and the nature thereof, at which time a 
copy of such notice shall also be filed with the Industrial 
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Commission. 
 
d) Authentication of Transcript 
1) For purposes of perfecting a review, the transcript of arbitration 

proceedings shall be authenticated in the manner provided by 
statute (Ill. Rev. Stat. 1989, ch. 48, par. 138.19(b) and 
172.54(b)), and presented to the Commission prior to or at the 
time set for hearing on review. 

 
 2) In cases in which the first hearing of record before the Arbitrator 

is commenced after December 18, 1989, the transcript of 
Arbitration proceedings shall be authenticated in the manner 
provided by statute, and presented to the Commission prior to or 
at a designated time and place set by the Commission as the 
Return Date on Review.  The Return Date on Review shall be 
limited to the filing of the authenticated transcript. 

 A) The Commission shall notify the parties at least thirty (30) 
days prior to the time set for the Return Date on Review. 

 B) The reviewing party may elect to submit the authenticated 
transcript in person or by mail to the Review Department of 
the Commission at its offices in Chicago on or before the 
Return Date on Review.  The authenticated transcript shall 
be accompanied by a cover letter indicating the case 
caption, case number, assigned Commissioner and Return 
Date on Review.  Timely filing by mail shall be shown by a 
legible postmark date at least two (2) calendar days prior to 
and exclusive of the Return Date on Review, applied by  the 
U.S. Postal Service, and not by a party, to the envelope in 
which the document is received by the Commission at its 
offices in Chicago, Illinois, or the date applied by the U.S. 
Postal Service to a certified or registered mail receipt 
bearing the same certification or registry number as the 
envelope in which the document was received by the 
Commission at its offices in Chicago, Illinois, showing a 
date of mailing which is not less than two (2) calendar days 
prior to and exclusive of the Return Date on Review. 

 
 3) In cases in which Section 19(b-1) Petitions have been filed, the 

transcript shall be authenticated and presented in accordance 
with Section 7020.80(b)(3)(C). 

 
(Source: Amended at 14 Ill. Reg. 13173, effective August 1, 1990) 
 
Section 7040.20  Assignment of Reviews 
 
a) Reviews shall be assigned to individual Commissioners for hearing 

in the following manner: 
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b) At the conclusion of every work week, the transcript clerk shall 
deliver to the review clerk a list of the arbitration transcript 
completed during that week.  The transcript shall be in numerical 
order according to the Commission docket number of each case.  No 
information other than the transcript name and number shall appear 
on the list. 

 
c) Upon receipt of the list of arbitration transcripts completed that 

week, the review clerk will cause those cases to be randomly 
assigned to a Commissioner by a computer program for Cook 
County cases.  Cases outside Cook County shall be assigned to that 
particular territory. 

 
d) Assignments shall be final except upon disqualification of a 

Commissioner as provided in Arbitration (50 Ill. Adm. Code 
7030.30) 

 
(Source: Amended at 10 Ill. Reg. 8100, effective May 5, 1986) 
 
Section 7040.30  Review Hearing: Date and Place 
 
The Commission shall give written notice to the parties of the date and 
place set for the initial hearing on review at least ten (10) days prior to 
the time fixed for hearing.  Review shall be set at a place reasonably 
convenient to the parties. 
 
(Source: 4(3) (now Section 7040.30) renumbered from Rule 4(4) at 6 Ill. 
Reg. 8040, effective July 1, 1982) 
 
Section 7040.40  Conduct of Review Hearing 
 
a) All cases on review under Section 19(b) of the Act in which the first 

hearing of record before the Arbitrator was commenced on or before 
December 18, 1989, shall proceed as follows: 

 
 1) Order of Proof 

The reviewing party, or the party whose review is filed first, 
shall have the right to open and close the evidence. 

 
 2) Limitation of Evidence 
  Evidence may be adduced on review if the evidence: 
 A) relates to the condition of the Petitioner since the time of 

the arbitration hearing; or 
 B) relates to matters that occurred or conditions that developed 

after the arbitration hearing; or 
 C) was not introduced at the arbitration hearing for good cause. 
 
b) In all cases on review under Section 19(b) of the Act in which the 

first hearing of record before the Arbitrator is commenced after 
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December 18, 1989, no additional evidence shall be introduced by 
the parties before the Commission. 

 
c) Special Findings 
 1) Either party may request in writing that the Commission make 

special findings upon any written question or questions of law 
or fact (not to exceed five (5) in number) submitted to it 
concerning issues raised by the review.  Said interrogatories 
shall be filed at least five (5) days prior to the Oral Argument or 
five (5) days after completion of the review hearing, whichever 
is later. 

 
 2) In all cases referred to in subsection (b) above, said 

interrogatories shall be filed at least five (5) days prior to the 
Oral Argument or five (5) days after the filing of the transcript, 
whichever is later. 

 
 3) A copy of the interrogatories must be served on the other side 

with appropriate proof of service. 
 
 (Source: Amended at 14 Ill. Reg. 13173, effective August 1, 1990) 
 
Section 7040.50  Remanding Orders 
 
Upon receipt of a remanding order from a reviewing court, the 
Commission shall docket same and set for hearing in the same manner as 
petitions for review, except that where practical the cause shall be 
assigned to the original hearing Commissioner. 
 
(Source: Rule 4(5) (now Section 7040.50) renumbered from Rule 4(6) at 
6 Ill. Reg. 8040, effective July 1, 1982) 
 
Section 7040.60  Continuances for Oral Arguments and Extension(s) 
of Time for Filing Statements of Exception(s) and/or Addition(s) and 
Supporting Briefs and Abstracts 
 
Parties are expected to make their oral arguments at the time and date set 
by the Commission.  No continuances of an oral argument or extension 
of time for filing Statements of Exception(s) and/or Addition(s) and 
Supporting Briefs and Abstracts or other documents shall be granted 
except by order of the Commission for good cause shown.   
 
(Source: Amended at 9 Ill. Reg. 16249, effective October 15, 1985) 
 
Section 7040.70  Statements of Exception(s) and/or Addition(s) and 
Supporting Briefs and Abstracts 
 
a) Except in cases where Section 19(b-1) Petitions have been filed, 

each party filing a petition for review of the Arbitrator’s decision, or 
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other proceedings such as under Sections 19(h) or 8(a) in which the 
right to oral arguments has been granted, or in which written 
statements of the parties have been ordered by the Commission, shall 
file its statement of exception(s) and/or addition(s) and supporting 
brief setting forth: 

 
 1) the identity of the party filing; 
 
 2) the names of the parties and the Commission’s number of the 

cases; 
 
 3) the name of the Commissioner to whom the case has been 

assigned on Review; 
 
 4) the date, if any, scheduled for oral argument; 
 
 5) the name of the Arbitrator who rendered the decision or entered 

the order most recently prior to the filing of the party’s petition; 
 
 6) the Arbitrator’s findings, to include, whenever applicable: 
 A) date of accident and/or (last) exposure found or alleged; 
 B) the number of weeks of temporary total disability 

compensation awarded, and the amount of compensation 
paid; 

 C) the dollar amount of medical expenses awarded; 
 D) the nature of the disability and/or disfigurement and the 

number of weeks for disfigurement or the percentage of 
loss for permanent partial disability or specific loss, if any, 
awarded, or the fact of any award of benefits by reason of 
death or permanent total disability; 

 E) the dollar amount of any awards, or other findings, under 
Sections 4(i), 8(f), 19(k), and Section 19(l), of the Act, if 
any, 

 
 7) appellant’s statement of exception(s) and/or addition(s) to the 

Arbitrator’s decision to include: 
 A) separate headings identifying each issue asserted as an 

exception or addition; 
 B) statements of particular evidence in the record pertaining to 

each such issue, together with citation of any legal 
authorities, including, Commission decisions which support 
the position of that issue. 

 
b) three (3) copies of the appellant’s statement of exception(s) and/or 

addition(s) and the supporting brief shall be filed with the 
Commission and served on all parties not later than thirty (30) days 
from the date of closing of proofs on Review if no transcript of the 
hearing on Review is to be prepared, or thirty (30) days from the 
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date of notice of mailing or transmittal of the transcript of evidence 
on Review whenever such a transcript is to be prepared.  The 
appellee may submit a response, in which case he must file three (3) 
copies of the response with the Commission and serve copies thereof 
on all parties within fifteen (15) days from the last day allowed for 
the filing of appellant’s statements of exception(s) and/or addition(s) 
and supporting brief.  Such a statement of exception(s) and/or 
addition(s) and supporting brief, and any response thereto, shall be 
written or printed on one side of no more than twenty (20) 81/2” x 
11” sheets of paper, and shall include a certificate of the date and 
manner of service of copies on all other parties. 

 
c) In addition to the statement of exception(s) and/or addition(s) and 

supporting brief required in the above paragraph depending on the 
size of the case and complexity of the issues involved, the reviewing 
Commissioner may order that an abstract of the record be filed with 
the Commission and served on all parties by each appealing party 
not later than thirty (30) days from the date of closing of proofs on 
Review or thirty (30) days from the date of notice of mailing or 
transmittal of the transcript of evidence on Review and each 
responding party shall have fifteen (15) days from the last day 
allowed for the filing of the opposing appellant’s supporting brief 
within which to file a supplemental or corrected abstract.  
Appellant’s reply, if filed, shall be limited to the matter raised in the 
supplemental or corrected abstract and response and shall be filed 
within ten (10) days after the date for filing of the appellee’s 
abstract. 

 
d) All documents filed under this Section shall bear the caption of the 

case, including the Commission case number, and shall include the 
name of the Commissioner to whom the case has been assigned for 
the Review proceedings, together with the date set for oral argument, 
when applicable, directly under the case number in the caption.  
Documents filed pursuant to this Section will not be considered to 
have met the requirements for filing if they do not comply with the 
requirements of subsection (e).  The Commission will only consider, 
and oral arguments will be limited to, the issues raised in both the 
Review proceedings stipulation form or its equivalent for 
proceedings such as those under Section 19(h) and (f) of the Act and 
in the party’s statement of exception(s) and/or addition(s) and 
supporting brief, and to those in any complying response thereto.  
Failure of any appellant or petitioning party to file timely any 
statement of exception(s) and/or addition(s) and supporting brief as 
required by this Section, including an abstract when required under 
subsection (c) of this Section, shall constitute waiver of the right to 
oral argument by that party and an election not to advise the 
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Commission of any reason to change the Arbitrator’s decision or to 
grant the petition; and in any case in which no appealing party has 
filed a statement of exception(s) and/or addition(s) and supporting 
brief together with any abstract required by this Section, neither 
party will be entitled to an oral argument before the Commission. 

 
e) Timely filing shall be shown by: 
 
 1) the date file stamped on the document at the time of receipt by 

the Commission at its office in Chicago, Illinois; 
 
 2) a legible postmark date at least two (2) calendar days prior to 

and exclusive of the date on which such document was due to be 
filed in accordance with this rule, applied by the U.S. Postal 
Service, and not by a party, to the envelope in which the 
document is received by the Commission at its offices in 
Chicago, Illinois, or the date applied by the U.S. Postal Service 
to a certified or registered mail receipt bearing the same 
certification or registry number as the envelope in which the 
document was received by the Commission at its offices in 
Chicago, Illinois, showing a date of mailing which is not less 
than two (2) calendar days prior to and exclusive of the date on 
which such document was due to be filed.  If the date required 
for filing or mailing falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday, the 
time for filing or mailing shall be the next date which is not a 
Saturday, Sunday or holiday. 

 
f) In all cases on review under Section 19(b) of the Act in which the 

first hearing of record before the arbitrator is commenced after 
December 18, 1989, three (3) copies of the appellant’s statement of 
exception(s) and/or addition(s) and supporting brief shall be filed 
with the Commission and served on all parties not later than thirty 
(30) days from the Return Date on Review.  The appellee may 
submit a response, in which case he must file three (3) copies of the 
response with the Commission and serve copies thereof on all parties 
within fifteen (15) days from the last day allowed for the filing of 
appellant’s statement of exception(s) and/or addition(s) and 
supporting brief.  Such a statement of exception(s) and/or addition(s) 
and supporting brief, and any response thereto, shall be written or 
printed on one side of no more than twenty (20) 8 1/2" x 11" sheets 
of paper, and shall include a certificate of the date and manner of 
service of copies on all other parties. 

 
 1) The requirement set forth in subsections (a), (d) and (e) above 

are applicable to subsection (f). 
 
 2) Subsection (c) above is applicable with the addition that in any 

case assigned to the Special Panel in which an Abstract of the 
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Record has not been filed by January 1, 1990, or in any case 
remaining before the permanent panel of Commissioners, the 
Special Panel or, any reviewing Commissioner of the permanent 
panels may, by written notice to the parties, request the party 
appealing first to file an Abstract of the Record within thirty 
(30) days of the notice.  The other party may file a supplemental 
Abstract within fifteen (15) days of the receipt of the original 
Abstract. 

 
(Source: Amended at 14 Ill. Reg. 13173, effective August 1, 1990) 
 
Section 7040.80 Commission Decision on Review 
 
In all cases where at or before the closing of proofs on Review a party 
has filed a written request for a full written decision pursuant to section 
19(e) of the Workers’ Compensation Act (Ill. Rev. Stat 1983, ch. 48, par. 
138.19(e)), Commission will issue a decision, which shall include: 
 
a) the Commission’s number of the case and the names of the parties, 

and the name of the county in which the case was heard on 
arbitration; 

 
b) the Arbitrator’s findings as relevant to the issues on Review, 

including, if relevant: 
 
 1) the date or dates of accident, exposure, of last exposure; 
 
 2) the number of weeks for which temporary total disability 

compensation was awarded, if any; 
 
 3) the dollar amount of medical expenses awarded, if any; 
 
 4) the nature and number of weeks, in case of disfigurement, or 

percentages, in case of partial losses of use, awarded with 
respect to disfigurement and permanent partial disability, the 
nature and the number of weeks awarded with respect to any 
specific losses under Section 8(e), if any, or the fact that benefits 
were awarded on account of death or permanent total disability; 

 
 5) findings under section 4(i), section 8(j), section 16, section 

19(k), or section 19(l) of the Act, if applicable;  
 
c) the identity (ies) of the party (ies) who has (or have) filed a Petition 

for Review, or other proceedings as under section 19(h), section 
8(a), or section 8(f), and a statement of the issue to be decided on 
Review; 

 
d) the Commission’s findings of fact and conclusions of law upon each 

claim of exceptions or for additions to the Arbitrators decision 
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including a statement of the particular evidence in the record upon 
which the findings and conclusions are based; 

 
e) applicable orders resulting from the findings of fact and conclusions 

of law; 
 
f) a statement of the conditions, if any, for a judicial review of the 

Commission’s decision in accordance with the requirements of 50 
Ill. Adm. Code 7060. 

 
(Source: Added at 9 Ill. Reg. 13744, effective August 21, 1985) 
 
PART 7050: ORAL ARGUMENTS 
 
Section 
7050.10  Right to Oral Argument 
7050.20  Time Allotted 
7050.30  Section 19(h) Petitions  
7050.40  Petitioner's Presence at Oral Argument 
 
AUTHORITY: Implementing Section 19 and authorized by Section 16 of 
the Workers' Compensation Act (820 ILCS 305/19 and 16). 
 
SOURCE: Filed and effective March 1, 1977; amended at 3 Ill. Reg. 4, p. 
13, effective January 21, 1979; amended at 6 Ill. Reg. 8040, effective 
July 1, 1982; codified at 7 Ill. Reg. 2348. 
 
Section 7050.10  Right to Oral Argument 
 
Upon the request of either party no later than the conclusion of the 
review hearing, a cause shall be set down for oral argument before not 
less than a majority of the members of the Commission. 
 
(Source: Amended at 6 Ill. Reg. 8040, effective July 1, 1982) 
 
Section 7050.20  Time Allotted 
 
Oral Argument on all cases where Nature and Extent of injury is the sole 
issue shall be limited to five (5) minutes for each side. Oral argument 
shall be limited to ten (10) minutes for each side inclusive of rebuttal 
time on all other cases and those cases where a total permanent disability 
or death award has been entered regardless of the number of issues 
involved. 
 
Section 7050.30  Section 19(h) Petitions 
 
Oral argument may be had on hearings under Section 19(h) of the 
Workers' Compensation Act in the same manner as provided in Section 
7050.20. 
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Section 7050.40  Petitioner's Presence at Oral Argument 
 
The petitioner, at his own request, or at the request of the hearing 
commissioner, shall present himself for examination at the time set for 
oral argument.  In the event that neither the petitioner nor the hearing 
commissioner request the presence of the petitioner, the respondent may 
request his presence, subject to the discretion of the hearing 
commissioner, and if such presence is ordered by the hearing 
commissioner, the respondent shall pay in advance of the time fixed for 
said oral argument sufficient monies to defray the necessary expense of 
travel by the most convenient means to and from the place of 
examination and reimbursement for any loss of wages caused because of 
loss of working time as provided under Section 12 of the Workers' 
Compensation Act relative to physical examinations. 
 
PART 7060:  JUDICIAL REVIEW 
 
Section 7060.10 Certification of Record: Conditions 
 
AUTHORITY: Implementing Section 19 and authorized by Section 16 of 
the Workers' Compensation Act (820 ILCS 305/19 and 16). 
 
SOURCE: Filed and effective March 1, 1977; amended at 6 Ill. Reg. 
8040, effective July 1, 1982; codified at 7 Ill. Reg. 1242; amended at 9 
Ill. Reg. 2496, effective February 11, 1985; expedited correction at 19 Ill. 
Reg. 292, effective February 11, 1985. 
 
Section 7060.10  Certification of Record: Conditions 
 
a) Cost of Record 

Judicial review of Commission decisions is had by summons as 
provided in the Workers' Compensation Act (Ill. Rev. Stat. 1991 ch. 
48, par. 138.19) [820 ILCS 305/19].  In its decision on review, the 
Commission shall determine the amount of the probable cost of the 
record to be filed as a return to the summons.  Upon payment of this 
amount, the Commission shall furnish the reviewing party a certified 
receipt. 

 
b) Amount of Bond 

In its decision on review, pursuant to Section 19(f)(2) of the Act, the 
Commission, or any member thereof, shall fix the amount of bond, if 
any, required to be filed by the appealing party as a return to the 
summons.  Bond shall be set at an amount equal to $100 over the 
total unpaid amount of the award rendered by the Commission on 
review subject to a maximum of $75,000. 

 
(Source: Expedited correction at 19 Ill. Reg. 292, effective February 11, 1995) 
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PART 7070: SETTLEMENT CONTRACTS AND LUMP SUM  
 PETITIONS 
 
Section 
7070.10  Settlement Contracts  
7070.20  Agreed Petitions for Lump Sum Settlement 
7070.30  Contested Petitions for Lump Sum Settlement  
7070.40  Action by Commission 
 
AUTHORITY: Implementing Section 19 and authorized by Section 16 of 
the Workers' Compensation Act (820 ILCS 305/19 and 16). 
 
SOURCE: Filed and effective March 1, 1977; amended at 2 Ill. Reg. 49, 
p. 244, effective December 7, 1978; amended at 3 Ill. Reg. 4, p. 13, 
effective January 21, 1979; amended at 4 Ill. Reg. 26, p. 159, effective 
July 1, 1980; emergency rule at 4 Ill. Reg. 41, p. 171, effective 
September 25, 1980 for a maximum of 150 days; amended at 5 Ill. Reg. 
4580, effective April 13, 1981; emergency rule at 5 Ill. Reg. 8547, 
effective August 12, 1981 for a maximum of 150 days; amended at 6 Ill. 
Reg. 3570, effective March 22, 1982; amended at 6 Ill. Reg. 8040, 
effective July 1, 1982; codified at 7 Ill. Reg. 2349. 
 
Section 7070.10  Settlement Contracts 
 
a) Filing Requirements 
 
 1) Settlement Contracts shall be filed in quadruplicate on a form 

provided by the Commission and docketed.  Where an 
application is pending, the contracts must bear the docket 
number of the application.  Where no application has been filed, 
the contracts shall be given an original number and letter in the 
same manner as an application.  In cases involving payment into 
the Second Injury Fund, one (1) additional copy shall be filed 
for record purposes. In addition, a stamped envelope must be 
submitted addressed to each person who is to receive copies of 
the approved contract by mail. 

 
 2) Settlement Contracts shall be accompanied by "Attorney 

Representation Agreement" on a form prescribed by the 
Commission and completely filled out and signed by Petitioner 
and attorney, if such contract has not been previously filed. 

 
b) Contents 

Settlement Contracts forms shall be completed in full and 
accompanied by an appropriate signed physician's report concerning 
the nature and extent and probable duration of the disability resulting 
from the alleged accident. 
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 1) In cases of injury to an eye, the report shall state the prognosis 
with regard to the uninjured eye as well as the injured eye. 

 
 2) In cases involving claim for death benefits, the report shall refer 

to the medical cause of death.  In addition, in death cases, 
photostatic copies of the death certificate, and, where applicable, 
marriage certificate of the decedent and birth certificates of any 
minor children of the decedent, shall accompany the Settlement 
Contracts.  In addition, the Petitioner shall file a written 
explanation of how the dependents of the decedent will be 
supported following the approval of the appropriateness of the 
settlement. 

 
 3) If a Petitioner has not returned to gainful employment at the 

time of the settlement due to disability caused by the accident, 
the Petitioner shall file a written explanation of how the 
Petitioner and his dependents will be cared for during the length 
of the disability, and any other information relevant to 
determining the appropriateness of the settlement. 

 
c) Assignment 
 
 1) Settlement Contracts submitted by a Respondent and Petitioner 

represented by an attorney, wherein the Petitioner waives his 
right to have a settlement approved by an Arbitrator or a 
Commissioner shall be approved by the Industrial Commission 
without the necessity of review by an Arbitrator or 
Commissioner if and only if the Petitioner's attorney submits a 
written statement that: 

 A) The Petitioner is not under medical care or undergoing 
physical or vocational rehabilitation; 

 B) The Petitioner has returned to gainful employment for 60 
days or more prior to the date of the settlement; and 

 C) The injury did not result in a disability listed in Attorney's 
Fees (50 Ill. Adm. Code 7080.10 (a)). 

 
 2) Settlement Contracts on cases originating in Cook County, 

which have not previously been assigned to an Arbitrator or 
Commission.  Settlement Contracts on cases originating outside 
of Cook County may be filed with the Arbitrator to whom the 
case is assigned or with the Commissioner who reviews cases 
from the territory in which the accident occurred.  Settlement 
Contracts on cases which have been previously assigned to a 
Commissioner for review, shall be assigned to said Arbitrator or 
Commissioner. 

 
 3) If a Petitioner is not represented by an attorney, a different 

assignment procedure may be established from time to time by 
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directive of the Commission for the benefit of such Petitioners.  
An attorney may file a motion requesting an immediate hearing 
on a settlement for good cause.  If the motion is granted, the 
settlement will be assigned in the same manner as settlements of 
non-represented Petitioners. 

 
d) Appearance of Petitioner 

If both parties are represented by an attorney, the Arbitrator or 
Commissioner to whom the Settlement Contract has been assigned 
may approve or reject the Settlement Contract solely on the basis of 
information in the Settlement and the medical and other reports 
required to be submitted pursuant to Subsection (B) of this Part. 
Prior to rejection of a Settlement Contract in such a case, the 
Arbitrator or Commissioner shall give the parties an opportunity to 
be heard. 

 
(Source: Amended at 5 Ill. Reg. 4580, effective April 13, 1981) 
 
Section 7070.20  Agreed Petitions for Lump Sum Settlement 
 
a) All of the requirements set forth in Section 7070.10 shall have equal 

applicability to agreed Petitions for Lump Sum Settlement. 
 

b) In all cases, but particularly those involving either minor Petitioners 
or minor beneficiaries, the Commission reserves the right to elicit 
evidence concerning the use to which the proceeds of the settlement 
are to be put pursuant to Section 9 of the Act. 

 
c) Where commutation is requested, the Commission reserves the sole 

right to compute the allowable commutation and enter the net 
amount ordered paid by the Respondent. 

 
(Source: Amended at 6 Ill. Reg. 8040, effective July 1, 1982) 
 
Section 7070.30  Contested Petitions for Lump Sum Settlement 
 
Contested Lump Sum Settlement Petitions shall be docketed and set for 
hearing in the same manner as Petitions for Review. 
 
Section 7070.40  Action by Commission 
 
a) Upon presentation of Settlement Contracts or Petitions for Lump 

Sum Settlement, the Commission shall, after hearing or otherwise, 
either "approve" or "reject" the Contract or Petition for Lump Sum 
Settlement.  If rejected, the Settlement Contract or the Petition for 
Lump Settlement shall remain in the Commission file to accompany 
the application filed, or any to be filed, for the accidental injuries 
alleged in the Contract or Petition, until the case is assigned to an 
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Arbitrator for hearing.  At that time the Rejected Settlement Contract 
shall be removed from the file and kept in a separate file until a final 
award has been entered by the Commission.  In no event shall that 
case be assigned to any Arbitrator who has previously rejected a 
Settlement Contract presented in that case. 

 
b) Where a Settlement Contract has been rejected by an Arbitrator and 

the venue of said case lies outside Cook County, it shall be the duty 
of the Arbitrator to return said file to the Industrial Commission, 
whose function it shall be to transfer the said case to a new 
Arbitrator in the nearest contiguous geographical territory, and the 
Industrial Commission shall notify all parties of the time, place and 
date pertinent thereto. 

 
c) Where a Settlement Contract has been rejected by an Arbitrator and 

the venue of said case lies in Cook County, it shall be the duty of the 
Arbitrator to notify the Industrial Commission, whose function it 
shall be to transfer said case to a new Arbitrator chosen randomly 
from all Arbitrators located in Cook County. 

 
(Source: Rule 7(4) (now Section 7070.40) renumbered from Rule 7(5) 
and amended at 6 Ill. Reg. 8040, effective July 1, 1982) 
 
PART 7080: ATTORNEY'S FEES 
 
Section 
7080.10  Petition For Fees  
7080.20  Payment of Proceeds of Litigation 
 
AUTHORITY: Implementing Section 19 and authorized by Section 16 of 
the Workers' Compensation Act (820 ILCS 305/19 and 16). 
 
SOURCE: Filed and effective March 1, 1977; amended at 6 Ill. Reg. 
8040, effective July 1, 1982; codified at 7 Ill. Reg. 2350. 
 
Section 7080.10  Petition For Fees 
 
a) 
 1) Whether a dispute has arisen between a Petitioner and his 

attorney or former attorney concerning the amount of payment 
of fees for services rendered or reimbursement of costs incurred 
in the prosecution of a claim, or a claim is made for fees in 
excess of the fees provided in Section 16(a) of the Workers' 
Compensation Act for extraordinary services, either the 
Petitioner or his attorney or former attorney may file with the 
Commission a Petition to Fix Fees which shall set forth the facts 
surrounding the dispute and the relief requested. 
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 2) On receipt of said Petition, the Commission shall set the matter 
down for hearing after giving at least ten (10) days notice to 
parties and all the attorneys for Petitioner.  After hearing, the 
Commission may enter an order dismissing the Petition or an 
award granting relief. 

 
b) The Commission may also enter an award setting partial attorney's 

fees for an attorney who has withdrawn based on the reasonable 
value of services rendered and the actual time expended. This award 
shall be taken into consideration in fixing the final attorney's fees in 
the matter so that in no event shall the total of all attorney's fees 
awarded to all attorneys exceed that allowable under Section 16(a) of 
the Workers' Compensation Act. 

 
(Source: Amended at 6 Ill. Reg. 8040, effective July 1, 1982) 
 
Section 7080.20  Payment of Proceeds of Litigation 
 
Unless otherwise directed by the petitioner or the Commission, the 
respondent, its agent or insurance carrier, shall deliver the first payment 
of accrued compensation following an award or settlement to the offices 
of the attorney of record for the petitioner.  Unless otherwise directed by 
the petitioner or the Commission, all subsequent payments of an award 
shall be delivered to the petitioner. 
 
PART 7090: DISCIPLINING OF ATTORNEYS; AGENTS 
 
Section 
7090.10  Disciplining of Attorneys: Procedure 
7090.20  Disciplining of Agents: Procedure  
 
AUTHORITY: Implementing Section 19 and authorized by Section 19 of 
the Workers' Compensation Act (820 ILCS 305/19 and 16). 
 
SOURCE: Filed and effective March 1, 1977; codified at 7 Ill. Reg. 
1243. 
 
Section 7090.10  Disciplining of Attorneys: Procedure 
 
a) Where a verified, written allegation of improper, unethical or 

contemptuous conduct is made against an attorney, relating to 
practice before the Commission, by a party to pending litigation or 
any officer of the Commission, the Commission may hold a hearing 
to determine the truth or falsity of the allegations. 

 
b) The attorney whose conduct is challenged shall be entitled to 

reasonable notice of the time and place of such hearing and the 
charges against him.  He shall have the right to be present at the 
hearing and to adduce any evidence in his defense.  He shall have the 
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right to cross-examine and the right to use of the subpoena power of 
the Commission.  A complete transcript shall be made of the 
hearing. 

 
c) If, at the conclusion of the hearing, the Commission finds that the 

attorney has acted improperly, unethically, or contemptuously, the 
Commission may take appropriate disciplinary action against the 
attorney, not inconsistent with the Illinois Supreme Court's 
jurisdiction over professional conduct of attorneys or the provisions 
of the Workers' Compensation Act.  Such appropriate action shall 
specifically include the filing of a complaint against the attorney by 
the Commission, together with the transcript of the hearing, with the 
appropriate agency designated by the Illinois Supreme Court. 

 
Section 7090.20  Disciplining of Agents: Procedure 
 
a)  Whenever the Commission finds that an insurer, self-insurer, claims 

service, other association, or their agents, is practicing a policy of 
unfairness toward the claimant in the handling and processing of 
claims under the Workers' Compensation or Occupational Diseases 
Acts, the Commission may issue a rule to show cause why such 
carrier or agent should not be suspended from writing insurance or 
processing workers' compensation claims within the state. 

 
b)  The recipient of such a part to show cause shall be entitled to be 

informed of the charges against it, and to have an evidentiary hearing 
on the merits of the charges.  The recipient shall have the right to be 
present, to call witnesses, and adduce other pertinent evidence. 

 
c) After a full hearing, the Commission may invoke appropriate 

sanctions against the recipient as authorized by statute, specifically 
including citation to the Attorney General for misdemeanor, or 
certification to the Director of Insurance for suspension of license. 

 
PART 7100: INSURANCE REGULATIONS 
 
Section 
7100.10 Insurance Forms 
7100.20 Employer Coverage:  Policy (Repealed)  
7100.30    Policy Information Page 
7100.40    Issuance of Binder Certificate (Repealed)  
7100.50    Termination of Insurance 
7100.70    Requirements For Approval as a Self-insurer 
7100.80    Self-insurers to File Statements and Reports 
7100.85    Administration of Claims Against Securities, Indemnity or 

Bonds of Self-insurers 
7100.90    Administration of Claims Against Group Self-insurer's 
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Insolvency Fund 
7100.95 Employers Liability Fund 
7100.100 Insurance Coverage: Compliance 
 
AUTHORITY: Implementing Section 4 of the Workers' Compensation 
Act [820 ILCS 305/4], Section 4 of the Workers' Occupational Diseases 
Act [820 ILCS 310/4] and authorized by Section 16 of the Workers' 
Compensation Act [820 ILCS 305/16] and Section 16 of the Workers' 
Occupational Diseases Act [820 ILCS 310/16]. 
 
SOURCE: Filed and effective March 1, 1977; amended at 5 Ill. Reg. 
8910, effective August 24, 1981; codified at 7 Ill. Reg. 2345; emergency 
amendment at 8 Ill. Reg. 15976, effective August 16, 1984, for a 
maximum of 150 days; amended at 9 Ill. Reg. 3705, effective March 12, 
1985; emergency amendment at 10 Ill. Reg. 6003, effective April 18, 
1986, for a maximum of 150 days; amended at 10 Ill. Reg. 15615, 
effective September 10, 1986; emergency amendment at 14 Ill. Reg. 
4920, effective March 9, 1990, for a maximum of 150 days; amended at 
14 Ill. Reg. 13149, effective August 1, 1990; amended at 15 Ill. Reg. 
16969, effective November 12, 1991; amended at 20 Ill. Reg. 3826, 
effective February 15, 1996. 
 
Section 7100.10  Insurance Forms 
 
Where the Commission or an agent designated by the Commission 
(herein referred to as the National Council on Compensation Insurance) 
has prescribed submission of a policy information page according to 
Section 7100.30, no other document will be accepted for filing with the 
Commission or the National Council on Compensation Insurance. 
 
(Source: Amended at 10 Ill. Reg. 15615, effective September 10, 1986) 
 
Section 7100.20  Employer Coverage: Policy (Repealed) 
 
(Source: Repealed at 10 Ill. Reg. 15615, effective September 10, 1986) 
 
Section 7100.30  Policy Information Page 
 
a) Every insurer, upon issuance of an insurance policy must within ten 

(10) days file a policy information page with the National Council 
on Compensation Insurance showing the location(s) and character of 
the business operation(s), the date effective, and the policy number.  
The Policy information page must be counter-signed by a duly 
authorized agent of the insurance company. 

 
b) A policy information page shall be required where a previous policy 

information page has been filed and the coverage has been extended, 
renewed or otherwise continued by the same insurance carrier. 
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(Source: Amended at 10 Ill. Reg. 15615, effective September 10, 1986) 
 
Section 7100.40  Issuance of Binder Certificate (Repealed) 
 
(Source: Repealed at 10 Ill. Reg. 15615, effective September 10, 1986) 
 
Section 7100.50  Termination of Insurance 
 
No termination notice of policy shall be accepted by the Commission or 
National Council on Compensation Insurance unless filed on a form 
prescribed and furnished by the Commission or National Council on 
Compensation Insurance. Such notice shall provide the following 
information: carrier name; National Council on Compensation Insurance 
carrier code; Insured's name and address; federal identification number; 
the number, effective date, and expiration date of the policy; reason for 
termination/cancellation; and reinstatement date, if applicable. 
 
(Source: Amended at 10 Ill. Reg. 15615, effective September 10, 1986) 
 
Section 7100.70  Requirements for Approval as a Self-insurer 
 
a) Application 
 1) Initial Application 
 A) Any private employer under the Workers' Compensation 

Act [820 ILCS 305] (the Act) and/or the Workers' 
Occupational Diseases Act [820 ILCS 310] who shall desire 
to be approved as a self-insurer shall file with the 
Commission an application for approval on a form 
prescribed by the Commission and a current financial 
statement.  A private employer does not include group self-
insured employers under Section 4(a) of the Workers' 
Compensation Act or Section 4(a) of the Workers' 
Occupational Diseases Act or the State of Illinois, any 
political subdivision of the state, unit of local government 
or school district, or any other public authorities or quasi-
governmental bodies including any subunits of the 
foregoing entities.  (Section 4a-2(c) of the Act) 

 B) The application and current financial statement shall be 
signed and sworn to by the president or vice-president and 
secretary or assistant secretary of the employer if it be a 
corporation, or by all of the partners, if it be copartnership, 
or by the owner if it be neither a copartnership nor a 
corporation.  (Section 4(a)(1) of the Act) 

 C) In the event the employer does not have a current audited 
financial statement, the employer must submit a current 
financial statement which has been prepared by an outside 
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accounting firm. 
 D) Each controlled employer or subsidiary requesting approval 

as a self-insurer shall provide the current financial 
statement of the parent corporation(s) or each of its 
controlling person(s) designated by the Commission. 

 i) A subsidiary means any entity in which another 
company, directly or indirectly, owns, controls or 
holds, with the power to vote a majority (more than 50 
percent) of the outstanding voting securities of the 
company. 

 ii) Controlled employer means a not-for-profit corporation 
with respect to which an individual or another entity 
has the right either to elect or appoint, directly or 
indirectly, a majority of the directors, trustees or other 
governing body of a not-for-profit corporation, or has 
the right to approve or disapprove, directly or 
indirectly, the persons appointed as a majority of the 
directors, trustees or other governing body of a not-for-
profit corporation. 

 iii) Controlling person means an individual or entity which 
has the right to elect or appoint, directly or indirectly, a 
majority of the directors, trustees or other governing 
body of a not-for-profit corporation; or has the right to 
approve or disapprove, directly or indirectly, the 
persons appointed as a majority of the directors, 
trustees or other governing body of a not-for-profit 
corporation. 

 E) All initial applications and financial statements shall be 
submitted at least 60 days prior to the requested effective 
date of self-insurance. (Section 4(a)(1) of the Act) 

 F) All initial applications must include evidence of current 
Workers' Compensation insurance coverage which shall be 
maintained until final approval as a self-insurer is granted. 

 G) Each private employer applying for self-insurance shall 
indicate how it will service its self-insurance program.  The 
employer shall provide adequate facilities for the 
investigation, administration and payment of claims or shall 
contract with a service company possessing such personnel 
and facilities to provide such services.  In determining 
whether facilities are adequate for the investigation, 
administration and payment of claims, the following shall 
be considered: 

 i) whether there is personnel experienced in the 
adjudication of workers' compensation claims; 

 ii) whether there is a reporting system for workers' 
compensation claims; 
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 iii) whether the reporting system is automated and the 
frequency of reports generated by the system; and 

 iv) the response system to claims filing. 
  If the employer has contracted with a service company for  
  the administration of claims, a copy of the contract shall be  
  submitted with the initial application. 

 
 2) Renewal Application 
 A) Each private self-insurer shall, upon notice from the 

Commission, file annually an application to continue the 
self-insurance privilege.  The renewal application shall be 
on a form prescribed by the Commission and shall be 
accompanied by a current financial statement as described 
in subsection (a)(1)(C). The renewal application and current 
financial statement shall be signed and sworn to in 
accordance with subsection (a)(1)(B) above. Each 
subsidiary or controlled employer requesting approval as a 
self-insurer shall provide the current financial statement of 
its parent corporation(s) or controlling person(s) designated 
by the Commission. 

 B) The self-insurer shall indicate any change in how it will 
service its self-insurance program.  If the employer has 
contracted with a service company for the administration of 
claims, a copy of the current contract shall be submitted 
with the renewal application. 

 
b) Application Fee 
 1) Each private employer applying for self-insurance and each 

private self-insurer applying for renewal (continuation) of the 
self-insurance privilege shall pay a non-refundable application 
fee of $500.00 which shall be deposited upon receipt by the 
Commission into the Self-insurers Administration Fund.  
(Section 4a-4(a) of the Act) 

 
 2) Where the applicant is a corporation, an application fee shall be 

required of each corporation and each and every corporate 
subsidiary.  (Section 4a-4(a) of the Act) Where the applicant is a 
not-for-profit corporation employer, an application fee shall be 
required for each and every controlling person and each and 
every employer applying for the self-insurance privilege or the 
renewal of the self-insurance privilege. 

 

 3) The application fee shall be paid by check or money order made 
payable to the Self-insurers Administration Fund. 

 

c) Review of Application 
 1) Within 45 days of receipt of an initial application or an 

application to renew the self-insurance privilege, the Self-
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insurer's Advisory Board (the Board) shall review or see to the 
review of the application and submit its recommendations for 
disposition to the chairman of the Commission (the Chairman). 
(Section 4(j) of the Act) 

 

 2) The review of the application shall include, but not be limited 
to, consideration of the earned points on the financial ratios set 
forth below: 

  A) Earned Points on Financial Ratios 
i) Current Assets to Current Liabilities 

2 : 1   = 6 points 
1.75 : 1   =  5 points 
1.6 : 1   =   4 points 
1.4 : 1   =   3 points 
1.25 : 1   =  2 points 
1.1 : 1   =   1 points 
1 : 1   =   0 points 

(A negative ratio, one in which current assets are less 
than current liabilities, may be considered a reason to 
reject a new application). 

 ii) Capital & Retained Earnings (Net of Treasury 
Stock) to Sales (Less Discounts) 
20%  = 6 points 
17.5%  = 5 points 
13.5%  = 4 points 
10%    =   3 points 
8.5%    =   2 points 
7%      =   1 points 
5%     =   0 points 

 
 iii) Capital & Retained Earnings to Long Term Debt 

2 : 1  =   6 points 
1.75 : 1  = 5 points 
1.6 : 1  =   4 points 
1.4 : 1   =   3 points 
1.25 : 1  = 2 points 
1.11 : 1 = 1 points 
1 : 1   =   0 points 

 
 B) An employer who earns a total of 18 points in the three 

financial ratios in subsections (c)(2)(A)(i-iii) above in each 
year of the most current three years' audited financial 
statements and has been self-insured for a minimum of 
three consecutive years shall be deemed to have satisfied 
the Commission of its financial strength to meet its workers' 
compensation obligations without the necessity of 
furnishing security, indemnity or bond or making some 
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other provision satisfactory to the Commission for securing 
its workers' compensation obligations pursuant to 
subsection (c)(3) below. 

 C) A total of 9 to 18 points earned in the three financial ratios 
in subsections (c)(2)(A)(i-iii) above shall create a rebuttable 
presumption that the employer's application should be 
approved conditional upon the furnishing of appropriate 
security or other means satisfactory to the Commission for 
securing its workers' compensation obligations pursuant to 
subsection (c)(3) below. 

 D) The Board may recommend for approval applicants who 
earn less than 9 points in the financial ratios of subsections 
(c)(2)(A)(i-iii) if the employer's application and financial 
statement, together with appropriate security or other means 
satisfactory to the Commission for securing its workers' 
compensation obligations pursuant to subsection (c)(3) 
below, demonstrate the ability of the employer to meet its 
obligations under the Workers' Compensation Act and 
Workers' Occupational Diseases Act. 

 
 3) Security 

Where an applicant is required to furnish security, indemnity or 
a bond or provide some other means satisfactory to the 
Commission to guarantee payment of its workers' compensation 
obligation, the furnishing of such security, indemnity or bond or 
other provision shall be a condition precedent to the approval of 
the initial or renewal application for self-insurance.   The 
Chairman may also require that the applicant further secure 
payment of liabilities under the Workers' Compensation Act and 
Workers' Occupational Diseases Act by obtaining a policy of 
excess liability or catastrophe insurance on such form as may be 
required by the Commission. 

 A) Security Determination 
 i) The amount of the security shall be based upon, but not 

be limited to, such criteria as the employer's financial 
strength, the amount of aggregate excess insurance, and 
demonstrated loss experience. 

 ii) An employer's financial strength shall be determined 
by applying the financial ratio summarization below.  
The financial ratio summarization is based upon the 
total number of earned points as calculated by applying 
the financial ratios in subsection (c)(2)(A).  A financial 
factor (percentage) is assigned to the financial ratio 
summarization.  The applicable financial factor is 
applied in determining the amount of security in 
subsections (c)(3)(B) and (C) below. 
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      Financial Ratio Summarization 
 

Financial Factor Earned Points 
16 - 18 points = 35% 
14 - 15 points = 40% 
12 - 13 points = 60% 
 9 - 11 points = 70% 

 B) Security/Loss Fund Determination 
 i) Where the employer submits audited financial 

statements, the security requirement shall be 
determined by using the highest amount of security 
obtained after applying the following formulas: 

 
  RESERVE FORMULA 
  Total outstanding loss reserves are multiplied by the 

applicable trending factor.  In the event that an 
employer's losses are affected by growth or size of the 
entity, the losses will be equalized.  The following 
formula is then applied:  

 
total outstanding loss reserves (loss fund) x applicable 
trending factor x applicable financial factor = security. 

 
  PAID LOSS FORMULA 
  Paid losses for up to each of the last 5 years are 

multiplied by the applicable trending  factors.  The 
total of paid losses is divided by the number of years 
used to obtain the average yearly paid loss.  However, 
in the event that an employer's losses are affected by 
growth or size of the entity, the losses will be 
equalized.  The following formula is then applied: 

 
average yearly paid loss (loss fund) x applicable 
trending factor x applicable financial factor = security.  

 
 ii) If the employer submits financial statements which are 

not audited, the security requirements shall be 
determined by using the highest amount of security 
obtained after applying the following formulas: 

 
RESERVE FORMULA 
total outstanding loss reserves (loss fund) x applicable 
trending factor x 125% = security. 

 
 PAID LOSS FORMULA 

Paid losses for up to each of the last 5 years are 
multiplied by the applicable trending factors.  The total 
of paid losses is divided by the number of years used to 
obtain the average yearly paid loss.  The following 
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formula is then applied: 
 

 average yearly paid loss (loss fund) x applicable  
 trending factor x 125% = security 

 
 iii) Where the employer has aggregate excess insurance 

coverage, security may be based on the aggregate 
excess loss fund x applicable financial factor 
(percentage) assigned to the financial ratio 
summarization in subsection (c)(3)(A)(ii).  If the 
employer submits financial statements which are not 
audited, the security shall be in an amount equal to the 
full aggregate excess loss fund multiplied by 125%. 

 iv) If the employer self-administers its workers' 
compensation claims program, or if the claims 
administration contract with an outside administrator 
does not include service of claims on an incurred basis, 
a factor of 120% is applied to the formulas used in 
subsections (c)(3)(B)(i), (ii) and iii above, to cover the 
contingent claims cost in the event of insolvency. 

 v) All trending factors used in this subsection are adopted 
by resolution of the Board and are available from the 
Board or the Commission upon request.  Trending 
factors are determined by reviewing the rates of 
inflation for self-insurance, including claim payments, 
both medical and indemnity, and costs of claim 
administration.  The trending factor shall be 
determined after consultation with a Fellow of the 
Casualty Actuarial Society. 

 C) The security requirement for self-insurers, who upon initial 
or renewal application, earn less than 9 points after 
applying the financial ratios in subsection (c)(2)(A), shall 
be determined as a percentage of the loss fund size as 
follows: 

 
Points   Loss Fund Percentage of 
Scored        Size Loss Fund 

 

6 - 8.9 0 - 250,000 130 
 250,001 - 500,000 120 
 500,001 - 1,000,000 110 
 1,000,001+ 100 
 
3 - 5.9 0 - 250,000 150 
*29068 250,001 - 500,000 130 
 500,001 - 1,000,000 120 
 1,000,001+ 110 
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0 - 2.9 0 - 250,000 200 
 250,001 - 500,000 175 
 500,001 - 1,000,000 150 
 1,000,001+ 130 

 
  If the percentage of loss fund referred to above is less than 

125% and the employer has submitted unaudited financial 
statements, the percentage of loss fund used will be 125%.  
In addition, if the employer self administers its workers' 
compensation claims program or if the claims 
administration contract with an outside administrator does 
not include service of claims on an incurred basis, a factor 
of 120% is applied to cover the contingent claims cost in 
the event of insolvency. 

 D) No surety bond may be terminated unless the Chairman has 
received written notice of such prospective termination at 
least 60 days prior to the termination date. 

 E) Deposits under escrow agreements shall be cash, negotiable 
United States government bonds or negotiable general 
obligation bonds of the State of Illinois.  Such cash or 
bonds shall be deposited in escrow with any State or 
national bank or trust company having trust authority in the 
State of Illinois. (Section 4(b) of the Act) All escrow 
agreements shall be on a form provided by the Commission.  
Securities used to fund an escrow account shall have at all 
times a market value at least equal to the security 
requirement determined by the Chairman. 

 F) Alternative and additional means satisfactory to the 
Commission for securing the payment of workers' 
compensation obligations include but shall not be limited to 
a letter of credit approved by the Chairman.  All letters of 
credit must be on a form prescribed by the Commission. 

 G) As an alternative to posting security, the Chairman will 
consider allowing an employer who qualifies for self 
insurance to provide an indemnification agreement which is 
unlimited in amount to the Self-insurers Security Fund for 
payments and expenses the fund incurs as a result of the 
failure of the employer to make workers' compensation 
payments as they become due under the Acts.  The 
indemnitor must be an insurance company, not related to or 
affiliated with the self-insured employer, that is authorized 
to do business in this State.  The Chairman reserves the 
right to make a determination as to the acceptability of the 
indemnitor and the content of the agreement. 
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 4) Guarantee Agreement 
A subsidiary or a controlled employer shall obtain a guarantee 
agreement executed by the parent company or controlling 
person(s) designated by the Commission.  Pursuant to said 
agreement, the parent company or the controlling person(s) shall 
guarantee that the obligations of the subsidiary or the controlled 
employer under the Workers' Compensation Act and the 
Workers' Occupational Diseases Act shall be paid.  The 
guarantee agreement shall be submitted on a form prescribed by 
the Commission.  Whenever a guarantor under such an 
agreement ceases to be a parent company, or controlling 
person(s) with respect to the subsidiary or controlled employer 
whose obligations it has guaranteed, the former parent company 
and subsidiary or controlling person(s) and controlled employer 
shall notify the Commission immediately.  Notwithstanding any 
other provisions of this rule, if the Board determines that a 
controlled person or subsidiary is controlled by an alien 
controlling person or parent company or is a utility, the 
Chairman may, in his or her discretion, waive the requirement 
that the controlled employer or subsidiary provide a guarantee 
agreement; provided, that the controlled employer or subsidiary 
or utility shall furnish to the Commission security in an amount 
to be determined by the same methods used when an unaudited 
financial statement has been provided pursuant to subsection 
(c)(3)(B)(ii). "Alien controlling person or parent company" 
means a controlling person or parent company created or 
organized under the laws of a jurisdiction other than the United 
States of America or any political subdivision thereof. 

 
d) Decision 
 

Within 45 days after receipt of an initial application or application to 
renew (continue) the self-insurance privilege, the Board shall advise 
the Chairman of its recommendations regarding the disposition of 
that initial or renewal application.  If the Chairman disagrees with 
any of the Board's recommendations, the Chairman shall, within 30 
days after receipt of the Board's recommendations, notify the Board 
of the reasons in support of the decision.  The Chairman shall also 
promptly notify the employer of the decision within 15 days after 
receipt of the recommendation of the Board. (Section 4(j) of the Act) 

 
 1) Approval 
 A) The Chairman shall notify the applicant in writing that it 

has been approved as a self-insurer.  Approval may be 
conditioned upon the furnishing of appropriate and 
adequate security.  The notice shall set forth the 
requirements to be met, including, but not limited to, the 
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furnishing of security and the basis therefor, obtaining 
appropriate excess liability or catastrophe insurance, and 
submission of an appropriate claims administration and loss 
control program. 

 B) Within 60 days after receipt of the notice described in 
subsection (d)(1)(A), the conditionally approved employer 
shall comply with all of the requirements of conditional 
approval as stated in the notice.  The Chairman shall then 
issue a certificate of approval as a self-insurer.  The 
effective date of self-insurance shall be set forth in the 
certificate of approval. 

 C) Failure of the conditionally approved employer to comply 
with all requirements of conditional approval within 60 
days after receipt of the notice in subsection (d)(1)(A) or to 
file a request for reconsideration pursuant to subsection (f) 
below shall cause the Chairman to issue an order denying 
the request for approval as a self-insurer.  Such order shall 
be subject to review pursuant to subsection (h) below.  
Nothing herein shall bar the employer from reapplying for 
approval as a self-insurer. 

 
 2) Denial 
 A) The Chairman shall notify the employer in writing that the 

employer's initial or renewal application and financial 
statement do not warrant approval of the self-insurance 
privilege.  The notice shall set forth the reasons why the 
employer's application for approval as a self-insurer should 
be denied. 

 B) Failure of the employer to file a request for reconsideration 
pursuant to subsection (f) below shall cause the Chairman 
to issue an order denying the request for approval as a self-
insurer.  Such order shall be subject to review pursuant to 
subsection (h) below. 

 C) When the Chairman denies an application for renewal of 
the self-insurance privilege, nothing herein shall bar an 
employer from reapplying for approval as a self-insurer.  
Such re-application shall be considered an initial 
application and must qualify under subsection (c)(2). 

 
e) Additional Information 
 1) The Chairman may at any time, on his own initiative or at the 

request of the Board, require a self-insurer to file additional 
information related to the self insurers' ability to adequately 
secure payment of its financial obligations under the Workers' 
Compensation Act and Workers' Occupational Diseases Act.  
Such information shall include, but not be limited to, 
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information related to the employer's financial condition, the 
employer's ability to provide an adequate claims administration, 
loss control, or safety program, and to provide adequate excess 
insurance coverage. 

 
 2) Upon review of the additional information, if the Chairman 

finds, after consultation with the Board, that the security 
furnished by the self-insurer should be adjusted or that the self-
insurance privilege should be terminated, the Chairman shall 
notify the employer of any change in the security  requirement 
or of his intent to terminate the self-insurance privilege and the 
reasons therefor.  The notice shall set forth a time and place of 
hearing on the matter, within 30 days after the date of the notice. 
The Chairman shall notify the employer of the decision in 
writing after the hearing date.  Such decisions shall be subject to 
review pursuant to subsection (h) below. 

 3) Failure of a self-insurer to comply with a request for additional 
information, without good cause, may cause the Chairman to 
initiate proceedings to terminate the self-insurance privilege. 

 
f) Petition for Reconsideration 
 1) Within 21 days after receipt of a notice of conditional approval 

or a notice that the employer's initial or renewal application does 
not warrant approval of the self-insurance privilege, the 
employer may file a petition for reconsideration of the 
Chairman's determination. 

 
 2) The petition for reconsideration shall be made in writing and 

must state the reasons why the Chairman should reconsider the 
decision. 

 
 3) The petition shall be accompanied by any documents which 

support the employer's position, and, if applicable, any 
information not previously considered.  Such information may 
include, but is not limited to, evidence of an improving financial 
condition which was not available to the Board when the 
application was reviewed. 

 
 4) Request for Hearing 
 A) The employer may request a hearing on the petition for 

reconsideration. The request for hearing must be filed with 
the request for reconsideration. 

 B) Upon the filing of a timely petition for reconsideration and 
request for hearing as defined in subsection (f)(1) above, 
the Chairman shall issue a notice which sets forth a place 
and time of hearing within 30 days after the date of the 
notice. 
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 C) Hearings on the petition for reconsideration shall be 
conducted in accordance with subsection (g) below. 

 D) In the absence of a request for hearing, the Chairman may 
consider all matters at issue from the petition for 
reconsideration and accompanying documentation. 

 
 5) The Chairman shall issue an order notifying the employer of his 

final decision and the reasons therefor.  Such order shall be 
subject to review pursuant to subsection (h) below. 

 
g) Conduct of Hearings 
 1) All hearings under this Section shall be conducted by the 

Chairman or Commissioner designated by the Chairman. 
 
 2) All hearings shall be conducted in accordance with the 

requirements of Article 10 of the Administrative Procedure Act 
[5 ILCS 100/Art. 10]. 

 
 3) At the hearing, the employer shall have the right to respond and 

to call witnesses, cross-examine witnesses and present evidence. 
 
 4) The Commission, or any member thereof, shall have the power 

to administer oaths, to subpoena and examine witnesses and 
issue subpoena duces tecum requiring the production of such 
books, papers, records or documents as may be evidence to 
determine the issues of denial or termination of the self-
insurance privilege or adjustment of the security.  [820 ILCS 
305/16] 

 
 5) The Illinois common law rules of evidence and Article VIII of 

the Code of Civil Procedure [35 ILCS 5/Art. VIII] shall apply at 
the hearing. 

 
h) Appeal 

All orders made by the Chairman under Section 4(j) of the Act shall 
be subject to review in the same manner and within the same time as 
provided by subsection (f) of Section 19 of the Act for review of 
awards and decisions of the Commission. (Section 4(j) of the Act) 
 

(Source: Amended at 20 Ill. Reg. 3826, effective February 15, 1996) 
 
Section 7100.80  Self-Insurers to File Statements and Reports 
 
All employers who are or hereafter become self-insurers in compliance 
with these rules, and the requirements of the Workers' Compensation Act 
and/or Workers' Occupational Disease Act shall file such statements and 
reports and give such information as the Industrial Commission may 
from time to time require and demand or deem necessary to satisfy the 
Commission as to the securing of the payment of compensation provided 
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for in the Acts. 
 
Section 7100.85  Administration of Claims Against Securities, 
Indemnity or Bonds of  Self-Insurers 
 
a) Determination of Self-insurer's Insolvent Condition 
 
 Whenever: 
 
 1) Any self-insured employer who is unable to pay compensation 

under the Workers' Compensation Act (Ill. Rev. Stat. ch. 48, 
pars. 138.7(f), 8 (a), 8(b), 8(c), 8(d)1, 8(d)2, 8(e), 8(f), 19(b) and 
19(h) and Workers' Occupational Diseases Act, (Ill. Rev. Stat. 
1983, ch. 48, pars. 172.42(7), 172.7(a)-(f) has filed a written 
notice of such inability with the Industrial Commission; or 

 
 2) Any person who has filed an Application for Adjustment of 

claim against a self-insured employer gives written notice to the 
Industrial Commission which the Commission determines has 
raised a question with respect to that employer's ability to pay 
compensation under the Workers' Compensation Act and 
Workers' Occupational Diseases Act; or 

 
 3) It is established that a court of competent jurisdiction has 

determined or is conducting proceedings to determine that a 
self-insured employer is unable to pay compensation under the 
Workers' Compensation Act and Workers' Occupational 
Diseases Act; or 

 
 4) Any self-insurer has filed for or is the subject of any proceeding 

under the federal Bankruptcy Reform act of 1978; or is a party 
whether plaintiff of defendant in any proceeding in which a 
receiver, liquidator, custodian, rehabilitator, sequestrator or 
trustee or similar officer for such self-insurer or its property has 
been appointed; 

 
b) The Industrial Commission on its own motion or on the motion of 

any other party shall hold a hearing to determine the ability of the 
self-insurer to pay compensation under the Act of the existence and 
status of any proceeding or proceedings referenced above.  The 
Commission or any member thereof shall have the power to 
administer oaths, to subpoena and examine witnesses, and to issue 
subpoena duces tecum requiring the production of such books, 
papers, records, or documents as may be evidence to determine such 
issues. (Ill. Rev. Stat. 1983, ch. 48, par. 138.16). 

 
c) Duty to Notify 

A self-insured employer which is claiming it is unable to pay 
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compensation under the Workers' Compensation Act and Workers' 
Occupational Diseases Act, which is a party to a bankruptcy 
proceeding described in subparagraph (a)(4) above, or which is the 
subject of an order set forth in subparagraph (a)(3) or (4) above, 
shall file written notice of such fact with the Industrial Commission 
within 10 days of the occurrence of such event. 

 
d) Stay 

Upon notification of any of the events in 50 Ill. Adm. Code 
7100.85(a)(1)(4) the Industrial Commission shall on its own motion 
stay all proceedings before the Industrial Commission involving said 
self-insured employer for no less than 60 days. 

 
e) Transfer of Securities, Indemnity of Bond to the Commission 
 1) The Industrial Commission will issue notification within 20 

days after a hearing that the self-insured employer is unable to 
pay compensation due under the Workers' Compensation Act 
and Workers' Occupational Diseases Act, or has filed for or is 
the subject of any bankruptcy proceeding set forth in 
subparagraph (a)(4) above, or is the subject of an order under 
subparagraph (a)(3) or (4) above, any holder of any securities, 
indemnity or bonds furnished by such employer guaranteeing 
the payment of compensation under the Workers' Compensation 
Act and Workers' Occupational Diseases Act, shall notify the 
Industrial Commission in writing whether or not it is willing to 
and able to administer such funds.  Unless the holder has 
provided written notification to the Commission within such 20 
days period that it is able and willing to administer the funds, 
such holder shall immediately deliver all such securities, 
indemnity or bonds to the Industrial Commission; otherwise the 
Industrial Commission shall order such delivery; or refer the 
matter to the Attorney General's Office for litigation to collect 
or recover all such securities, indemnity or bonds. 

 
 2) Upon receipt of the securities, indemnity or bonds the 

Commission shall deposit the proceeds of the said securities, 
indemnity or bonds with any state or national bank or trust 
company having trust authority in the State of Illinois which has 
been ranked in the upper 10% in the Annual Report submitted 
by the State of Illinois Commissioner of Banks and Trust 
Companies and which has the lowest fees for administration of 
escrow funds.  Deposits in said bank or trust company shall be 
in the form of negotiable United States government bonds of 
negotiable general obligation bonds of the State of Illinois.  The 
said bank or trust company shall administer the funds and upon 
the order of the Commission shall distribute the funds.  The 
administration fees for said bank or trust company shall be 
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payable only from the interest accrued on said proceeds from 
time of deposit. 

 
f) Filing Periods for Claims Against Securities, Indemnity or bonds 
 
 1) If the bankruptcy proceedings set forth in subparagraph (a)(4) 

above have been commenced or the order under subparagraph 
(a)(3) or (4) above has been entered prior to September 17, 
1984, any claim against the securities, indemnity or bonds with 
respect to a case for which an Application for Adjustment of 
Claim not already been filed pursuant to 50 Ill. Adm. Code  
7020.20 must be filed on or before September 17, 1984. 

 
 2) If the bankruptcy proceedings set forth in subparagraph (a)(4) 

above have been commenced or the order under subparagraph 
(a)(3) or (4) above has been entered on or after September 17, 
1984, any claim with respect to a case for which an Application 
for Adjustment of Claim has not already been filed pursuant to 
50 Ill. Adm. Code 7020.20 must be filed on or before 12 months 
after the date of the commencement of such proceedings or the 
entry of such order. 

 
g) Distribution of Securities, Indemnity or Bonds 
 1) Upon determination by the Commission of the extent of the 

Self-insured's Liability under the Act in all cases for which 
Applications for Adjustment of Claims or settlement contract 
petitions have been filed or for which claims are pending against 
the securities, indemnity or bonds, the Commission shall hold a 
hearing to determine the proceeds of the securities, indemnity or 
bonds.  Notice of this hearing will be by mail at least 15 
business days prior to the hearing and shall be given to all 
parties including the holders of the securities, indemnity or 
bonds. 

 
 2) If, after a hearing pursuant to paragraph (1) above, the 

Commission has determined that the proceeds of the securities, 
indemnity or bonds are sufficient to pay all claim against such 
assets in full, it shall order the holder or the depositary bank or 
trust company to make payment to the parties entitled thereto 
who have perfected claims against such assets, in accordance 
with the terms of awards or settlements which the Commission 
has entered or approved. 

 
 3) If the Commission determines that the proceeds of securities, 

indemnity or bonds are not sufficient to pay all claims in full, 
then such claims which are for compensation for death and for 
temporary and total permanent disability and claims for medical 
expenses shall, as a class, be payable prior to payment of any 
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other claims, and if the proceeds of securities, indemnity or 
bonds are not sufficient to pay all claims within said class in 
full, then payment of such claims will be pro rated on the basis 
of the amount of each claim in proportion to the amount of the 
securities, indemnity and bonds available for distribution. 

 
 4) After all claims within the class have been paid in full, if any 

amount from the proceeds of securities, indemnity or bonds 
remains for distribution, then payments of all other claims will 
be pro rated on the basis of the amount of each such claim in 
proportion to the amount of the remainder of the securities, 
indemnity or bonds. 

 
 5) If after all such claims are paid in full there exists any surplus 

securities, indemnity or bond amounts, the Commission shall 
order said amounts returned to the employer, bond company, or 
other party with legal right to such monies. 

 
(Source: Added at 9 Ill. Reg. 3705, effective March 12, 1985) 
 
Section 7100.90  Administration of Claims Against Group Self-
insurer's Insolvency Fund 
 
Upon the written notification of any party in interest or on its own 
motion, the Commission shall hold a hearing or hearings to determine 
whether the following events have occurred: 
 
a) the Director of Insurance has determined that compensation and 

medical services provided under the Workers' Compensation Act 
and Workers' Occupational Act may be unpaid by reason of the 
default of an insolvent group self-insurer;  (Ill. Rev. Stat. 1983, ch. 
48, pars. 138.4(a)(6)). 

 
b) the penal sum of the surety bond, indemnity or securities, if any, has 

been exhausted; 
 
c) the assessment of individual employer member of the group self-

insurer in default has been exhausted; and if so, amounts of 
compensation and medical services which remains unpaid from time 
to time to persons who have filed Application for Adjustment of 
Claims pursuant to 50 Ill. Adm. Code 7020.20 and settlements 
against the insolvent group self-insurer.  Upon the determination by 
the Commission of the extent of the insolvent group self-insurer's 
outstanding liability under the Workers' Compensation Act and 
Workers' Occupational Diseases Act the Commission shall order the 
necessary payments be made from the Group Self-insurer's 
Insolvency Fund. 
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(Source: Added at 9 Ill. Reg. 3705, effective March 12, 1985) 
 
Section 7100.95  Administration of Claims Against the Self-insured 
Employers Liability Fund 
 
a) Upon the determination of any party in interest or on its own motion, 

the Commission shall hold a hearing or hearings to determine 
whether the following events have occurred: 

 
 1) the Commission pursuant to 50 Ill. Adm. Code 7100.85(a)(1)-

(4) has held a hearing and has determined that the self insured 
employer is unable to pay compensation and medical expenses 
provided under the Workers' Compensation Act; 

 
 2) penal sum of the surety bond, indemnity or securities have been 

exhausted; 
 
 3) judgment have been rendered against the self-insured employer 

in accordance with Section 19(g) on or after the effective date of 
this Section, December 16, 1983; 

 
 4) execution has been levied against the self-insured employer and 

has been returned unsatisfied in whole or in part; and if so, the 
amounts of compensation and medical expenses which remain 
unpaid from time to time to persons who have filed unsatisfied 
judgments against the insolvent self-insured employer. Upon the 
determination by the Commission of the extent of the insolvent 
self-insured employer's outstanding liability, the Commission 
shall issue an initial order of assessment within 30 days against 
each employer who has been granted authority to self insure 
under section 4(a) of the Workers' Compensation Act which will 
be paid into the Self-insured Employers Liability Fund.  The 
order shall provide for a sum sufficient to secure estimated 
payments of compensation, medical expenses and administrative 
charges of the fund for a period of one year following the date 
of the order, and 

 
b) When it is determined by the Commission that compensation due 

and owing will extend beyond one year the Commission shall issue 
an order for further assessment of each self-insured employer 
payable within 30 days in order to secure payment of compensation, 
medical expenses and administrative charges from the Self-insured 
Employers Liability Fund. 

 
(Source: Added at 9 Ill. Reg. 3705, effective March 12, 1985) 
 
Section 7100.100  Insurance Coverage: Compliance 
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a) Employers to Insure Payment of Compensation 
Any employer who shall come within the provisions of Section 3 of 
the Workers' Compensation Act (the Act) (Ill. Rev. Stat. 1989, ch. 
48, par. 138.3) or any employer who shall elect to provide and pay 
the compensation provided for in the Workers' Compensation Act 
and the Workers' Occupational Diseases Act (Ill. Rev. Stat. 1989, ch. 
48, par. 172.36 et seq.) shall insure payment of such compensation 
pursuant to Section 4(a) of the Act and Section 4(a) of the Workers' 
Occupational Diseases Act by obtaining approval by the Industrial 
Commission to operate as a self-insurer or by insuring its entire 
liability to pay such compensation in some insurance carrier 
authorized, licensed, or permitted to do such insurance business in 
Illinois. 

 
b) Failure to Insure Payment of Compensation Liability—Penalty 
 
 1) The Commission may assess a civil penalty of up to five 

hundred dollars ($500.00) per day for each day of: 
 A) the knowing and wilful failure or refusal after December 

18, 1989 of an employer to comply with any of the 
provisions of Section 4(a) of the act; or 

 B) failure or refusal after December 18, 1989 of an employer, 
service or adjustment company, or an insurance carrier to 
comply with any order of the Industrial Commission 
pursuant to Section 4(c) of the Act and Section 4(c) of the 
Workers' Occupational Disease Act disqualifying it to 
operate as a self-insurer and requiring it to insure its 
liability with an insurance carrier.  (Ill. Rev. Stat. 1989, ch. 
48, pars. 138.4(d) and 172.39(d).) 

 
 2) Penalties by the Commission may be assessed after reasonable 

notice and hearing in accordance with subsection (d). 
 
c) Notice of Non-Compliance 
 
 1) The Industrial Commission shall give Notice of Non-

compliance to the employer at the employer's last known 
address or to the representative thereof.  The notice shall be 
accompanied by a certificate of service by the Industrial 
Commission on the employer setting forth the time and manner 
of service. 

 
 2) The Notice of Non-compliance shall be a written statement 

setting forth, but not limited to, the following information: 
 A) the name and address of the employer; 
 B) a statement of the section of the statute alleged to be 

violated, the periods of non-compliance and the penalty 
which may be imposed; 
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 C) a statement that the employer must submit evidence of 
compliance or otherwise respond within thirty (30) days of 
the date of receipt of the notice.  Examples of evidence of 
compliance are:   

 i) a copy of the policy information page as required to be 
filed under Section 7100.30 which indicates coverage 
for the periods of alleged non-compliance; 

 ii) a self-insurance certificate of approval covering the 
periods of alleged  non-compliance. 

 D) a statement that failure to respond to the Notice of Non-
compliance within the prescribed time period shall cause 
the Commission to set this matter for hearing in accordance 
with subsection (d). 

 
 3) Informal Conference 
 A) When a Notice of Non-compliance has been sent, the 

Commission shall, at the request of the employer or its 
attorney, or may on its own initiative, schedule the matter 
for an informal conference at which a designated 
representative of  the Commission shall meet with the 
employer in an attempt to resolve the matter. 

 B) A request by the employer or its attorney for an informal 
conference must be received by the Commission within 
fifteen (15) days of the receipt of the Notice of Non-
compliance. 

 C) The Commission shall send written notice to the employer 
or its attorney at least seven (7) days prior to the scheduled 
conference. 

 D) The conference shall be held at a site designated by the 
Commission. 

 E) If the matter cannot be resolved at the conference, the 
Commission shall set the matter for hearing in accordance 
with subsection (d). 

 
d) Hearings 
 
 1) Notice of Hearing; Locations 
 A) A matter under this Section is commenced by the Industrial 

Commission by service of a Notice of Hearing upon the 
employer at least thirty (30) days prior to the time fixed for 
hearing.  Service of the Notice shall be by United States 
registered or certified mail addressed to the employer at the 
last known address or to the representative thereof. 

 B) the Notice of Hearing shall be a written statement setting 
forth, but not limited to, the following information: 

 i) the name and address of the employer; 
 ii) the time, date and place of hearing; 
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 iii) the name of the Commissioner; 
 iv) a statement of the section of the statute alleged to be 

violated, periods of non-compliance and the penalty 
which may be imposed; and 

 v) a statement that failure to appear at the hearing where 
no continuance has been obtained prior to the hearing 
shall constitute a default and shall result  in a finding 
that there has been a knowing and wilful failure of the 
employer to insure his liability to pay compensation in 
accordance with Section 4(a) of the Act or to comply 
with an order of the Commission under Section 4(c) 
and an assessment of penalties under Section 4(d) of 
the Act. 

 C) The hearing shall be set at a site designated by the assigned 
Commissioner.  

 
 2) Assignment 
 A) In all cases where the employer is principally located in 

Cook County, a matter to be scheduled for hearing under 
this Section shall be randomly assigned to a Commissioner. 

 B) In all other cases, a matter to be scheduled for hearing 
under this Section shall be assigned to the Commissioner 
who serves that territory within which the employer is 
principally located. 

 
 3) Conduct of Hearings 
 A) At the hearing a representative of the Commission shall 

have the opportunity to introduce evidence, to call and 
examine witnesses and to cross examine witnesses.  The 
employer or its attorney shall be given the opportunity to 
show that there has been compliance with Section 4(a) or an 
order of the Commission under Section 4(c) or show cause 
why compliance has not been accomplished.  The employer 
or its attorney shall have the opportunity to introduce 
evidence, to call and examine witnesses, and to cross-
examine witnesses.  The representative of the Commission 
shall have the right of rebuttal. 

 B) The Commission or any member thereof shall have the 
power to administer oaths, to subpoena and examine 
witnesses, and to issue subpoena duces tecum requiring the 
production of such books, papers, records or documents as 
may be evidence to determine the issue of non-compliance. 
(Section 16 of the Act.) 

 C) The Illinois common law rules of evidence and Article VIII 
of the Code of Civil Procedure (Ill. Rev. Stat., 1989, ch. 
110, par. 8-101 et seq.) shall apply except to the extent they 
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conflict with the Workers' Compensation Act, the Workers' 
Occupational Diseases Act, or the Rules Governing Practice 
Before the Industrial Commission (50 Ill. Adm. Code: 
Chapter II). 

 D) A certification from an employee of the National Council 
on Compensation Insurance stating that no policy 
information page has been filed in accordance with Section 
7100.30 shall be deemed prima facie evidence of that fact. 

 E) A certification from an employee of the Commission stating 
that an employer has not been approved as a self-insurer 
shall be deemed prima facie evidence of that fact. 

 
e) Decision 
 

The Commission, after the hearing is concluded, shall issue a 
decision which shall include: 

 
 1) the findings of the Commission; 
 
 2) where applicable, the dates of failure to insure and the amount 

of penalty assessed for each day; 
 
 3) the payment procedures as provided in subsection (f); and 
 
 4) a statement of the conditions for a judicial review of the 

Commission's decision in accordance with the requirements of 
50 Ill. Adm. Code 7060. 

 
f) Payment Procedures 
 
 Where the Commission assesses a penalty against an employer in 

accordance with Section 4(d) of the Workers' Compensation Act or 
Workers' Occupational Diseases Act, payment shall be made 
according to the following procedure: 

 
 1) payment of the penalty shall be made by certified check or 

money order made payable to the State of Illinois; 
 
 2) payment shall be mailed or presented within thirty (30) days of 

the final order of the Commission or the order of the court on 
review after final adjudication to: 

 
Illinois Industrial Commission Fiscal Office 
100 West Randolph Street Suite 8-328 
Chicago, Illinois 60601 
312/814-6625 

 
(Source: Added at 14 Ill. Reg. 13149, effective August 1, 1990) 
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PART 7110: MISCELLANEOUS 
 
Section 
7110.5 Definitions 
7110.10 Vocational rehabilitation 
7110.20 Petitions under  Sections19(h), 8(a), and 7(a) of the Act 
7110.30 Commission meetings:  minutes 
7110.40 Petition to suspend compensation for failure to submit to 

proper medical treatment 
7110.50 Petitions under Section 19(o) of the Act 
7110.60 Distribution of Commission handbook 
7110.70 Explanation of basis of non-payment, termination or 

suspension of temporary total  
 compensation or denial of liability or further responsibility for 

medical care 
7110.80 Rate Adjustment Fund and Second Injury Fund contributions:  

compliance 
7110.90 Illinois Workers’ Compensation Commission medical fee 

schedule 
 
AUTHORITY: Implementing and authorized by the Workers' 
Compensation Act (820 ILCS 305). 
 
SOURCE:  Filed and effective March 1, 1977; amended at 5 Ill. Reg. 
5533, effective May 12, 1981; amended at 6 Ill. Reg. 8040, effective July 
1, 1982; codified at 7 Ill. Reg. 2352; emergency amendment at 14 Ill. 
Reg. 4929, effective March 9, 1990, for a maximum of 150 days; 
amended at 14 Ill. Reg. 13161, effective August 1, 1990; emergency 
amendment at 30 Ill. Reg. 1912, effective February 1, 2006, for a 
maximum of 150 days; amended at 30 Ill. Reg. 11743, effective June 22, 
2006; amended at 33 Ill. Reg. 2850, effective February 1, 2009; 
emergency amendment at 34 Ill. Reg. 10222, effective July 6, 2010, for a 
maximum of 150 days; emergency rule repealed by emergency 
amendment at 34 Ill. Reg. 17471, effective October 28, 2010, for the 
remainder of the 150 days; amended at 36 Ill. Reg. 16349, effective 
November 5, 2012. 
 
Section 7110.5  Definitions   
 
"Act" means the Illinois Workers' Compensation Act [820 ILCS 305].   
 
"Arbitrator" is an employee appointed pursuant to Section 14 of the Act.   
 
"Commission" means the Illinois Workers' Compensation Commission.   
 
"Commissioner" means one of the 10 persons appointed by the Governor 
pursuant to Section 13 of the Act.   
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"Handbook" means the handbook describing the rights and obligations of 
employers and employees under the Act that is published by the 
Commission pursuant to Section 15a of the Act.  
 
(Source:  Amended at 30 Ill. Reg. 11743, effective June 22, 2006)  
 
Section 7110.10  Vocational Rehabilitation 
 
a) The employer or his representative, in consultation with the injured 

employee and, if represented, with his or her representative, shall 
prepare a written assessment of the course of medical care, and, if 
appropriate, rehabilitation required to return the injured worker to 
employment when it can be reasonably determined that the injured 
worker will, as a result of the injury, be unable to resume the regular 
duties in which engaged at the time of injury, or when the period of 
total incapacity for work exceeds 120 continuous days, whichever 
first occurs. 

 
b) The assessment shall address the necessity for a plan or program 

which may include medical and vocational evaluation, modified or 
limited duty, and/or retraining, as necessary. 

 
c) At least every 4 months thereafter, provided the injured employee 

was and has remained totally incapacitated for work, or until the 
matter is terminated by order or award of the Commission or by 
written agreement of the parties approved by the Commission, the 
employer or his or her representative in consultation with the 
employee, and if represented, with his or her representative shall: 

 
 1) if the most recent previous assessment concluded that no plan or 

program was then necessary, prepare a written review of the 
continued appropriateness of that conclusion; or 

 
 2) if a plan or program had been developed, prepare a written 

review of the continued appropriateness of that plan or program, 
and make in writing any necessary modifications. 

 
d) A copy of each written assessment, plan or program, review and 

modification shall be provided to the employee and/or his or her 
representative at the time of preparation, and an additional copy shall 
be retained in the file of the employer and, if insured, in the file of 
the insurance carrier, to be made available for review by the 
Commission on its request until the matter is terminated by order or 
award of the Commission or by written agreement of the parties 
approved by the Commission. 

 
e) The rehabilitation plan shall be prepared on a form furnished by the 

Commission. 
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(Source:  Amended at 30 Ill. Reg. 11743, effective June 22, 2006)  
 
Section 7110.20  Petitions under Sections 19(h), 8(a), and 7(a) of the 
Act 
 
Petitions filed under Section 19(h) of the Act, alleging change in 
disability, or Section 8(a), asking reimbursement of medical expenses, or 
Section 7(a), seeking modification of a death award, shall be docketed 
and assigned for hearing in the same manner as a petition for review, 
except that where practical the cause shall be assigned to the original 
hearing commissioner. 
 
Section 7110.30  Commission Meetings: Minutes 
 
The Commission shall keep a record of the minutes of all its duly 
convened meetings, exclusive of deliberations on cases pending before 
the Commission.  The minutes shall be open to the public for inspection. 
 
(Source:  Amended at 30 Ill. Reg. 11743, effective June 22, 2006)  
 
Section 7110.40  Petition to Suspend Compensation for Failure to 
Submit to Proper Medical Treatment 
 
Petitions to suspend compensation, as provided in Section 19(d) of the 
Act, shall be docketed and set for hearing as soon as possible, except 
that, if an emergency is alleged in the petition, it shall immediately be set 
for hearing.  All petitions shall give the nature of the injury and the 
treatment required.  Reasonable notice of the time and place of hearing 
shall be served upon the injured party either personally or by registered 
mail. 
 
(Source:  Amended at 30 Ill. Reg. 11743, effective June 22, 2006)  
 
Section 7110.50  Petitions under Section 19(o) of the Act 
 
a) A petition filed under Section 19(o) of the Act alleging that the 

insurer made payments in a case that was not compensable shall 
provide the following information: 

 
 1) name and address of the employer; 
 
 2) name and address of the employee; 
 
 3) name and address of the insurance carrier; 
 
 4) date of the alleged accident giving rise to the petition; 
 
 5) benefits paid by the insurance carrier and the dates of the 

payment; 
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 6) whether Application for Adjustment of Claim was filed with the 

Commission and the Commission number assigned to the 
application; 

 
 7) a brief statement of the basis for the insured's claim that the case 

was not compensable. 
 
b) Consideration of a Section 19(o) Petition 
 
 1) The Commission, on receipt of the 19-o petition, shall docket 

the petition and forward a copy of the petition to the insurance 
carrier and the attorney of record, together with notice of a 
hearing date not less than 30 days nor more than 60 days from 
the date the petition is filed.  

 
 2) The insurance carrier may answer the 19-o petition by filing 

with the Commission and serving the employer with a copy of 
its answer within 30 days after receipt of the petition.  The 
answer shall bear the same heading as the 19-o petition and shall 
respond to the allegations on a paragraph-by-paragraph basis. 

 
 3) The 19-o matter shall, on the hearing date, be assigned to an 

Arbitrator in the same manner as an arbitrated case.  The 
Arbitrator shall then hold an informal hearing with the employer 
and the insurance company in an attempt to resolve the dispute 
or narrow the issues.  If the dispute cannot be resolved at the 
informal hearing, the Arbitrator shall file a written statement of 
the issues to be resolved by a Commissioner and the positions of 
each party.  If possible, the statement should be agreed to by 
each party.  The matter will then be assigned for hearing before 
a Commissioner in the same manner as reviews are assigned. 

 
(Source:  Amended at 30 Ill. Reg. 11743, effective June 22, 2006)  
 
Section 7110.60  Distribution of Commission Handbook 
 
An employer, upon receiving notice of an accident reportable pursuant to 
Section 6(b) of the Act, shall deliver the Commission Handbook to the 
injured employee, or determine that the employee has the handbook.  An 
employer, individually or by his or her agent, service company or 
insurance carrier shall indicate, upon filing a first report of injury as 
provided in Section 6(b) of the Act, that a copy of the handbook has been 
delivered to the injured employee.  
 
(Source:  Amended at 36 Ill. Reg. 16349, effective November 5, 2012) 
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Section 7110.70  Explanation of Basis of Non-Payment, Termination 
or Suspension of Temporary Total Compensation or Denial of 
Liability or Further Responsibility for Medical Care 
 
a) When an employee becomes unable to work due to an accidental or 

occupational disease arising out of or in the course of his or her 
employment, or alleges that he or she is unable to work, the 
employer, individually or by his or her agent, service company or 
insurance carrier, shall, within 14 calendar days after notification or 
knowledge of such inability or alleged inability to work: 

 
 1) begin payment of temporary total compensation, if any is then 

due; or 
 
 2) if the employer denies liability for payment of temporary total 

compensation for whatever reason, provide the employee with a 
written explanation of the basis for the denial; or 

 
 3) if the employer has insufficient information to determine its 

liability for payment of temporary total compensation, advise 
the employee in writing of the information needed to make that 
determination and provide in a written explanation why the 
requested information is necessary. 

 
b) When an employer begins payment of temporary total compensation 

and later terminates or suspends further payment before an employee 
in fact has returned to work, the employer shall provide the 
employee with a written explanation of the basis for the termination 
or suspension of further payment no later than the date of the last 
payment of temporary total compensation. 

 
c) When an employer takes the position that it has insufficient medical 

information to determine its liability for the initial payment of 
temporary total compensation, or the continuation of such payment, 
the employer shall have the initial responsibility to promptly seek the 
desired information from those providers of medical, hospital and 
surgical services of which the employer has knowledge.  The 
employee shall have the responsibility to provide or execute 
authorizations for release of medical information as the employer 
may reasonably request from time to time, and the employer shall 
promptly provide the employee or his or her representative, upon 
request, with copies of the complete medical records and reports it 
obtains with the authorizations. 

 
d) When an employer denies liability for payment of the cost of all or a 

part of an employee's medical care, or initially accepts liability but 
subsequently declines further responsibility for providing or paying 
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for all or a part of such care (for any reason including but not limited 
to the necessity or propriety of the care, or continuing care, or the 
unreasonableness of the cost of care), the employer shall promptly 
notify the employee with a written explanation of the basis for the 
denial of liability or further responsibility. 

 
e) Failure by either party to comply with the provisions of subsection 

(a), (b), (c) or (d) of this Section, without good and just cause, shall 
be considered by the Commission or an Arbitrator when adjudicating 
a petition for additional compensation pursuant to Section 19(l) of 
the Act, or a petition for assessment of attorneys' fees and costs 
pursuant to Section 16 of the Act. 

 
(Source:  Amended at 30 Ill. Reg. 11743, effective June 22, 2006)  
 
Section 7110.80  Rate Adjustment Fund and Second Injury Fund 
Contributions: Compliance 
 
a) Employers Required to Make Payments to Rate Adjustment Fund 

and Second Injury Fund 
 

Any employer who shall come within the provisions of Section 3 of 
the Act or any employer who shall elect to provide and pay the 
compensation provided for in the Act and the Workers' Occupational 
Diseases Act [820 ILCS 310] shall pay into the Rate Adjustment 
Fund and the Second Injury Fund in accordance with the provisions 
of Section 7(f) of the Act. 

 
b) Penalties 
 
 1) If the Commission finds, after reasonable notice and hearing in 

accordance with subsection (e), that an employer or insurance 
carrier on behalf of the employer has wilfully and knowingly 
failed to pay any obligations accruing after December 18, 1989 
into the Rate Adjustment Fund or the Second Injury Fund as 
required by Section 7(f) of the Act or if such payments are not 
made within the time periods prescribed by Section 7(f) of the 
Act, the employer shall, in addition to such payments, pay a 
penalty of 20% of the amount required to be paid or $2,500, 
whichever is greater, for each year or part thereof of such 
failure to pay.  (Section 7(f) of the Act)  

 
 2) Obligations accruing prior to December 18, 1989: 
 A) Any obligations of an employer or insurance carrier to the 

Rate Adjustment Fund or the Second Injury Fund accruing 
prior to December 18, 1989 shall be paid in full by such 
employer within 5 years of December 18, 1989, with at 
least one-fifth of such obligation to be paid during each 
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year following December 18, 1989. (Section 7(f) of the Act) 
 i) Such obligations shall be paid pursuant to an 

agreement signed by the employer or by the insurance 
carrier on behalf of the insured employer. 

 ii) The agreement shall include the amount of the 
obligation and the date each payment is due. 

 B) If the Commission finds, after reasonable notice and 
hearing in accordance with subsection (e), that an employer 
or insurance carrier has failed to make timely payments of 
any obligation accruing in subsection (b)(2)(A), the 
employer shall, in addition to all other payments required, 
be liable for a penalty equal to 20% of the overdue 
obligation or $2,500, whichever is greater, for each year or 
part thereof, that the obligation is overdue. (Section 7(f) of 
the Act) 

 
 3) The Commission may for good cause shown waive all or part of 

any penalty assessed.  The decisions of the Commission under 
Section 7(f) of the Act shall serve as precedents in determining 
good cause. 

 
c) Verification of amounts paid by employers into the Rate Adjustment 

Fund and Second Injury Fund. 
 
 1) The Chairman shall by May 1 of each year furnish to the 

Director of the Illinois Department of Insurance a list of the 
amounts paid into the Second Injury Fund and the Rate 
Adjustment Fund by each insurance company on behalf of their 
insured employers.  The Director shall verify to the Chairman 
on or before September 1 of each year that the amounts paid by 
each insurance company are accurate as best the Director can 
determine from the records available to the Director. 

 
 2) The Chairman shall verify that the amounts paid by each self-

insurer are accurate as best as the Chairman can determine 
from records available to the Chairman. (Section 7(f) of the 
Act)  The Chairman may, upon written notice, require that each 
self-insurer provide the following: 

 A) Information on forms provided by the Commission 
concerning the total compensation payments made upon 
which contributions to the Rate Adjustment Fund and 
Second Injury Fund are predicated, and 

 B) Any additional information establishing that payments have 
been made into the Rate Adjustment Fund and the Second 
Injury Fund.  (Section 7(f) of the Act)  Such additional 
information shall include, but not be limited to, cancelled 
checks or other proof of payment. 
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 3) Any information requested under subsection (c)(2) shall be 

provided to the Commission by the self-insurer within 30 days 
after the date of the notice. 

 
d) Notice of Deficiency -- Informal Conference 
 1) Notice of Deficiency 
 A) When the records of the Commission or the Department of 

Insurance show that a deficiency exists regarding payment 
into the Rate Adjustment Fund or the Second Injury Fund, 
the Commission shall give notice of the deficiency to the 
insurance carrier or the self-insured employer.  Service of 
the Notice of Deficiency shall be by United States 
registered or certified mail, addressed to the insurance 
company or the self-insured employer at the last known 
address, or to a representative thereof, and to the State 
Treasurer as ex-officio Custodian of the Rate Adjustment 
Fund and the Second Injury Fund. 

 B) The Notice of Deficiency shall be a written statement 
setting forth, but not limited to, the following information: 

 i) the name and address of the insurance carrier, or the 
self-insured employer or representative; 

 ii) a statement of the statute alleged to be violated, the 
dates of non-payment or underpayment, the amount of 
deficiency and the penalty that may be imposed; 

 iii) a statement that the self-insured employer or insurance 
carrier must cure the deficiency or otherwise respond 
in writing within 30 days after the receipt of the 
Notice; 

 iv) a statement that the failure to respond to a Notice of 
Deficiency within the prescribed time period shall 
cause the Commission to set the matter for hearing in 
accordance with subsection (e). 

 
 2) Informal Conference 
 A) When a Notice of Deficiency has been sent, the 

Commission may, at the request of the self-insured 
employer or insurance carrier, or on its own initiative, 
schedule the matter for an informal conference at which a 
designated representative of the Commission shall meet 
with the self-insured employer or the insurance carrier in an 
attempt to resolve the matter.  An informal conference will 
not be scheduled when the self-insured employer or the 
insurance carrier cures the deficiency within 30 days of 
receipt after the Notice of Deficiency. 

 B) A request by the self-insured employer or the insurance 
carrier for an informal conference shall be included in the 
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response to the Notice of Deficiency. 
 C) The Commission shall send written notice of the time and 

place of the conference to the self-insured employer or the 
insurance carrier and State Treasurer as ex-officio 
Custodian of the Rate Adjustment Fund and the Second 
Injury Fund at least 15 days prior to the scheduled 
conference. 

 D) The conference shall be held at a site designated by the 
Commission. 

 E) If the matter cannot be resolved at the conference, the 
Commission shall set the matter for hearing in accordance 
with subsection (e). 

 
e) Hearings 
 
 1) Notice of Hearing; Locations 
 A) Any matter under this Section is commenced by the 

Commission by service of a Notice of Hearing upon the 
insurance carrier or self-insured employer, and the State 
Treasurer as ex-officio Custodian of the Rate Adjustment 
Fund and the Second Injury Fund.  Notice of Hearing shall 
be given at least 30 days prior to the time fixed for hearing.  
Service of the Notice of Hearing shall be by United States 
registered or certified mail, addressed to the insurance 
carrier or the self-insured employer at the last known 
address, or to a representative thereof, and to the State 
Treasurer as ex-officio Custodian of the Rate Adjustment 
Fund and the Second Injury Fund. 

 B) The Notice of Hearing shall be a written statement setting 
forth, but not limited to, the following information: 

 i) the name and address of the insurance carrier or self-
insured employer; 

 ii) the time, date and place of hearing; 
 iii) the name of the hearing Commissioner; 
 iv) a statement of the statute alleged to be violated and the 

penalty that may be imposed; 
 v) a statement of the amount of the deficiency and the 

dates of non-payment or underpayment; 
 vi) a statement that failure to appear at the hearing, where 

no continuance has been obtained from the 
Commissioner prior to the hearing, shall constitute a 
default and will result in a finding that there has been a 
wilful and knowing  failure to comply with Section 7(f) 
of the Act, and an assessment of  penalties. 

 C) The hearing shall be set at a site designated by the assigned 
Commissioner. 
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 2) Assignment 
 A) In cases in which the employer is principally located in 

Cook County, a matter to be scheduled for hearing under 
this Section shall be randomly assigned to a Commissioner. 

 B) In all other cases, a matter to be scheduled for hearing 
under this Section shall be assigned to a Commissioner who 
serves the territory within which the employer is principally 
located. 

 
 3) Conduct of Hearings 
 A) A representative of the Commission shall have the 

opportunity to introduce evidence, to call and examine 
witnesses and to cross-examine witnesses.  The records of 
the Commission and the Department of Insurance regarding 
deficiency in payment shall be considered prima facie 
evidence of failure to comply with Section 7(f) of the Act. 

 B) At the hearing, the insurance carrier or self-insured 
employer, or its attorney, shall be given the opportunity to 
rebut the evidence of deficiency. 

 C) Any party, including the State Treasurer as ex-officio 
Custodian of the Rate Adjustment Fund and the Second 
Injury Fund, shall have the right to introduce evidence, to 
call and examine witnesses and to cross-examine witnesses.  
The representative of the Commission shall have the right 
of rebuttal. 

 D) The Commission, or any member thereof, shall have the 
power to administer oaths, to subpoena and examine 
witnesses and to issue subpoena duces tecum requiring the 
production of such books, papers, records or documents as 
may be evidence to determine the issue of non-compliance.  
(Section 16 of the Act) 

 E) The Illinois common law rules of evidence and Article VIII 
of the Code of Civil Procedure [735 ILCS 5/Art. VIII] shall 
apply at the hearing except to the extent they conflict with 
the Act, the Workers' Occupational Diseases Act and the 
Rules Governing Practice Before the Illinois Workers' 
Compensation Commission (50 Ill. Adm. Code Ch. II). 

 
f) Decision 
 

The Commission, after the hearing is concluded, shall issue a 
decision in accordance with Section 7(f) of the Act, which shall 
include: 

 
 1) the findings of the Commission; 
 
 2) where applicable, the amount of the penalty assessed and the 
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basis for the amount; 
 
 3) the payment procedures as provided in subsection (g); 
 
 4) a statement of the conditions for a judicial review of the 

Commission decision in accordance  
with the requirement of 50 Ill. Adm. Code 7060. 

 
g) Payment Procedure 
 

When the Commission assesses a penalty against an employer in 
accordance with Section 7(f) of the Act, payment shall be made 
according to the following procedure: 

 
 1) payment of the penalty shall be made by certified check or 

money order made payable to the State of Illinois. 
 
 2) payment shall be mailed or presented within 30 days after the 

final order of the Commission or the order of the court on 
review after final adjudication to: 

 
Illinois Workers’ Compensation Commission  
Fiscal Office 
100 West Randolph Street  
Suite 8-328 
Chicago, Illinois 60601 
312/814-6625 

 
(Source:  Amended at 30 Ill. Reg. 11743, effective June 22, 2006)  
 
Section 7110.90   Illinois Workers' Compensation Commission 
Medical Fee Schedule 
 
a) In accordance with Sections 8(a), 8.2 and 16 of the Workers' 

Compensation Act [820 ILCS 305/8(a), 8.2 and 16] (the Act), the 
Illinois Workers' Compensation Commission Medical Fee Schedule, 
including payment rates, instructions, guidelines, and payment 
guides and policies regarding application of the schedule, is adopted 
as a fee schedule to be used in setting the maximum allowable 
payment for procedures, treatment, products, services or supplies for 
hospital inpatient, hospital outpatient, emergency room, ambulatory 
surgical treatment centers, accredited ambulatory surgical treatment 
facilities, prescriptions filled and dispensed outside of a licensed 
pharmacy, dental services and professional services covered under 
the Act.  The fee schedule is published on the Internet at no charge 
to the user via a link from the Commission's website at 
www.iwcc.il.gov.  The fee schedule may be examined at any of the 
offices of the Illinois Workers' Compensation Commission. 
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b) The payment rates for procedures, services or treatments in the fee 
schedule were established in accordance with Section 8.2 of the Act 
by determining 90% of the 80th percentile of charges utilizing health 
care provider and hospital charges from August 1, 2002 through 
August 1, 2004.  The charges were adjusted by the Consumer Price 
Index-U for the period August 1, 2004 through September 30, 2005.  
For procedures, treatments, services or supplies covered under the 
Act and rendered or to be rendered on or after September 1, 2011, 
the maximum allowable payment shall be 70% of the fee schedule 
amounts, which shall be adjusted yearly by the Consumer Price 
Index-U.  The payment rates in the fee schedule are designated by 
geozip (geographic area in which all zip codes have the same first 3 
digits).  Starting January 1, 2012, the payment rates in the fee 
schedule shall be grouped into geographic regions pursuant to 
Section 8.2 of the Act. 

 
c) The fee schedule applies to any medical procedure, treatment or 

service covered by the Act and rendered on or after February 1, 
2006, regardless of the date of injury. 

 
d) Under the fee schedule, the employer pays the lesser of the rate set 

forth in the schedule or the provider's actual charge.  If an employer 
or insurance carrier contracts with a provider for the purpose of 
providing services under the Act, the rate negotiated in the contract 
shall prevail. 

 
e) Reimbursement Not Covered by Fee Schedule 
 

1) Prior to September 1, 2011, whenever the fee schedule does not 
set a specific fee for a procedure, treatment or service in the 
schedule, the amount of reimbursement shall be at 76% of actual 
charge, except where this Section provides that revenue codes 
(codes that identify a specific accommodation or ancillary 
charge on a UB-04/CMS 1450 uniform billing form used by 
hospitals) are to be deducted from the charge and reimbursed at 
65% of charge billed at the provider's normal rates under its 
standard chargemaster.  A standard chargemaster is the 
provider's list of charges for procedures, services and supplies 
used to bill payers in a consistent manner.  If the provider 
cannot use the chargemaster to demonstrate the charge is the 
provider's normal rate, the provider shall provide evidence that 
the charge is billed at the provider's normal rate. 

 
2) On and after September 1, 2011, whenever the fee schedule 

does not set a specific fee for a procedure, treatment or service 
in the schedule, the amount of reimbursement shall be at 53.2% 
of actual charge, except where this Section provides that 
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revenue codes (codes that identify a specific accommodation or 
ancillary charge on a UB-04/CMS 1450 uniform billing form 
used by hospitals) are to be deducted from the charge and 
reimbursed at 65% of charge billed at the provider's normal 
rates under its standard chargemaster.  A standard chargemaster 
is the provider's list of charges for procedures, services and 
supplies used to bill payers in a consistent manner. If the 
provider cannot use the chargemaster to demonstrate the charge 
is the provider's normal rate, the provider shall provide evidence 
that the charge is billed at the provider's normal rate. 

 
f) Reimbursement under the fee schedule for a procedure, treatment or 

service, as designated by the geozip or region where the treatment 
occurred, shall be based on the place of service. 

 
g) Out-of-State Treatment 
 

1) Procedure Codes 
A  Prior to June 28, 2011, if the procedure, treatment or 

service is rendered outside the State of Illinois, the amount 
of reimbursement shall be the greater of 76% of actual 
charge or the amount set forth in a workers' compensation 
medical fee schedule adopted by the state in which the 
procedure, treatment or service is rendered, if such a 
schedule has been adopted.  Charges for a procedure, 
treatment or service outside the State shall be subject to the 
instructions, guidelines, and payment guides and policies in 
this fee schedule.  

B) On and after June 28, 2011, providers of out-of-state 
procedures, treatments, services, products, or supplies shall 
be reimbursed at the lesser of that state's fee schedule 
amount or the fee schedule amount for the region in which 
the employee resides.  If no fee schedule exists in that state, 
the provider shall be reimbursed at the lesser of the actual 
charge or the fee schedule amount for the region in which 
the employee resides.  If the employee does not reside in 
this State, providers of out-of-state treatments, services, 
products or supplies shall be reimbursed at the lesser of the 
actual charge or the fee schedule amount for the location of 
the hearing site.  "Hearing site" means the location 
established by the Commission for arbitration and 
Commission hearings. 

 
2) Implants 

A) Prior to September 1, 2011, when the charges are for 
facility fees (ambulatory surgical treatment center, hospital 
inpatient (standard and trauma), and hospital outpatient 
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services), the following revenue codes are pass-through 
charges to be deducted from the charge and reimbursed at 
65% of actual charge: 0274 (prosthetics/orthotics); 0275 
(pacemaker); 0276 (lens implant); 0278 (implants); 0540 
and 0545 (ambulance); 0624 (investigational devices); and 
0636 (drugs requiring detailed coding).  Charges billed 
under these revenue codes shall be billed at the provider's 
normal rates under its standard chargemaster.  If the 
provider cannot use the chargemaster to demonstrate the 
charge is the provider's normal rate, the provider shall 
provide evidence that the charge is billed at the provider's 
normal rate. 

B) On and after September 1, 2011, implants, which include 
revenue codes 0276 (lens implant) and 0278 (implants) or 
any other substantially similar updated code as determined 
by the Commission, shall be reimbursed at 25% above the 
net manufacturer's invoice price less rebates, plus actual 
reasonable and customary shipping charges whether or not 
the implant charge is submitted by a provider in 
conjunction with a bill for all other services associated with 
the implant, submitted by a provider on a separate claim 
form, submitted by a distributor, or submitted by the 
manufacturer of the implant.  The following revenue codes 
shall be paid at 65% of actual charge, which is the 
provider's normal rates under its standard chargemaster: 
0274 (prosthetics/orthotics); 0275 (pacemaker); 0540 and 
0545 (ambulance); 0624 (investigational devices); and 0636 
(drugs requiring detailed coding).  A standard chargemaster 
is the provider's list of charges for procedures, treatments, 
products, supplies or services used to bill payers in a 
consistent manner. If the provider cannot use the 
chargemaster to demonstrate the charge is the provider's 
normal rate, the provider shall provide evidence that the 
charge is billed at the provider's normal rate. 

 
h) The fee schedule includes the following service categories:   
 

1) Ambulatory Surgical Treatment Center (ASTC) and Accredited 
Ambulatory Surgical Treatment Facility (ASTF) 
A) This schedule applies to licensed ambulatory surgical 

treatment centers as defined by the Illinois Department of 
Public Health (77 Ill. Adm. Code 205.110) and accredited 
ambulatory surgical treatment facilities accredited by one of 
the following organizations:  American Association for the 
Accreditation of Ambulatory Surgical Facilities 
(AAAASF), The Joint Commission (formerly JCAHO), or 
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Accreditation Association for Ambulatory Health Care 
(AAAHC). 

B) The use of this schedule is in accordance with the Current 
Procedural Terminology, American Medical Association, 
515 North State Street, Chicago, Illinois 60610 (2006), no 
later dates or editions. 

C) This schedule provides the maximum fee schedule amount 
for surgical services administered in an ASTC or ASTF 
setting for codes 10021 through 69990.  The schedule is a 
partial global reimbursement schedule in that all charges 
rendered during the operative session are subject to a single 
fee schedule amount, except as provided in subsections 
(h)(1)(D) and (h)(1)(F). 

D) Implants 
i) Prior to September 1, 2011, the following revenue 

codes are pass-through charges to be deducted from the 
charge and reimbursed at 65% of actual charge: 0274 
(prosthetics/orthotics); 0275 (pacemaker); 0276 (lens 
implant); 0278 (implants); 0540 and 0545 (ambulance); 
0624 (investigational devices); and 0636 (drugs 
requiring detailed coding).  Charges billed under these 
revenue codes shall be billed at the provider's normal 
rates under its standard chargemaster.  If the provider 
cannot use the chargemaster to demonstrate the charge 
is the provider's normal rate, the provider shall provide 
evidence that the charge is billed at the provider's 
normal rate. 

ii) On and after September 1, 2011, implants, which 
include revenue codes 0276 (lens implant) and 0278 
(implants) or any other substantially similar updated 
code as determined by the Commission, shall be 
reimbursed at 25% above the net manufacturer's 
invoice price less rebates, plus actual reasonable and 
customary shipping charges whether or not the implant 
charge is submitted by a provider in conjunction with a 
bill for all other services associated with the implant, 
submitted by a provider on a separate claim form, 
submitted by a distributor, or submitted by the 
manufacturer of the implant.  The following revenue 
codes shall be paid at 65% of actual charge, which is 
the provider's normal rates under its standard 
chargemaster: 0274 (prosthetics/orthotics); 0275 
(pacemaker); 0540 and 0545 (ambulance); 0624 
(investigational devices); and 0636 (drugs requiring 
detailed coding).  A standard chargemaster is the 
provider's list of charges for procedures, treatments, 
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products, supplies or services used to bill payers in a 
consistent manner.  If the provider cannot use the 
chargemaster to demonstrate the charge is the 
provider's normal rate, the provider shall provide 
evidence that the charge is billed at the provider's 
normal rate. 

E) All professional services performed in an ASTC or ASTF 
setting are subject to the HCPCS Level II schedule in 
subsection (h)(5) or the professional services schedule in 
subsection (h)(8). 

F) This schedule does not apply to the professional or 
technical components of radiology and pathology and 
laboratory services performed in an ASTC or ASTF setting.  
Charges for these services must be submitted on a separate 
claim form and shall be subject to the professional services 
schedule in subsection (h)(8).  

G) Surgery services under this schedule shall be reimbursed in 
accordance with the Multiple Procedure and Bilateral 
Surgery provisions of the Payment Guide in Section 8B of 
the instructions and guidelines in the fee schedule and the 
applicable modifiers in Section 8F of the instructions and 
guidelines in the fee schedule. 

 
2) Anesthesia 

A) The use of this schedule is in accordance with the Current 
Procedural Terminology, American Medical Association, 
515 North State Street, Chicago, Illinois, 60610 (2006), no 
later dates or editions, and the Relative Value Guide, 
American Society of Anesthesiologists, 520 North 
Northwest Highway, Park Ridge, Illinois 60068-2573 
(2006), no later dates or editions. 

B) This schedule was established utilizing health care provider 
charges from August 1, 2002 through August 1, 2004 from 
which a conversion factor was established.   The maximum 
fee schedule reimbursement amount is determined by 
multiplying the conversion factor set forth in the schedule 
by the sum of all units according to guidelines set forth in 
the Relative Value Guide as follows:  
i) Base Value +Time Units + Modifying Units = Total 

Units  
 Total Units x Conversion Factor = Total Fee 
ii) Physical status modifying units may be added to the 

basic value and time units and, in addition, units may 
be added for qualifying circumstances (extraordinary 
circumstances) in accordance with the Relative Value 
Guide.   
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C) Special coding situations, such as those involving multiple 
procedures, additional procedures, unusual monitoring, 
prolonged physician services, postoperative pain 
management, monitored (stand-by) anesthesia, invasive 
anesthesia and chronic pain management services, require 
application of the fee schedule in a manner consistent with 
the Relative Value Guide. 

D) Anesthesia time begins when an anesthesiologist or 
certified registered nurse anesthetist (CRNA) physically 
starts to prepare the patient for the induction of anesthesia 
in the operating room (or its equivalent) and ends when the 
anesthesiologist is no longer in constant attendance (when 
the patient is safely put under postoperative supervision). 

 
3) Dental 

Prior to September 1, 2011, all procedures, treatments and 
services are reimbursed at 76% of actual charge unless services 
are billed under the HCPCS Level II schedule in subsection 
(h)(5) or professional fee schedule in subsection (h)(8).  On and 
after September 1, 2011 and until the Commission posts a fee 
schedule for dental bills, all dental bills shall be paid at 53.2% 
of actual charge unless the services are billed under the HCPCS 
Level II schedule in subsection (h)(5) or professional fee 
schedule in subsection (h)(8). 

 
4) Emergency Room 

A) This schedule applies to any department or facility of a 
hospital, licensed by the Illinois Department of Public 
Health pursuant to the Hospital Licensing Act [210 ILCS 
85] that: 
i) operates as an emergency room or emergency 

department,  whether situated on or off the main 
hospital campus; and 

ii) is held out to the public as providing care for 
emergency medical conditions without requiring an 
appointment, or has provided at least one-third of all its 
outpatient visits for the treatment of emergency 
medical conditions on an urgent basis during the 
previous calendar year. 

B) All procedures, treatments and services subject to this 
schedule are reimbursed at 76% of actual charge.  
Procedures, treatments and services subject to this schedule 
rendered on or after September 1, 2011 are reimbursed at 
53.2% of actual charge. 

C) Radiology, pathology and laboratory and physical medicine 
and rehabilitation services performed in an emergency 
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room shall be reimbursed in accordance with the radiology 
schedule in subsection (h)(7)(C), the pathology and 
laboratory schedule in subsection (h)(7)(D) and the physical 
medicine and rehabilitation schedule in subsection 
(h)(7)(E). 

D) Emergency room facility charges, and professional services 
delivered in an emergency room facility billed by the 
facility using the facility's tax identification number, shall 
be subject to the emergency room facility schedule and are 
not subject to the HCPCS Level II schedule in subsection 
(h)(5) or the professional services schedule in subsection 
(h)(8).  Health care professionals who perform services in 
an emergency room facility and bill for services using their 
own tax identification number on a separate claim form 
shall be subject to the HCPCS Level II schedule in 
subsection (h)(5) or the professional services schedule in 
subsection (h)(8) and are not covered under emergency 
room facility schedule.  

 
5) HCPCS (Healthcare Common Procedure Coding System) Level 

II  
 The use of this schedule is in accordance with the HCPCS Level 

II, U. S. Department of Health and Human Services, Centers for 
Medicare and Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, 
Baltimore, Maryland 21244 (2006), no later dates or editions.  
Level II of the HCPCS is a standardized coding system used to 
identify products and services not included in the Current 
Procedural Terminology codes. 

 
6) Hospital Inpatient: Standard and Trauma 

A) The use of these schedules is in accordance with the 
Diagnosis-Related Group (DRG) classification system 
established by the U.S. Department of Health and Human 
Services, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, 42 
CFR 405 (2005), no later dates or editions.  A DRG is a 
diagnosis-related group code that groups patients into 
homogeneous classifications that demonstrate similar 
length-of-stay patterns and use of hospital resources.  The 
DRG determines the maximum fee schedule amount for an 
inpatient hospital stay, except as provided in subsections 
(h)(6)(F) and (h)(6)(G). 

B) No later than June 30, 2009, the use of these schedules will 
be in accordance with the Medicare Severity Diagnosis 
Related Group (MS-DRG) classification system established 
by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, 42 CFR 411 
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(2007), no later dates or editions.  An MS-DRG is a 
diagnosis related group code that groups patients based on 
the severity of a patient's condition and resource 
consumption.  The MS-DRG determines the maximum fee 
schedule amount for an inpatient hospital stay, except as 
provided in subsections (h)(6)(F) and (h)(6)(G).   

C) Inpatient care shall be defined as when a patient is admitted 
to a hospital where services include, but are not limited to, 
bed and board, nursing services, diagnostic or therapeutic 
services, and medical or surgical services. 

D) Inpatient hospital bills are subject to the hospital inpatient 
standard schedule.  Inpatient hospital bills from trauma 
centers designated as Level I and Level II trauma centers by 
the Illinois Department of Public Health pursuant to 77 Ill. 
Adm. Code 515.2030 and 515.2040 and that contain an 
admission type of "5" on a UB-04/CMS 1450 FL 14 
(uniform billing form used by hospitals; FL 14 is the form 
locator number that indicates where the codes are to be 
listed on the UB-04/CMS 1450 form) are subject to the 
hospital inpatient trauma schedule. 

E) Hospital providers must identify the DRG code on each bill 
(UB-04/CMS 1450 claim form).  The DRG assignment 
should be made in a manner consistent with the grouping 
practices used by the hospital when billing both government 
and private carriers. 

F) Implants 
i) Prior to September 1, 2011, the following revenue 

codes/pass-through charges are deducted from the DRG 
charge and reimbursed at 65% of actual charge:  0274 
(prosthetics/orthotics); 0275 (pacemaker); 0276 (lens 
implant); 0278 (implants); 0540 and 0545 (ambulance); 
0624 (investigational devices); and 0636 (drugs 
requiring detailed coding).  If the maximum amount of 
payment for an inpatient hospital stay is 76% of actual 
charge or 53.2% of actual charge for services rendered 
on or after September 1, 2011, the DRG charge is 
determined after the pass-through charges are removed.  
Charges billed under these revenue codes shall be billed 
at the provider's normal rates under its standard 
chargemaster.  If the provider cannot use the 
chargemaster to demonstrate the charge is the provider's 
normal rate, the provider shall provide evidence that the 
charge is billed at the provider's normal rate. 

ii) On and after September 1, 2011, implants, which 
include revenue codes 0276 (lens implant) and 0278 
(implants) or any other substantially similar updated 
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code as determined by the Commission, shall be 
reimbursed at 25% above the net manufacturer's invoice 
price less rebates, plus actual reasonable and customary 
shipping charges whether or not the implant charge is 
submitted by a provider in conjunction with a bill for all 
other services associated with the implant, submitted by 
a provider on a separate claim form, submitted by a 
distributor, or submitted by the manufacturer of the 
implant.  The following revenue codes shall be paid at 
65% of actual charge, which is the provider's normal 
rates under its standard chargemaster: 0274 
(prosthetics/orthotics); 0275 (pacemaker); 0540 and 
0545 (ambulance); 0624 (investigational devices); and 
0636 (drugs requiring detailed coding).  A standard 
chargemaster is the provider's list of charges for 
procedures, treatments, products, supplies or services 
used to bill payers in a consistent manner.  If the 
provider cannot use the chargemaster to demonstrate the 
charge is the provider's normal rate, the provider shall 
provide evidence that the charge is billed at the 
provider's normal rate. 

G) Cost Outliers 
i) In the case of cost outliers (extraordinary treatment in 

which the bill for an inpatient stay is at least two times 
the fee schedule amount for the assigned DRG after 
pass-through revenue code charges referred to in 
subsection (h)(6)(F) have been deducted), the 
maximum reimbursement amount will be the assigned 
DRG fee schedule amount plus 76% of the charges that 
exceed that DRG amount.  The pass-through revenue 
code charges are reimbursed at 65% of actual charge 
and shall be billed at the provider's normal rates under 
its standard chargemaster. 

ii) On and after September 1, 2011, for cost outliers 
(extraordinary treatment in which the bill for an 
inpatient stay is at least 2.857 times the fee schedule 
amount for the assigned DRG after pass-through 
revenue code charges referred to in subsection 
(h)(6)(F) have been deducted), the maximum 
reimbursement amount will be the assigned DRG fee 
schedule amount plus 53.2% of the charges that exceed 
that DRG amount.  The pass-through revenue code 
charges are reimbursed at 65% of actual charge and 
shall be billed at the provider's normal rates under its 
standard chargemaster.  Implants shall be reimbursed at 
25% above the net manufacturer's invoice price less 
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rebates, plus actual reasonable and customary shipping 
charges. 

H) Charges for professional services performed in conjunction 
with charges for other services associated with the 
hospitalization and billed by a hospital on a UB-04/CMS 
1450 or a 1500 claim form (billing form established by 
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services for use by 
physicians) using the hospital's own tax identification 
number shall be reimbursed at 76% of actual charge or 
53.2% of actual charge for services rendered on or after 
September 1, 2011 in addition to the amount listed in this 
schedule for the assigned code.  Health care professionals 
who perform services and bill for services using their own 
tax identification number on a separate claim form shall be 
subject to the HCPCS Level II schedule in subsection (h)(5) 
or the professional services schedule in subsection (h)(8). 

 
7) Hospital Outpatient 

A) The use of this schedule is in accordance with the Current 
Procedural Terminology, American Medical Association, 
515 North State Street, Chicago, Illinois 60610 (2006), no 
later dates or editions. 

B) This schedule includes radiology, pathology and laboratory, 
and physical medicine and rehabilitation as well as surgical 
services performed in a hospital outpatient setting that were 
not performed during an emergency room encounter or 
inpatient hospital admission.  The radiology, pathology and 
laboratory, and physical medicine and rehabilitation 
schedules shall be applied to the number of units billed on 
the UB-04. 

C) Radiology 
i) This schedule provides the maximum fee schedule 

amount for radiology services performed in a hospital 
outpatient setting for codes 70010 through 79999.  The 
schedule applies to the technical component of 
radiology services that are billed in conjunction with 
revenue codes 320 through 359, 400 through 409 and 
610 through 619. 

ii) This schedule does not apply when the bill type 
requires the application of the hospital inpatient 
schedule in subsection (h)(6) or the hospital outpatient 
surgical facility schedule in subsection (h)(7)(F).  

iii) Professional radiology services billed by a hospital 
using the hospital's tax identification number are 
reimbursed at 76% of actual charge or 53.2% of actual 
charge for services rendered on or after September 1, 
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2011.  Radiologists or radiology groups who perform 
services using their own tax identification number shall 
be subject to the HCPCS Level II in subsection (h)(5) 
or the professional services schedule in subsection 
(h)(8) even though the technical component is 
performed in a hospital setting. 

D) Pathology and Laboratory 
i) This schedule provides the maximum fee schedule 

amount for pathology and laboratory services 
performed in a hospital outpatient setting for codes 
80048 through 89356.  This schedule applies to the 
technical component of pathology and laboratory 
services that are billed in conjunction with revenue 
codes 300 through 319. 

ii) This schedule does not apply when the bill type 
requires the application of the hospital inpatient 
schedule in subsection (h)(6) or the hospital outpatient 
surgical facility schedule in subsection (h)(7)(F).   

iii) Professional pathology and laboratory services billed 
by a hospital using the hospital's tax identification 
number are reimbursed at 76% of actual charge or 
53.2% of actual charge for services rendered on or after 
September 1, 2011.  Pathologists who perform services 
using their own tax identification number shall be 
subject to the HCPCS Level II in subsection (h)(5) or 
the professional services schedule in subsection (h)(8) 
even though the technical component is performed in a 
hospital setting. 

E) Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation 
i) This schedule provides the maximum fee schedule 

amount for physical therapy services performed in a 
hospital outpatient setting for codes 97001 through 
97799.  This schedule applies to all physical and 
occupational therapy services that are billed in 
conjunction with revenue codes 420 through 439. 

ii) This schedule does not apply when the bill type 
requires the application of the hospital inpatient 
schedule in subsection (h)(6) or the hospital outpatient 
surgical facility schedule in subsection (h)(7)(F).  

iii) All physical medicine and rehabilitation services 
provided in a hospital outpatient setting are subject to 
this schedule.  

F) Hospital Outpatient Surgical Facility (HOSF) 
i) This schedule provides a global maximum fee schedule 

amount for surgical services performed in a hospital 
outpatient setting for codes 10021 through 69990.  All 
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services performed in an operative session shall be 
reimbursed at a single fee schedule amount, except as 
provided in subsection (h)(7)(F)(ii). The single fee 
schedule amount shall represent the maximum amount 
payable for the total charges on a claim form that 
represents the total charges derived from all line 
items/revenue codes contained in the form.  Except for 
the carve-out revenue codes listed in subsection 
(h)(7)(F)(ii), this fee schedule shall not be applied on a 
line item basis. 

ii) Implants 
• Prior to September 1, 2011, the following revenue 

codes are pass-through charges to be deducted 
from the charge and reimbursed at 65% of actual 
charge:  0274 (prosthetics/orthotics); 0275 
(pacemaker); 0276 (lens implant); 0278 
(implants); 0540 and 0545 (ambulance); 0624 
(investigational devices); and 0636 (drugs 
requiring detailed coding).  Charges billed under 
these revenue codes shall be billed at the provider's 
normal rates under its standard chargemaster.  If 
the provider cannot use the chargemaster to 
demonstrate the charge is the provider's normal 
rate, the provider shall provide evidence that the 
charge is billed at the provider's normal rate. 

• On and after September 1, 2011, implants, which 
include revenue codes 0276 (lens implant) and 
0278 (implants) or any other substantially similar 
updated code as determined by the Commission, 
shall be reimbursed at 25% above the net 
manufacturer's invoice price less rebates, plus 
actual reasonable and customary shipping charges 
whether or not the implant charge is submitted by 
a provider in conjunction with a bill for all other 
services associated with the implant, submitted by 
a provider on a separate claim form, submitted by 
a distributor, or submitted by the manufacturer of 
the implant.  The following revenue codes shall be 
paid at 65% of actual charge, which is the 
provider's normal rates under its standard 
chargemaster: 0274 (prosthetics/orthotics); 0275 
(pacemaker); 0540 and 0545 (ambulance); 0624 
(investigational devices); and 0636 (drugs 
requiring detailed coding). A standard 
chargemaster is the provider's list of charges for 
procedures, treatments, products, supplies or 



 93 

services used to bill payers in a consistent manner. 
If the provider cannot use the chargemaster to 
demonstrate the charge is the provider's normal 
rate, the provider shall provide evidence that the 
charge is billed at the provider's normal rate. 

iii) Surgery services under this schedule shall be 
reimbursed in accordance with the Multiple Procedure 
and Bilateral Surgery provisions of the Payment Guide 
in Section 8B of the instructions and guidelines in the 
fee schedule and the applicable modifiers in Section 8F 
of the instructions and guidelines in the fee schedule.  
The instructions and guidelines are available via a link 
from the Commission's website at www.iwcc.il.gov. 

iv) Cost Outliers 
• Prior to September 1, 2011, in the case of cost 

outliers (extraordinary treatment in which the bill 
for hospital outpatient facility surgical charges is 
at least two times the fee schedule amount for the 
assigned code after pass-through revenue code 
charges referred to in subsection (h)(7)(F)(ii) have 
been deducted) the maximum reimbursement 
amount will be the assigned code fee schedule 
amount plus 76% of the charges that exceed the 
code amount.  The pass-through revenue charges 
are reimbursed at 65% of actual charge and shall 
be billed at the provider's normal rates under its 
standard chargemaster. 

• On and after September 1, 2011, for cost outliers 
(extraordinary treatment in which the bill for 
hospital outpatient facility surgical charges is at 
least 2.857 times the fee schedule amount for the 
assigned DRG after pass-through revenue code 
charges referred to in subsection (h)(7)(F)(ii) have 
been deducted), the maximum reimbursement 
amount will be the assigned code fee schedule 
amount plus 53.2% of the charges that exceed that 
code amount.  The pass-through revenue code 
charges are reimbursed at 65% of actual charge 
and shall be billed at the provider's normal rates 
under its standard chargemaster. Implants shall be 
reimbursed at 25% above the net manufacturer's 
invoice price less rebates, plus actual reasonable 
and customary shipping charges. 

v) Surgical services performed in the emergency room 
(revenue codes 450 through 459) are not subject to this 
schedule and shall be subject to the emergency room 
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facility schedule in subsection (h)(4).  
vi) Charges for professional services performed in 

conjunction with charges for other services associated 
with the surgery and billed by a hospital on a UB-
04/CMS 1450 or a 1500 claim form (billing form 
established by Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 
Services for use by physicians) using the hospital's own 
tax identification number shall be reimbursed at 76% 
of actual charge or 53.2% of actual charge for services 
rendered on or after September 1, 2011 in addition to 
the amount listed in this schedule for the assigned 
surgical code.  Health care professionals who perform 
services and bill for services using their own tax 
identification number on a separate claim form shall be 
subject to the HCPCS Level II schedule in subsection 
(h)(5) or the professional services schedule in 
subsection (h)(8). 

 
8) Professional Services 

A) The use of this schedule is in accordance with the Current 
Procedural Terminology, American Medical Association, 
515 North State Street, Chicago, Illinois 60610, 2006, no 
later dates or editions.  

B) Services in this schedule include evaluation and 
management, surgery, physician, medicine, radiology, 
pathology and laboratory, chiropractic, physical therapy, 
and any other services covered under the Current 
Procedural Terminology. 

C) Reimbursement for services under this schedule shall be in 
accordance with the modifiers table in Section 8F of the 
instructions and guidelines in the fee schedule.  The 
instructions and guidelines in the fee schedule are available 
via a link from the Commission’s website at 
www.iwcc.il.gov. 

D) Surgery services under this schedule shall be reimbursed in 
accordance with the Payment Guide to Global Days, 
Multiple Procedures, Bilateral Surgeries, Assistant 
Surgeons, Co-Surgeons, and Team Surgery in Section 8B of 
the instructions and guidelines in the fee schedule and the 
modifiers table in Section 8F of the instructions and 
guidelines in the fee schedule.  The instructions and 
guidelines in the fee schedule are available via a link from 
the Commission’s website at www.iwcc.il.gov. 

E) Medicine services under this schedule shall be reimbursed 
in accordance with the professional, technical and total 
component categories outlined in Section 8E of the 
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instructions and guidelines in the fee schedule and the 
modifiers table in Section 8F of the instructions and 
guidelines in the fee schedule. 

F) Pathology and laboratory services under this schedule shall 
be reimbursed in accordance with the professional, 
technical and total component categories outlined in 
Section 8D of the instructions and guidelines in the fee 
schedule and the modifiers table in Section 8F of the 
instructions and guidelines in the fee schedule. 

G) Radiology services under this schedule shall be reimbursed 
in accordance with the professional, technical and total 
component categories outlined in Section 8C of the 
instructions and guidelines in the fee schedule and the 
modifiers table in Section 8F of the instructions and 
guidelines in the fee schedule. 

 
9) Rehabilitation Hospitals 

A) This schedule applies to inpatient rehabilitation hospitals 
that are freestanding. 

B) This schedule reimburses a rehabilitation hospital one per 
diem rate per day, on the basis of the assigned primary 
diagnosis code.  The single per diem rate shall reimburse 
the rehabilitation hospital for all services provided in the 
course of a day. 

C) The use of this schedule is in accordance with The 
International Classification of Diseases, Ninth Revision, 
Clinical Modification, (ICD-9-CM), Volume 2, U.S. 
Department of Health and Human Services, Centers for 
Medicare and Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, 
Baltimore, Maryland 21244, 2007, no later dates or 
editions. 

10) Prescriptions 
A) This schedule applies to prescriptions filled and dispensed 

outside of a licensed pharmacy. 
B) Prescriptions shall be billed at the Average Wholesale 

Price, plus a dispensing fee of $4.18. [820 ILCS 305/8.2(a-
3)] 

C) Average Wholesale Price or its equivalent as registered by 
the National Drug Code shall be set forth for that drug on 
that date as published in Medispan.  [820 ILCS 305/8.2(a-
3)] 

D) If a prescription has been repackaged, the Average 
Wholesale Price used to determine the maximum 
reimbursement shall be the Average Wholesale Price for the 
underlying drug product, as identified by its National Drug 
Code from the original labeler. 
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i) The fee schedule requires that services be reported with the HCPCS 

Level II or Current Procedural Terminology codes that most 
comprehensively describe the services performed.  Proprietary 
bundling edits more restrictive than the National Correct Coding 
Policy Manual in Comprehensive Code Sequence for Part B 
Medicare Carriers, Version 12.0, U. S. Department of Health and 
Human Services, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, 7500 
Security Boulevard, Baltimore, Maryland 21244 (2006), no later 
dates or editions, are prohibited.  Bundling edits is the process of 
reporting codes so that they most comprehensively describe the 
services performed. 

 
j) An allied health care professional, such as a certified registered 

nurse anesthetist (CRNA), physician assistant (PA) or nurse 
practitioner (NP), is to be reimbursed at the same rate as other health 
care professionals when the allied health care professional is 
performing, coding and billing for the same services as other health 
care professionals. 

 
k) Charges of an independently operated diagnostic testing facility shall 

be subject to the professional services and HCPCS Level II fee 
schedules where applicable.  An independent diagnostic testing 
facility is an entity independent of a hospital or physician's office, 
whether a fixed location, a mobile entity, or an individual 
nonphysician practitioner, in which diagnostic tests are performed by 
licensed or certified nonphysician personnel under appropriate 
physician supervision. 

 
l) No later than September 30, 2006 and each year thereafter, the 

Commission shall make an automatic adjustment to the maximum 
payment for a procedure, treatment or service in effect in January of 
that year.  The Commission shall increase or decrease the maximum 
payment by the percentage change of increase or decrease in the 
Consumer Price Index-U for the 12-month period ending August 31 
of that year.  The change shall be effective January l of the following 
year.  The Consumer Price Index-U means the index published by 
the Bureau of Labor Statistics of the U.S. Department of Labor that 
measures the average change in prices of all goods and services 
purchased by all urban consumers, U.S. city average, all items, 
1982-84=100.  (Section 8.2 of the Act). 

 
(Source:  Amended at 36 Ill. Reg. 17108, effective November 20, 2012) 
 
PART 7120: ANTI-CORRUPTION RULE 
 
Section 
7120.10  Prohibition of Payment or Things of Value to Commission 
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Personnel  
7120.20  Prohibit of Request by Commission Personnel for Payment or 

Thing of Value 
7120.30  Discipline for Violation  
7120.40  Statutory Fees Not Applicable 
 
AUTHORITY: Implementing and authorized by Section 16 of the 
Workers' Compensation Act (820 ILCS 305/16). 
 
SOURCE: Filed and effective March 1, 1977; codified at 7 Ill. Reg. 
2354. 
 
Section 7120.10  Prohibition of Payment or Thing of Value to 
Commission Personnel 
 
It shall be a violation of the rules of the Industrial Commission for any 
party to a proceeding, a representative of any party to a proceeding, or 
any other person, firm or corporation having an interest in or connection 
with a pending proceeding or pay, lend or deliver or cause to be paid, lent 
or delivered to any member or employee of the Industrial Commission 
any money or other thing of value. 
 
Section 7120.20  Prohibition of Request by Commission Personnel 
for Payment or Thing of Value 
 
It shall be a violation of the rules of the Industrial Commission for any 
member or employee of the Commission to request, demand, receive, 
accept, or agree to receive or accept any payment, loan, or delivery of 
any money or any thing of value from any party to a proceeding, a 
representative of any party to a proceeding, or any other person, firm, or 
corporation having any interest in or connection with a pending 
proceeding. 
 
Section 7120.30  Discipline for Violation 
 
Any person, firm or corporation found to have violated the provisions of 
Section 7120.10 above shall be subject to suspension or revocation of 
their right to appear before the Industrial Commission or participate in 
any way in connection with any matters which may properly come before 
the Commission.  Any employee of the Industrial Commission shall be 
subject to discipline, including discharge, for violations of Section 
7120.20 above. 
 
Section 7120.40 Statutory Fees Not Applicable 
 
The provisions of this Part shall not be applicable in respect to any 
money payable to an employee of the Industrial Commission as a fee as 
prescribed by statute or by formal order of the Industrial Commission.
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PART 7130: HEARING LOSS GUIDELINES 
 
Section 
7130.10  Causal Connection 
7130.20  Nature and Extent of Disability 
7130.30  Prior Hearing Loss 
 
AUTHORITY: Implementing Section 8(e)(16) and authorized by Section 
16 of the Workers' Compensation Act (820 ILCS 305/8(e)(16) and 16). 
 
SOURCE: Filed and effective March 1, 1977; emergency rule at 4 Ill. 
Reg. 41, p. 171. effective September 25, 1980 for a maximum of 150 
days; amended at 5 Ill. Reg. 4580, effective April 13, 1981; codified at 7 
Ill. Reg. 2514. 
 
Section 7130.10  Causal Connection 
 
a) The Industrial Commission shall use the following rebuttable 

presumptions to determine whether exposure between July 1, 1975 
and September 15, 1980, to industrial noise caused a hearing loss: 

 
 1) Exposure to noise with the intensity of 90 decibels or more for 8 

hours or its time weighted equivalent causes hearing loss, and 
 
 2) Exposure to noise with the intensity of less than 90 decibels or 

less for eight hours or its time weighted equivalent does not 
cause hearing loss. 

 
b) Cases with a date of last exposure after September 15, 1981, shall be 

determined pursuant to Ill. Rev. Stat. 1981, ch. 48, pars. 138.8(e)(16) 
(Workers' Compensation Act). 

 
Section 7130.20  Nature and Extent of Disability 
 
a) The Industrial Commission shall use the following rebuttable 

presumptions to determine percentage loss of hearing in cases where 
the hearing loss was caused by exposure between July 1, 1975, and 
September 15, 1980: 

 
b) The percentage loss of hearing shall be calculated using the average, 

in decibels, of the thresholds of hearing for the frequencies of one 
thousand, two thousand and three thousand cycles per second.  If 
such losses of hearing average thirty decibels American National 
Standards Institute (ANSI) or less in the three frequencies, such 
losses of hearing shall not constitute any hearing disability.  If the 
losses of hearing average eighty-five decibels (ANSI) or more in the 
three frequencies, such losses of hearing shall constitute total loss of 
hearing.  Every average decibel loss exceeding thirty decibels 
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(ANSI) shall constitute 1.82 percent of loss of hearing. 
 
c) Pure tone conduction audiometric instruments shall be used for 

measuring hearing loss pursuant to this guideline.  Audiometric tests 
must not be conducted before a Petitioner has been separated from 
noise exposure for 16 hours or more. 

 
Section 7130.30  Prior Hearing Loss 
 
An employer shall be liable for the entire occupational deafness to which 
his employment contributed unless the employer can establish the extent 
of Petitioner's hearing loss prior to July 1, 1975.  If the employer can 
establish prior hearing loss, the employer shall only be liable for the 
hearing loss caused by exposure to employer's noise after July 1, 1975. 
 
PART 7500: COMMISSION REVIEW BOARD PROCEDURES 
 
Section 
7500.10    Function 
7500.20    Chairman of the Commission Review Board 
7500.30    Complaints 
7500.40    Hearings on Complaints 
7500.50    Decisions of the Board 
 
AUTHORITY: Implementing and authorized by Section 14.1 of the 
Workers' Compensation Act (820 ILCS 305). 
 
SOURCE:  Emergency rules and adopted at 10 Ill. Reg. 3309, effective 
January 27, 1986, for a maximum of 150 days; adopted at 11 Ill. Reg. 
3495, effective February 9, 1987; amended at 36 Ill. Reg. 17920, 
effective December 4, 2012. 
 
Section 7500.10  Function 
 
a) Authority of the Commission Review Board (Board) shall consist of 

the following: 
 
 1) to receive complaints concerning conduct that occurred after 

June 30, 1984, by a Workers’ Compensation Commission 
(WCC) Commissioner or WCC Arbitrator (respondent) when: 

 A) allegations of misconduct committed as part of the 
respondent's duties have been made that would factually 
support an indictment under the criminal law of Illinois; 

 B) allegations that the respondent's conduct demonstrates 
favoritism toward one party in the conduct of the 
proceeding; 

 C) allegations that a respondent did not follow the procedures 
and rules of WCC Commission or the provisions of the 
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Workers' Compensation Act [820 ILCS 305] (Act); or 
 D) allegations that a respondent had a conflict of interest and 

did not recuse himself or herself from that matter. 
 
 2) to conduct investigations of complaints; 
 
 3) to conduct hearings on complaints to determine if there is 

sufficient evidence: 
 A) to advise the respondent of necessary corrective action 

which shall consist of an oral or written reprimand sent to 
the respondent by the Board stating that the respondent 
should not repeat the conduct stated in the complaint; or 

B) in matters of serious concern to the State, to recommend to 
the Governor the non-reappointment of a Commissioner or 
an Arbitrator.  A matter of serious concern may include, but 
not limited to, misconduct in a proceeding by a 
Commissioner or Arbitrator that would support an 
indictment under Illinois criminal law, a pattern of 
complaints requiring corrective action consisting of three 
oral or written reprimands for favoritism toward a party, or 
failure to follow rules or procedures of WCC. 

 
b) Complaints against Board Members 
 

No member of the Board may participate in any proceedings before 
the Board involving a complaint as to his or her own conduct, except 
to defend against the complaint. 

 
c) Meetings 
 

Regular meetings of the Board will be scheduled to be held at least 
once per calendar year quarter.  Additional meetings will be held 
pursuant to the call of the Chairman or at the request of three or 
more members.  The meetings of the Board shall conducted in 
accordance with the provisions of the Open Meetings Act [5 ILCS 
120]. 

 
(Amended at 36 Ill. Reg. 17920, effective December 4, 2012) 
 
Section 7500.20  Chairman of the Commission Review Board 
 
The Chairman of the WCC shall serve as Chairman of the Commission 
Review Board; receive, compile, audit and retain complaints filed against 
Commissioners and Arbitrators; and will perform such duties as a may be 
designated by a majority of the members from time to time. 
 
(Amended at 36 Ill. Reg. 17920, effective December 4, 2012) 
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Section 7500.30  Complaints 
 
a) All complaints received by WCC against a Commissioner or 

Arbitrator shall be in writing, shall identify the respondent and the 
complainant, and shall be sufficiently clear to apprise the respondent 
of the misconduct charged. 

 
b) The Executive Director of WCC shall acknowledge in writing 

receipt of each written communication to the Board.  The Executive 
Director shall forward all communications received to the WCC 
General Counsel.  The General Counsel shall determine whether the 
communication constitutes a complaint setting forth sufficient 
evidence that a respondent engaged in any misconduct set forth in 
Section 7500.10(a)(1).  If a communication does not constitute a 
complaint, the Executive Director shall send the complainant a letter 
explaining that the communication does not meet the requirements 
of this Part.  The Executive Director shall supply a copy of all 
correspondence to the to the Board members at regularly scheduled 
meetings.  The Executive Director shall provide a monthly report of 
all communications to the Chairman.  If a communication constitutes 
a complaint, it shall be forwarded to the Board for consideration at 
its next regularly scheduled meeting.  

 
c) The Executive Director shall inform the complainant that, if a 

hearing is held by the Board on the complaint, it is the duty of the 
complainant to testify and, if the complainant does not testify, the 
complaint shall be considered null and void and will be dismissed by 
the Board (Section 14.1 of the Act).  The Board will preserve the 
identity of any complainant who has not revealed his or her own 
identity to the respondent either directly or through publication. 

 
d) If the Board determines that the complaint does not allege 

misconduct as stated in Section 7500.10(a)(1), the Chairman may, 
with the concurrence of a majority of the Board members, dismiss 
the complaint, in which case the Executive Director shall notify the 
complainant of the dismissal.  If the matter is not dismissed, the 
Chairman will notify the respondent, within 15 business days after 
the Board meeting at which the complaint was considered, that a 
complaint has been filed against him or her, with written notice 
served by personal delivery or by certified mail with return receipt 
requested.  The notice shall include a copy of the complaint filed, 
with the deletion of the identity of the complainant. 

 
e) If the respondent elects to respond in writing to the complaint, his or 

her response must be filed with the Chairman within 30 days from 
receipt of the notice from the Chairman, unless, prior to the time for 
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filing of the response, a written request for extension of the time to 
respond has been filed with and granted by the Chairman, for good 
cause shown.  Only one 30 day extension may be granted by the 
Chairman.  The Respondent shall respond, in specific detail, to the 
charges of the complaint. 

 
f) The proceedings of the Board and all information and written or oral 

material pertaining to the proceedings, and all information or 
materials relating to any investigation and hearing held on specific 
complaints filed pursuant to Section 14.1 of the Act, shall not be 
available to the public pursuant to Sections 7(b-5) and (m) of the 
Freedom of Information Act [5 ILCS 140/7]. 

 
g) After examination of the complaint and response by the respondent, 

the Board may, by written or oral vote of the majority of its 
members, determine whether to dismiss the complaint or order its 
investigation.  The Board's standard for determining whether to 
dismiss a complaint is if there is any credible evidence to support the 
complainant's allegations.  An investigation may be conducted by 
Board members or by other persons designated by the Board from 
time to time to conduct these investigations. 

 
h) After consideration of the complaint and any response and 

investigation, the Board may, by written or oral vote of a majority of 
its members, determine whether to dismiss the complaint or hold a 
hearing on the complaint.  The Board's standard for determining 
whether to dismiss a complaint or hold a hearing is whether evidence 
exists to sustain the complainant's allegation that has not been 
rebutted by the respondent. When the Board has voted to dismiss a 
complaint without a hearing, it shall so notify the complainant and 
the respondent in writing.  

 
(Source:  Amended at 36 Ill. Reg. 17920, effective December 4, 2012) 
 
Section 7500.40  Hearings on Complaints 
 
a) Time and Notice of the Hearing 
 
 1) If the Board determines that a hearing on a complaint shall be 

held, it shall set a date that is within 60 days from the date of 
that determination, or as soon as possible thereafter. 

 
 2) Written notice of the date, time and place of the hearing shall be 

served on the complainant and on the respondent, or on their 
designated counsel, if any, by personal service or by certified 
mail with return receipt requested, not less than 15 days prior to 
the date set for hearing. 
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 3) Hearings before the Board shall be continued only upon written 
motion supported by good cause.  Good cause includes, but 
shall not be limited to, illness of family, death in a party's 
family, or the need for additional time to gather evidence. 

 
b) Conduct Hearings 
 
 1) All available members of the Board will sit en banc at all 

hearings on complaints, subject to non-participation of a 
member when the proceedings involve his or her own conduct 
or the Board member is involved in the events related in the 
complaint such that he or she could be called as a witness in the 
complaint. 

 
 2) Hearings on a complaint shall proceed from day to day until the 

taking of any evidence and the hearing of any arguments has 
been completed. 

 
 3) The Board shall have present at each hearing a qualified court 

reporter for the purpose of making a permanent and complete 
record of proceedings.  The original transcript of the 
proceedings shall be filed with the Board and will be available 
for inspection at the WCC offices by or on behalf of members of 
any party to the proceedings.  Upon request and at his or her 
own expense, any party to the proceedings may obtain a copy of 
the report from the court reporter at the fair market rate of 
compensation. 

 
 4) The Illinois Rules of Evidence and statutory rules of evidence 

will not be applicable for purpose of excluding offered 
evidence, but they will be considered by the Board in weighing 
the evidence received. 

 
 5) If any complaint fails to testify at a proceeding scheduled before 

the Board regarding his or her previously filed complaint, the 
complaint shall be dismissed. 

 
 6) The respondent, personally or through designated counsel, if 

any, may waive in writing his or her right to appear before the 
Board to respond to charges. 

 
 7) The respondent or the complainant may retain counsel to 

represent him or her at the hearing.  The Board may grant, on 
motion, permission to a witness to have counsel present; the 
counsel may not question or cross-examine witnesses, or 
otherwise participate in the hearing, except by permission of the 
Board. 

 
8) The respondent may be questioned by the Board concerning the 
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allegations of the complaint and will be given the opportunity to 
make such statements, offer such evidence, or give much 
information, including the names of any witnesses he or she 
may wish to have heard by the Board, relevant to the complaint 
as he or she may desire, subject to the Board's authority to place 
reasonable restrictions on duration of any statement or direct or 
cross-examination and the volume and nature of any non-
testimony evidence. 

 
c) The Board will provide a public notice of all meetings pursuant to 

Section 2.02 of the Open Meetings Act.  [5 ILCS 120/2.02]. 
 
(Source:  Amended at 36 Ill. Reg. 17920, effective December 4, 2012) 
 
Section 7500.50  Decisions of the Board 
 
a) Subsequent to the hearing on any complaint, the Board will confer to 

determine the disposition of the matter.  The Board will find an 
Arbitrator or Commissioner unfit to serve when an allegation that is 
a matter of serious concern to the State is sustained by the 
preponderance of the evidence.  In conformance with Section 14.1 of 
the Act, in matters of serious concern to the State as defined by 
Section 7500.10 (a)(3)(B), the Board may recommend that the 
Governor: 

 
 1) not reappoint an Arbitrator who is found unfit to serve; or 
 
 2) not reappoint a Commissioner who it finds unfit to serve. 
 
b) All decisions of the Board shall be preserved in the permanent 

records of the Board.  The Board will issue copies of its decisions by 
certified mail with return receipt requested to the Board members 
and to the complainants and respondent or their counsel. 

 
(Source:  Amended at 36 Ill. Reg. 17920, effective December 4, 2012) 
 
PART 9140 :  ALCOHOL AND DRUG SAMPLE COLLECTION 
AND TESTING 
 
Section 
9140.5   Definitions 
9140.10   Chain of Custody Form  
9140.20   Collection of Blood 
9140.30   Collection of Urine  
9140.40   Review of Test Results of Blood and Urine Specimens 
9140.50   Split Testing of Urine and Blood Specimens 
9140.60   Collection and Testing of Breath and Saliva for Alcohol  
 Testing 
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9140.70   Preservation of Specimens and Records 
9140.80   Materials Incorporated by Reference 
 
AUTHORITY: Implementing and authorized by the Workers' 
Compensation Act [820 ILCS 305].  
 
SOURCE: Adopted at 36 Ill. Reg. 16372, effective November 5, 2012.  
 
Section 9140.5  Definitions 

"Adulterated result" means a result that has been altered, as evidenced by 
test results showing either a substance that is not a normal constituent for 
that type of specimen or showing an abnormal concentration of an 
endogenous substance. 

"Air Blank" means, in Evidential Breath Testing Devices using gas 
chromatography technology, a reading of the device's internal standard.  
In all other evidential breath testing devices, "air blank" means a reading 
of ambient air containing no alcohol. 

"Alcohol" means the intoxicating agent in beverage alcohol, ethyl 
alcohol, or other low molecular weight alcohols, including methyl or 
isopropyl alcohol. 

"Alcohol Concentration" means the alcohol in a volume of breath 
expressed in terms of grams of alcohol per 210 liters of breath as 
indicated by a breath test under this Part. Percentage by weight of alcohol 
in the blood is based on grams of alcohol per 100 milliliters of blood.  

"Alcohol Confirmation Test" means a subsequent test using an Evidential 
Breath Test that provides quantitative data about alcohol concentration. 

"Alcohol Screening Device" means a breath or saliva device, other than 
an Evidential Breath Testing Device, that is approved by the National 
Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) and placed on a 
conforming products list for those devices. 

"Alcohol Screening Test" means an analytic procedure to determine 
whether an employee may have a prohibited concentration of alcohol in a 
breath or saliva specimen. 

"Alcohol Testing Site" means a place selected by the employer where 
employees present themselves for the purpose of providing breath or 
saliva for an alcohol test. 
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"Aliquot" means a fractional part of a specimen used for testing.  

"Breath Alcohol Technician" means a person who instructs and assists 
employees in the alcohol testing process, operates an Evidential Breath 
Testing device, and meets the qualifications set forth in Section 9140.60. 

"Certified Paramedic" means an individual licensed by the Illinois 
Department of Public Health as an Emergency Medical Technician 
(Intermediate) or Emergency Medical Technician (Paramedic) acting 
under the direction of a licensed physician as a phlebotomist. 

"Chain of Custody Form" refers to the document set forth in Section 
9140.10 that is used to ensure the integrity of urine and blood specimens 
and record testing results for the specimens. 

"Collection Container" means a container into which the employee 
urinates to provide the urine specimen for testing. 

"Collection Form" means the form required to document breath and 
saliva testing and includes the following information: 

The employee's name, address and telephone number; 

The Designated Employer Representative's name, address and 
telephone number; 

The name, address and telephone number of the Breath Alcohol 
Technician; 

The name, address and telephone number of the Screening Test 
Technician; 

The name of the testing device, the serial number or lot number, and 
expiration of the testing device; 

The activation time;  

The reading time; 

The result of the Alcohol Screening Test; 

The result of the Alcohol Confirmation Test, if applicable; and 
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A space for remarks by the Screening Test Technician or the Breath 
Alcohol Technician. 

"Collector" means a person who meets the qualifications set forth in 
Section 9140.30 and collects a urine specimen from an employer or 
person and who meets the qualifications set forth in Section 9140.20 and 
collects a blood specimen from an employee. 

"Designated Employer Representative" or "DER" means an employee 
authorized by the employer to make required decisions in the testing and 
evaluation processes. The DER also receives test results and other 
communications for the employer. 

"Drugs" means cannabis as defined in the Cannabis Control Act [720 
ILCS 550] or a controlled substance listed in the Illinois Controlled 
Substances Act [720 ILCS 570]. 

"Employee" means any person subject to testing for alcohol, drugs or 
other intoxicating compounds.  

"Employer" means a person or entity employing the person subject to 
testing for alcohol, drugs or other intoxicating compounds. 

"Evidential Breath Testing Device" means a device approved by NHTSA 
for the evidential testing of breath at .08 alcohol concentration, placed on 
NHTSA's Conforming Products List for Evidential Breath Measurement 
Devices and identified on the Conforming Products List as conforming 
with the model specifications available from NHTSA's Traffic Safety 
Program. 

"HHS" means the federal Department of Health and Human Services. 

"Intoxicating Compound" means an intoxicating compound listed in the 
Use of Intoxicating Compounds Act [720 ILCS 690]. 

"Invalid Result" means the result reported by a laboratory for a urine 
specimen that contains an unidentified adulterant, contains an 
unidentified interfering substance, has an abnormal physical 
characteristic, or has an endogenous substance at an abnormal 
concentration that prevents the laboratory from completing testing or 
obtaining a valid drug test result. 

"Laboratory" means any U.S. laboratory certified by HHS under the 
National Laboratory Certification Program as meeting the minimum 
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standards of Subpart C of the HHS Mandatory Guidelines for Federal 
Workplace Drug Testing Programs or a comparable accredited 
laboratory. 

"Medical Review Officer" or "MRO" means a person who is responsible 
for performing the functions and the qualifications set forth in Section 
9140.40. 

"Negative Result" means the result reported by a laboratory to an MRO 
when a specimen contains no drugs, other intoxicating compounds, or 
less than .08 of alcohol concentration and the specimen is a valid 
specimen. 

“Phlebotomist" means a person trained to collect blood from another 
individual through venipuncture. 

"Positive Result" means the result reported by a laboratory when a 
specimen contains a drug or intoxicating compound or alcohol 
concentration of .08 or greater. 

"Primary Specimen" means the blood or urine specimen that is tested by 
a first laboratory to determine whether the employee has alcohol, drugs 
or intoxicating compounds in his or her system. 

"Reconfirmed" means the result reported for a split specimen when the 
second laboratory is able to corroborate the original result reported for 
the primary specimen. 

"Screening Test Technician" means a person who instructs and assists 
employees in the alcohol testing process, operates an Alcohol Screening 
Device, and meets the qualifications set forth in Section 9140.60. 

"Shipping Container" means the container that is used for transporting 
and protecting urine or blood specimen bottles and associated documents 
from the collection site to the laboratory. 

"Specimen Bottle" means the bottle that, after being sealed and labeled 
according to the required procedures, is used to hold the urine specimen 
during transportation to the laboratory. 

"Split Specimen" means a part of the urine or blood specimen that is sent 
to a first laboratory and retained unopened, and which is transported to a 
second laboratory if requested to be tested following a positive test of the 
primary specimen or an adulterated or substituted test result. 
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"Split Specimen Collection" means a collection in which, for a urine 
specimen, the urine collected is divided into two separate specimen 
bottles or containers, the primary specimen and the split specimen and, 
for a blood specimen, two separate samples are collected, the primary 
specimen and the split specimen. 

"Substituted Result" means a urine specimen with creatinine and specific 
gravity values that are so diminished or so divergent that they are not 
consistent with normal human urine. 

"Verified Test" means a test result from a laboratory that has undergone 
review and final determination by the MRO. 
 
Section 9140.10  Chain of Custody Form  
 
All blood and urine specimens collected for testing shall be accompanied 
by a Chain of Custody Form, to be completed by the collector of a blood 
or urine specimen, the laboratory testing the blood or urine specimen or 
split specimen, and the MRO when applicable.  A Chain of Custody 
Form shall include all of the following information: 
 
a) A section to be completed by the collector of the specimen, which 

includes all of the following information: 
 

1) The collector's name, address and phone number; 
2) The employee's name; 
3) The name of the employer; 
4) The name of the facility where the specimen was collected and 

its address and telephone number; 
5)  The date and time that the specimen was collected; 
6) The date that the specimen was sent to a laboratory for testing; 
7) The name and address of the laboratory where the specimen will 

be sent for testing; 
8) For the collection of urine specimens, a section that indicates the 

temperature of urine specimens taken within 4 minutes after 
collection and any indication of the urine specimens unusual 
color, presence of foreign objects or material, or other signs of 
tampering;   

9) A statement for the collector to sign incorporating the following 
language: I certify that the specimen identified on this form is 
the specimen presented to me or collected by me and that it has 
been collected, labeled and sealed; and 

10) A place for remarks made by the collector of the specimen. 
 
b) A section documenting the transfer of the specimen for the purpose 

of maintaining control and accountability for the specimen. At a 
minimum, this section shall indicate: 
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1) Dates the specimen has been transferred; 
2) Signature and name of the person releasing the specimen; and 
3) Signature and name of the person receiving the specimen. 

 
c) A section to be completed by the laboratory that indicates the 

following: 
 

1) An indication as to whether the specimen was received with 
intact specimen seals; 

2) The test results; 
3) A statement for the certifying scientist to sign incorporating the 

following language: 
I certify that the specimen has been examined upon receipt, 
analyzed, and that the results set forth are for that specimen; and 

4) A place for the certifying scientist to print his or her name, the 
signature of the certifying scientist, and the date. 

 
d) A section to be completed by the MRO that includes the following: 
 

1) The name, address and telephone number of the MRO; 
2) The date the test results were received by the MRO; 
3) A statement for the MRO to sign incorporating the following 

language: 
I have reviewed and verified the laboratory tests for the 
specimen identified by this form; 

4) The determination of the test results as verified by the MRO;  
5) The time and date that the employee requested testing of a split 

specimen; and 
6) A place for remarks made by the MRO. 

 
e) The Chain of Custody Form shall be comprised of the following 

copies for distribution: 
 

1) Original laboratory copy (Copy 1), which shall be routed to the 
laboratory with the specimen. 

2) Second original laboratory copy (Copy 2), which shall be routed 
to the laboratory with the specimen; as a means of reporting the 
test result, the laboratory will forward this copy to the MRO. 

3) Split specimen copy (Copy 3), which must be prepared by the 
laboratory testing the primary specimen and accompany the split 
specimen to the second laboratory if split testing has been 
requested by the employee. 

4) MRO copy (Copy 4), which shall be routed directly to the MRO 
by the collector. 

5) Employee copy (Copy 5), which shall be given to the employee 
by the collector of the specimen.  
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6) Collector copy (Copy 6), which shall be retained by the 
collector. 

7) DER copy (Copy 7), which shall be forwarded to the DER by 
the MRO. 

 
 

f) Retention of Chain of Custody Forms.  The collector, laboratory, 
laboratory testing the split specimen, MRO and DER shall retain 
their copies of the Chain of Custody Forms for a minimum of two 
years.  

 
g) Transmission of Chain of Custody Forms.  Chain of custody forms 

shall be transmitted in a secure manner, which may include fax, 
courier, mail or electronic transmission through which security and 
confidentiality are maintained.  

 
Section 9140.20  Collection of Blood 
 
The following procedures shall be used to obtain a blood sample from an 
employee to determine alcohol concentration and the presence of drugs 
or intoxicating compounds:  
 
a) Collector of a Blood Specimen.  All blood specimens shall be 

collected by a licensed physician, advanced practice nurse, registered 
nurse, licensed practical nurse, phlebotomist, or certified paramedic.  

 
b) Collection Procedures.  A blood specimen shall be collected using 

the following procedure: 
 

1) The testing process shall start without undue delay. If the 
employee needs medical attention, this treatment shall not be 
delayed to collect a specimen. 

2) The collector shall explain the basic collection procedure to the 
employee.  

3) The blood specimen shall be collected using aseptic 
venipuncture technique.  

4) The venipuncture site shall be cleansed with an antiseptic 
substance that does not contain ethanol prior to collection.   

5) A sufficient amount of blood shall be collected to permit split 
testing. 

6) Blood specimens shall be collected in a container or tube 
containing an anticoagulant and a preservative of sodium 
fluoride.  

7) Immediately after collection, the collector shall rock the 
container or tube gently to mix the anticoagulant and 
preservative substance with the blood. 
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c) Collection Materials.  A blood specimen shall be collected in tubes 
or containers with a visible tamper-evident system or seals that 
adequately protect again sample contamination.  

 
d) Completion of Collection Process. To complete the collection 

process, the collector shall complete the following procedure: 
 

1) The collector shall place the specimen in a shipping container 
designed to minimize the possibility of damage during shipment 
and seal the shipping container as appropriate. 

2) The collector shall complete all applicable portions of the Chain 
of Custody Form as specified in Section 9140.10. 

3) The collector shall ensure that each specimen collected is 
shipped to a laboratory as quickly as possible, but no later than 
24 hours after collection or during the next business day after 
collection. 

 
Section 9140.30 Collection of Urine  
 
The following procedures shall be used to obtain a urine sample from a 
subject to determine alcohol concentration and the presence of drugs or 
intoxicating compounds:  
 
a) Urine Collector 

1) Urine specimens shall be collected by any of the following:  a 
collector meeting the training requirements of 49 CFR 40.33 
(2012), licensed physician, advanced practice nurse, registered 
nurse or licensed practical nurse.   

2) The following persons shall not serve as a collector: 
A) the immediate supervisor of the employee being tested, 

unless no other collector is available; 
B) or a person employed by a laboratory who could link the 

employee with a urine specimen, testing result or laboratory 
report. 

 
b) Collection Site.  A collection site may be in a medical facility, a 

mobile facility, a dedicated collection facility, or any other location 
meeting the requirements of this Section.  The collection site must 
have a source of water for washing hands that, if practicable, should 
be external to the closed room where urination occurs.  

 
c) Prevention of Sample Adulteration.  Collectors shall make all 

attempts to do the following before each collection to deter 
tampering with specimens: 

 
1) Secure any water sources or otherwise make them unavailable to 

the employee providing the specimen; 
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2) Ensure that the water in the toilet is blue or secure any movable 
toilet tank top; 

3) Ensure that no soap, disinfectants, cleaning agents or other 
possible adulterants are accessible to the employee at the 
collection site; 

4) Inspect the collection site to ensure that no foreign or 
unauthorized substances are present; 

5) Ensure that undetected access to the site is not possible; and 
6) Secure areas and items that appear suitable for concealing 

contaminants. 
 
d) Prevention of Sample Contamination.  Collectors shall follow the 

following procedures to prevent contamination of the sample: 
 

1)  To avoid distraction that could compromise security, conduct 
only one collection for one employee at a time; 

2) To the greatest extent possible, keep an employee's collection 
container within view of both the collector and the employee 
between the time the employee has urinated and the time the 
specimen is sealed; 

3) Ensure that the collector is the only person in addition to the 
employee who handles the specimen before it is poured into the 
bottles and sealed with tamper-evident seals; 

4) Maintain personal control over each specimen throughout the 
collection process; and 

5)  Minimize the number of persons handling the specimen. 
 
e) Collection Materials 
 

1)  Urine shall be collected in containers that: 
A) are a single-use container, made of plastic, large enough to 

easily catch and hold at least 55 mL of urine voided from 
the body; 

B)  have graduated volume markings clearly noting levels of 45 
mL and above; 

C)  have a temperature strip providing graduated temperature 
readings 32-38 degrees Celsius or 90-100 degrees 
Fahrenheit, that is affixed or can be affixed at a proper level 
on the outside of the collection container. Other 
methodologies are acceptable, provided that the 
temperature measurement is accurate and that there is no 
potential for contamination of the specimen; and 

D) are individually wrapped in a sealed plastic bag or shrink 
wrapping or must have a peelable, sealed lid or other easily 
visible tamper-evident system. 

2) Urine shall be placed in specimen bottles that: 
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A) are large enough to hold at least 35 mL or, alternatively, 
they may be two distinct sizes of specimen bottles provided 
that the bottle designed to hold the primary specimen holds 
at least 35 mL of urine and the bottle designed to hold the 
split specimen holds at least 20 mL; 

B) have screw-on or snap-on caps that prevent seepage of the 
urine from the bottles during shipment; 

C)  have markings clearly indicating the appropriate levels (30 
mL for the primary specimen and 15 mL for the split 
specimen) of urine that must be poured into the bottles; 

D) meet the following specifications: 
i) are wrapped (with caps) together in a sealed plastic bag 

or shrink wrapping separate from the collection 
container; or 

ii) are wrapped (with cap) individually in sealed plastic 
bags or shrink wrapping; or 

iii) have peelable, sealed lid or other easily visible tamper-
evident system; and 

E)  if made of plastic, are leach resistant. 
3) Specimen bottles shall be placed in a plastic bag that: 

A) has two sealable compartments or pouches that are leak-
resistant or a single bag that is large enough to hold two 
specimen bottles; 

B) demonstrates that any tampering or attempts to open either 
compartment have occurred; and 

C)  contain enough absorbent material to absorb the entire 
contents of both specimen bottles.  

 
f) Collection Procedures.  The collection of urine shall be 

performed in accordance with the following guidelines: 
 

1)  When the employee enters the collection site, the testing 
process shall start without undue delay. If the employee 
needs medical attention, this treatment shall not be delayed 
to collect a specimen. 

2) The employee must provide identification to the collector 
before testing. 

3)  The collector shall explain the basic collection procedure to 
the employee.  

4)   If an employee normally voids through self-catheterization, 
the collector shall instruct the employee that he or she is 
required to provide a specimen in that manner. 

5)   The collector shall instruct the employee to wash and dry 
his or her hands at this time and instruct the employee not 
to wash his or her hands again until after delivering the 
specimen to the collector.  
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6)  The employee may provide his or her urine specimen in a 
stall or otherwise partitioned enclosure that allows for 
individual privacy. The collector shall remain in the 
restroom or area, but outside the stall or partitioned 
enclosure. 

7)   The collector shall select, or allow the employee to select, 
an individually wrapped or sealed collection container from 
collection kit materials. Either the collector or the 
employee, with both the collector and the employee present, 
must unwrap or break the seal of the collection container. 
The collector shall not unwrap or break the seal on any 
specimen bottle at this time.  

8)  The employee shall only take the collection container into 
the room used for urination. 

9) The collector shall collect a specimen of at least 45 mL. 
 

g) Steps Following Collection of Urine Specimen.  The collector 
shall perform the following after the collection of the urine 
specimen: 

 
1) The collector shall check the temperature of the specimen 

no later than four minutes after the employee has given the 
specimen to the collector by reading the temperature strip 
attached to the collection container and report this 
information on the Chain of Custody Form.   

2) The collector shall inspect the specimen for unusual color, 
presence of foreign objects or material, or other signs of 
tampering.  

 
h) Direct Observation Collection Procedure.  The collector shall initiate 

a direct observation collection procedure if:  the temperature of the 
urine is outside of the temperature range of 32-38 degrees Celsius or 
90-100 degrees Fahrenheit; the collector determines that material 
appears to be brought to the collection site with the intent to alter the 
specimen; or it is apparent from this inspection that the employee 
has tampered with the specimen. The direct observation collection 
procedure shall be performed in accordance with the following 
guidelines: 

 
1) The collector shall explain to the employee the reason for a 

directly observed collection.   
2)  The observer shall be the same gender as the employee.  The 

observer may be a different person from the collector and need 
not be a qualified collector. 

3)  The observer must request the employee to raise his or her shirt, 
blouse, dress or skirt, as appropriate, above the waist and lower 
clothing and underpants to show the collector, by turning 
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around, that the employee does not have a prosthetic device. 
After the collector has determined that the employee does not 
have such a device, the employee may return his or her clothing 
to its proper position for observed urination. 

4)  The observer shall watch the employee urinate into the 
collection container.   

5)  The observer shall watch the specimen as the employee takes it 
to the collector. If the observer is not the collector, the observer 
shall not take the collection container from the employee.   

6)  If another person has acted as the observer, his or her name shall 
be recorded on the Chain of Custody Form. 

 
i) Preparation of Urine Specimen.  The collector shall take the follow 

steps after collection in the presence of the employee: 
 

1) Pour at least 30 mL of urine from the collection container into 
one specimen bottle, to be used for the primary specimen. 

2)  Pour at least 15 mL of urine from the collection container into 
the second specimen bottle to be used for the split specimen. 

3) Place and secure the lids or caps on the bottles. 
4)  Seal the bottles by placing the tamper-evident bottle seals over 

the bottle caps/lids and down the sides of the bottles. 
5) Write the date on the tamper-evident bottle seals. 
6) Discard any urine left over in the collection container after both 

specimen bottles have been appropriately filled and sealed. 
7) Allow the employee to initial the tamper-evident bottle seals for 

the purpose of certifying that the bottles contain the specimens 
provided.  

 
j)  Completion of Collection Process. To complete the collection 

process, the collector shall follow the following procedure: 
 

1) The collector shall secure the pouches of the plastic bag 
containing the specimens in the presence of the employee. 

2)  The collector shall place the sealed plastic bag in a shipping 
container designed to minimize the possibility of damage during 
shipment and seal the shipping container as appropriate. 

3)  The collector shall complete all applicable portions of the Chain 
of Custody Form as specified in Section 9140.10. 

4) The collector shall ensure that each specimen collected is 
shipped to a laboratory as quickly as possible, but no later than 
24 hours after collection or during the next business day after 
collection. 
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Section 9140.40  Review of Test Results of Blood and Urine 
Specimens 
 
a) Verification of Test Results by the MRO.  Prior to the transmission 

of test results to the DER, all results shall be reviewed and verified 
by an MRO. 

 
b) Qualifications of the MRO.  The MRO must meet the qualifications 

set forth in 49 CFR 40.121 (2012).  The MRO shall not be employed 
by the laboratory performing testing pursuant to this Part.  An 
employer or DER shall not serve as the MRO for his or her own 
employees. 

 
c) Positive, Adulterated or Substituted Results 
 

1) If an MRO receives a positive, adulterated or substituted result 
from a laboratory, the MRO shall contact the employee within 
72 hours after receipt of the test result from the laboratory.  The 
MRO shall allow the employee to provide any information the 
employee considers relevant to the positive, substituted or 
adulterated test result, including identification of currently or 
recently used prescription or nonprescription drugs and other 
relevant medical information.  The MRO shall also inform the 
employee of his or her right to request testing of a split 
specimen pursuant to Section 9140.50. 

2) If the MRO is unable to contact the employee with a positive, 
adulterated or substituted test result within 72 hours after receipt 
of the test results from the laboratory, the MRO shall contact the 
DER and request that the DER direct the employee to contact 
the MRO as soon as possible. 

 
d) Verification of Positive, Substituted or Adulterated Results.  To 

verify a positive, adulterated, or substituted test result, the MRO 
shall complete all of the following procedures: 
1) Receive and review the test results from the laboratory; 
2) Verify that the collector and the laboratory utilized proper 

collection techniques; 
3)  Ensure that the test result accurately identifies the employee;  
4) Review any documentation provided by the employee regarding 

currently or recently used prescription or nonprescription drugs 
and other relevant medical information and whether this 
information could have produced a positive, substituted or 
adulterated result; 

5) Review the results of the testing of a split specimen if that 
testing has been requested; 
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6) Notify the DER in writing of the verified positive, substituted or 
adulterated test result within seven days after receiving the test 
result from the laboratory; 

7) Complete all applicable portions of the Chain of Custody Form 
and forward this form to the DER; 

8) Within 24 hours after notification of the DER of a positive, 
adulterated or substituted test result, notify the laboratory that 
the positive, adulterated or substituted test result has been 
submitted to the DER. 

 
e) Verification of Negative Results.  To verify a negative test result, the 

MRO shall complete all of the following procedures: 
1) Receive and review the test results from the laboratory; 
2) Verify that the collector and the laboratory utilized proper 

collection techniques; 
3) Ensure that the result accurately identifies the employee;  
4) Notify the DER of the negative test result within 5 days after the 

receipt of the test result from the laboratory; 
5) Complete all applicable portions of the Chain of Custody Form 

and forward this form to the DER; 
6) Within 24 hours after notification of the DER of a negative test 

result, notify the laboratory that the negative test result has been 
submitted to the DER. 

 
Section 9140.50  Split Testing of Urine and Blood Specimens 
 
a) Request to Test a Split Specimen   

1) When the MRO notifies the employee that the employee has a 
positive, substituted or adulterated result, the employee may 
request a test of the split specimen within 72 hours from the 
time of notification by the MRO. The request by the employee 
may be verbal or in writing.  

2)  If the employee has not requested a test of the split specimen 
within 72 hours, the employee may present to the MRO 
information documenting that serious injury, illness, lack of 
actual notice of the verified test result, inability to contact the 
MRO, or other circumstances unavoidably prevented the 
employee from making a timely request. 

3) If the MRO concludes from the employee's information that 
there was a legitimate reason for the employee's failure to 
contact the MRO within 72 hours, the MRO must direct that the 
test of the split specimen take place. 

4) When an MRO has been requested by the employee or directed 
by the MRO, the MRO shall immediately provide written notice 
to the laboratory that tested the primary specimen, directing the 
laboratory to forward the split specimen to a second laboratory. 
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The laboratory shall forward a copy of the Chain of Custody 
Form to the second laboratory. 

 
b) Cost of the Split Specimen Testing.  The employer shall ensure that 

the split specimen testing is conducted as required by this Section.  
The employer may seek payment or reimbursement of all or part of 
the cost of the split specimen from the employee.  An employer shall 
not condition compliance with this Section on the employee's 
payment of split testing. 

 
c) Procedural Requirements for the Laboratory Testing the Primary 

Specimen 
1) The first laboratory at which the primary and split specimen 

arrive must check to see whether the split specimen is available 
for testing.  If the split specimen is unavailable or appears 
insufficient, the laboratory must do the following: 
A)   Continue the testing process for the primary specimen. The 

laboratory shall report the results for the primary specimen 
without providing the MRO information regarding the 
unavailable split specimen. 

B) Upon receiving a letter from the MRO instructing the 
laboratory to forward the split specimen to another 
laboratory for testing, report to the MRO that the split 
specimen is unavailable for testing. The laboratory shall 
provide as much information as possible about the cause of 
the unavailability. 

2)  The laboratory testing the primary specimen is not authorized to 
open the split specimen under any circumstances.  

3) When the laboratory that tested the primary specimen receives 
written notice from the MRO to send the split specimen to 
another laboratory, it must forward both the split specimen in its 
original specimen bottle, with the seal intact, and a copy of the 
MRO's written request to the second laboratory. 

4) The laboratory that tested the primary specimen must not send 
to the second laboratory any information about the identity of 
the employee, excluding the initials of the employee on the 
specimen container or bottle.  

 
d) Procedural Requirements for the Laboratory Testing the Split 

Specimen 
1) Testing of a Split Specimen When it is Tested to Reconfirm the 

Presence of Alcohol, Drugs or Other Intoxicating Compounds 
A) The laboratory testing the split specimen must test the split 

specimen for the alcohol, drugs or other intoxicating 
compounds detected in the primary specimen. 

B) If the test fails to reconfirm the presence of the alcohol, 
drugs or other intoxicating compounds that were reported 
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positive in the primary specimen, the laboratory must 
conduct validity tests in an attempt to determine the reason 
for being unable to reconfirm the presence of alcohol, drugs 
or other intoxicating compounds 

C) In addition, if the test fails to reconfirm the presence of the 
alcohol, drugs or other intoxicating compounds reported in 
the primary specimen, at the employer's discretion the 
laboratory may send the specimen or an aliquot of it, if a 
sufficient amount is available, for testing at another 
laboratory that has the capability to conduct another 
reconfirmation test. 

2) Testing of a Split Specimen When it is Tested to Reconfirm an 
Adulterated Test Result  
A) The laboratory testing the split specimen must test the split 

specimen for the adulterant detected in the primary 
specimen, using the confirmatory test for the adulterant.  

B If the test fails to reconfirm the adulterant result reported in 
the primary specimen, the laboratory may send the 
specimen or an aliquot of it for testing at another laboratory 
that has the capability to conduct another reconfirmation 
test. 

3) Testing of a split specimen when it is tested to reconfirm a 
substituted test result.  The laboratory testing the split specimen 
must test the split specimen using the confirmatory tests for 
creatinine and specific gravity. 

 
e) Reporting of Split Specimen Testing Results by Testing Laboratory.  

The laboratory responsible for testing the split specimen must report 
split specimen test results to the MRO immediately. The laboratory 
testing the split specimen shall not report results to or through the 
DER. 

 
Section 9140.60  Collection and Testing of Breath and Saliva for 
Alcohol Testing 
 
a) Collectors for Alcohol Testing.  A Screening Test Technician shall 

conduct only alcohol screening tests.  Breath Alcohol Technicians 
may conduct alcohol screening and confirmation tests.  The 
immediate supervisor of an employee may not act as the Screening 
Test Technician or Breath Alcohol Technician (in this Section, "the 
Technician") when that employee is tested, unless no other 
Technician is available.  A Technician must meet the training 
requirements set forth in 49 CFR 40.213 (2012). 

 
b) Collection Site.  The testing of breath and saliva may take place at a 

medical facility, a mobile facility, a dedicated collection facility, or 
any other location meeting the requirements of this Section.  The 
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collection site must provide visual and aural privacy to the employee 
being tested, sufficient to prevent unauthorized persons from seeing 
or hearing test results.  The collection site must have all needed 
personnel, materials, equipment and facilities to provide for the 
collection and analysis of breath or saliva samples and a suitable 
clean surface for writing.   

 
c)  Collection by Law Enforcement Officers.  Nothing in this Section 

shall preclude the collection and testing of breath or saliva by a law 
enforcement officer.  Notwithstanding the procedures for the 
collection and testing of breath and saliva set forth in this Section, 
testing and collection performed by a law enforcement officer shall 
be considered acceptable procedure for the collection and testing of 
breath and alcohol.  Any collection or testing of breath or saliva 
performed by a law enforcement officer shall be subject to any 
objection pursuant to the Illinois Rules of Evidence and statutory 
rules of evidence when applicable. 

 
d) Collection Form.  Alcohol testing shall be documented using a 

collection form as defined in Section 9140.5.  
 
e)  Devices for Alcohol Testing.  All devices used for the testing of 

breath and saliva for alcohol shall meet the following requirements: 
1) Alcohol Screening Test Devices.  Evidential Breath Testing 

Devices and Alcohol Screening Devices on the NHTSA 
conforming products lists for evidential and non-evidential 
devices are the only devices allowed to be used to conduct 
alcohol screening tests. An Alcohol Screening Device shall be 
used only for screening tests for alcohol and not for alcohol 
confirmation tests.  

2)  Alcohol Confirmation Test Devices.  An alcohol confirmation 
test shall be performed with an Evidential Breath Testing 
Device that: 
A)  is listed on the NHTSA Conforming Products Lists for 

Evidential Breath Testing Devices; 
B)   provides a printed triplicate result (or three consecutive 

identical copies of a result) of each breath test; 
C) assigns a unique number to each completed test, which the 

Technician and the employee can read before each test and 
that is printed on each copy of the result; 

D) prints, on each copy of the result, the manufacturer's name 
for the device, its serial number, and the time of the test; 

E) distinguishes alcohol from acetone at the 0.08 alcohol 
concentration level; 

F)  tests an air blank; and 
G) performs an external calibration check. 
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f) Use and Care of Devices for Alcohol Testing 
1) Evidential Breath Testing Devices.  Users of an Evidential 

Breath Testing Device must: 
A) follow the manufacturer's instructions, including 

performance of external calibration checks at the intervals 
the instructions specify. 

B) in conducting external calibration checks, use only 
calibration devices appearing on NHTSA's Conforming 
Products List for Calibrating Units for Breath Alcohol 
Tests. 

C maintain records of the inspection, maintenance and 
calibration of Evidential Breath Testing Device for two 
years; and 

D) ensure that inspection, maintenance and calibration of the 
Evidential Breath Testing Device are performed by its 
manufacturer or a maintenance representative certified 
either by the manufacturer or by a state health agency or 
other appropriate state agency.  If an Evidential Breath 
Testing Device fails an external check of calibration, the 
Evidential Breath Testing Device must be taken out of 
service. The Evidential Breath Testing Device may not be 
used again for alcohol testing until it is repaired and passes 
an external calibration check. 

2)  Alcohol Screening Device.   
A) Users of an Alcohol Screening Device must: 

i) follow the quality assurance plan instructions created 
by the manufacturer of the Alcohol Screening Device; 
and 

ii) follow all device and care requirements for Evidential 
Breath Testing Devices. 

B) An Alcohol Screening Device that does not pass the 
specified quality control checks or has passed its expiration 
date shall not be used. 

 
g) Alcohol Screening Test Procedures 

1) Initial Procedures.  The Breath Alcohol Technician or Screening 
Test Technician shall take the following steps to begin all 
alcohol screening tests, regardless of the type of testing device 
used: 
A) The Technician shall ensure that, when the employee enters 

the alcohol testing site, the alcohol testing process begins 
without undue delay.  

B) If the employee is also going to provide a urine or blood 
specimen, the Technician shall, to the greatest extent 
practicable, ensure that the alcohol test is completed before 
the urine or blood collection process begins. 
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C) If the employee needs medical attention, this treatment shall 
not be delayed to conduct an Alcohol Screening Test. 

D) The employee shall provide the Technician with positive 
identification.  

E) The Technician shall explain the testing procedure to the 
employee. 

2) Evidential Breath Testing Device or Non-evidential Breath 
Alcohol Screening Device.  For an alcohol screening test using 
an Evidential Breath Testing Device or non-evidential breath 
Alcohol Screening Device, the Technician shall execute the 
following procedure: 
A) Select, or allow the employee to select, an individually 

wrapped or sealed mouthpiece from the testing materials. 
B) Open the individually wrapped or sealed mouthpiece in 

view of the employee and insert it into the device in 
accordance with the manufacturer's instructions. 

C)  Instruct the employee to blow steadily and forcefully into 
the mouthpiece for at least six seconds or until the device 
indicates that an adequate amount of breath has been 
obtained. 

D) Show the employee the displayed test result. 
E) If the device is one that prints the test number, testing 

device name and serial number, time and result directly 
onto the collection form, the Technician shall ensure that 
the information has been printed correctly onto the 
collection form. 

F) If the device is one that prints the test number, testing 
device name and serial number, time and result, but on a 
separate printout rather than directly onto the collection 
form, the Technician shall affix the printout of the 
information to the collection form with tamper-evident tape 
or use a self-adhesive label that is tamper-evident. 

G) If the device is one that does not print the test number, 
testing device name and serial number, time and result, or is 
a device not being used with a printer, the Technician shall 
record this information on the collection form. 

3) Procedure for an Alcohol Screening Test using a Saliva Alcohol 
Screening Device or a Breath Tube Alcohol Screening Device.  
The Technician shall execute the following procedure when 
using the saliva Alcohol Screening Device: 
A) Check the expiration date on the device or on the package 

containing the device and show it to the employee. The 
device shall not be used after its expiration date. 

B) Open an individually wrapped or sealed package containing 
the device in the presence of the employee. 
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C) Offer the employee the opportunity to use the device. If the 
employee uses it, the Technician shall instruct the employee 
to insert it into his or her mouth and use it in a manner 
described by the device's manufacturer. 

D) If the employee chooses not to use the device, or in all 
cases in which a new test is necessary because the device 
did not activate, the Technician shall insert the device into 
the employee's mouth and gather saliva in the manner 
described by the device's manufacturer. The Technician 
shall wear single-use examination or similar gloves while 
doing so and change them following each test. 

E) When the device is removed from the employee's mouth, 
the Technician shall follow the manufacturer's instructions 
regarding necessary next steps in ensuring that the device 
has activated. 

F) If the Technician is unable to successfully follow these 
procedures, he or she shall discard the device and conduct a 
new test using a new device.  The new device must be one 
that has been under the control of the Technician.  The 
Technician shall note on the remarks section of the 
collection form the reason for the new test. The Technician 
shall offer the employee the choice of using the device or 
having the Technician use it unless the employee was 
responsible for the new test needing to be conducted. 

G) If the Technician is unable to successfully follow the 
required procedures on the new test, he or she shall end the 
collection and include an explanation on the remarks 
section of the collection form.  The Technician shall then 
direct the employee to take a new test immediately, using 
an Evidential Breath Testing Device for the screening test. 

H) If the Technician is able to successfully follow the 
procedures, but the device does not activate, he or she shall 
discard the device and conduct a new test. In this case, the 
Technician shall place the device into the employee's mouth 
to collect saliva for the new test. 

I)  The Technician shall read the result displayed on the 
device no sooner than the device's manufacturer instructs. 
In all cases, the result displayed must be read within 15 
minutes after the test. The Technician shall then show the 
device and its reading to the employee and enter the result 
on the collection form. 

J) The Technician shall not re-use devices, swabs, gloves or 
other materials used in saliva testing. 

4) Procedure for Breath Tube Alcohol Screening Device. The 
Technician shall execute the following procedure when using 
the breath tube Alcohol Screening Device: 
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A)  Check the expiration date on the detector device and the 
electronic analyzer or on the package containing the device 
and the analyzer and show it to the employee. The 
Technician shall not use the device or the analyzer after its 
expiration date. The Technician shall not use an analyzer 
that is not specifically pre-calibrated for the device being 
used in the collection. 

B)  Remove the device from the package and secure an 
inflation bag onto the appropriate end of the device, as 
directed by the manufacturer on the device's instructions. 

C) Break the tube's ampoule in the presence of the employee.  
D) Offer the employee the opportunity to use the device. If the 

employee chooses to use the device, instruct the employee 
to blow forcefully and steadily into the blowing end of 
device until the inflation bag fills with air. 

E) If the employee chooses not to hold the device, the 
Technician shall hold the device. 

F)  When the employee completes the breath process, take the 
device from the employee, remove the inflation bag, and 
prepare the device to be read by the analyzer in accordance 
with the manufacturer's directions. 

G) If the Technician was unable to successfully complete these 
procedures, he or she shall discard the device and conduct a 
new test using a new one. The new device must be one that 
has been under the control of the Technician before the test. 
The Technician shall note on the remarks section of the 
collection form the reason for the new test.  

H) The Technician shall offer the employee the choice of 
holding the device or having the Technician hold it, unless 
the employee was responsible for the new test needing to be 
conducted. 

I) If the Technician is unable to successfully follow the 
required procedures on the new test, he or she shall end the 
collection and put an explanation in the remarks section of 
the collection form. 

J)  The Technician shall then direct the employee to take a new 
test immediately, using another type of Alcohol Screening 
Device or an Evidential Breath Testing Device. 

K)  If the Technician was able to successfully follow the 
required procedures, and after having waited the required 
amount of time directed by the manufacturer for the 
detector device to incubate, the Technician shall place the 
device in the analyzer in accordance with the 
manufacturer's directions. The result must be read from the 
analyzer no earlier than the required incubation time of the 
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device. In all cases, the result shall be read within 15 
minutes after the test. 

L) The Technician shall follow the manufacturer's instructions 
for determining the result of the test. He or she shall show 
the analyzer result to the employee and record it on the 
collection form. 

M) The Technician shall never re-use detector devices or any 
gloves used in breath tube testing. The inflation bag must 
be voided of air following removal from a device. Inflation 
bags and electronic analyzers may be re-used but only in 
accordance with the manufacturer's directions. 

5) Procedures Following an Alcohol Screening Test Result 
A)  The Breath Alcohol Technician or the Screening Test 

Technician shall complete and sign the collection form. 
B) If the test result is an alcohol concentration of less than 

0.08, the Technician, must complete the collection form and 
transmit the result to the DER in a confidential manner. 

C) If the test result is an alcohol concentration of 0.08 or 
higher, the Technician shall direct the employee to take an 
Alcohol Confirmation Test. 

D) If the test result is any other result, the Technician shall 
note this result in the remarks section of the collection 
form. 

 
h) Alcohol Confirmation Test Procedures 

 
1) Initial Procedures.  Before starting the Alcohol 

Confirmation Test, the Breath Alcohol Technician shall 
execute the following procedure: 
A) Ensure that the employee waits at least 15 minutes 

before taking an alcohol confirmation test, starting with 
the completion of the Alcohol Screening Test. After the 
waiting period has elapsed, the Breath Alcohol 
Technician shall begin the Alcohol Confirmation Test 
as soon as possible, but not more than 30 minutes after 
the completion of the Alcohol Screening Test. 

B) The Breath Alcohol Technician shall observe the 
employee during the waiting period. 

C) The employee shall be given the following instructions 
before beginning the waiting period: 
i) Not to eat, drink, put anything, such as a cigarette 

or chewing gum, into his or her mouth, or belch; 
ii)  That the reason for the waiting period is to prevent 

inaccurate reading; 
iii) That following the instructions concerning the 

waiting period is to the employee's benefit; and 
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iv) That the confirmation test will be conducted at the 
end of the waiting period, even if the instructions 
have not been followed. 

D) If the Breath Alcohol Technician is aware that the 
employee has not followed the instructions, this should 
be noted in the remarks section of the collection form. 

E) If the Breath Alcohol Technician did not conduct the 
Alcohol Screening Test for the employee, the Breath 
Alcohol Technician performing the Alcohol 
Confirmation Test shall require positive identification 
of the employee, explain the confirmation procedures, 
and use a new collection form. The Breath Alcohol 
Technician performing the Alcohol Confirmation Test 
must note on the remarks section of the collection form 
that a different Breath Alcohol Technician or Screening 
Test Technician conducted the Alcohol Screening Test. 

F) Even if more than 30 minutes have passed since the 
screening test result was obtained, the Breath Alcohol 
Technician shall begin the Alcohol Confirmation Test, 
not another Alcohol Screening Test. 

G) The Breath Alcohol Technician performing the 
Alcohol Confirmation Test shall note in the remarks 
section of the collection form the time that elapsed 
between the two events and, if the Alcohol 
Confirmation Test could not begin within 30 minutes 
after the screening test, the reason why. 

2) Alcohol Confirmation Test Procedures.  The Breath Alcohol 
Technician conducting the Alcohol Confirmation Test must 
execute the following procedures to complete the Alcohol 
Confirmation Test process: 

A) In the presence of the employee, conduct an air blank 
on the Evidential Breath Testing Device to be used for 
the Alcohol Confirmation Test before beginning the 
confirmation test and show the reading to the 
employee. 
i) If the reading is 0.00, the test may proceed. If the 

reading is greater than 0.00, another air blank shall 
be conducted. 

ii) If the reading on the second air blank is 0.00, the 
test may proceed. If the reading is greater than 
0.00, the Breath Alcohol Technician must take the 
Evidential Breath Testing Device out of service. If 
the Evidential Breath Testing Device is taken out 
of service for an air blank reading greater than 
0.00, the Evidential Breath Testing Device shall 



 128 

not be used until it is found to be within tolerance 
limits on an external check of calibration. 

B) Open a new individually wrapped or sealed mouthpiece 
in view of the employee and insert it into the device in 
accordance with the manufacturer's instructions. 

C) The Breath Alcohol Technician and the employee shall 
both read the unique test number displayed on the 
Evidential Breath Testing Device. 

D)  Instruct the employee to blow steadily and forcefully 
into the mouthpiece for at least six seconds or until the 
device indicates that an adequate amount of breath has 
been obtained. 

E)  Show the employee the result displayed on the 
Evidential Breath Testing Device. 

F) Show the employee the result and unique test number 
that the Evidential Breath Testing Device prints out. 

G) If the Evidential Breath Testing Device provides a 
separate printout of the result, attach the printout to the 
collection form with tamper-evident tape, or use a self-
adhesive label that is tamper-evident. 

3) Procedures Following an Alcohol Confirmation Test 
Result.  After the Evidential Breath Testing Device has 
printed the result of an alcohol confirmation test, the Breath 
Alcohol Technician shall execute the following procedures:  
A) Indicate the alcohol reading from the Evidential Breath 

Testing Device on the collection form and sign the 
collection form.  

B If the test produces any other results, indicate these 
results in the remarks section of the collection form. 

C) Immediately transmit the collection form with the 
reported result directly to the DER and the employee in 
a confidential manner. 

 
Section 9140.70  Preservation of Specimens and Records 
 
a) Laboratories testing a primary specimen of blood or urine that was 

reported with a verified positive, adulterated or substituted result 
must retain the primary specimen for a minimum of three years.  The 
specimen shall be kept in secure, long-term, frozen storage in 
accordance with requirements set forth by HHS. 

 
b)  Within the three-year period, the MRO, the employee, or the DER 

may request in writing that the laboratory retain a specimen for an 
additional period of time, not to exceed one additional year. 

 
c) If a laboratory has not sent the split specimen to another laboratory 

for testing, the laboratory must retain the split specimen for the same 
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period of time as the primary specimen and under the same storage 
conditions. 

 
d) Laboratories testing the split specimen must preserve the split 

specimen in accordance with subsections (a) and (b).  
 
e) Laboratories must retain all records pertaining to the testing of each 

employee specimen for a minimum of two years. Within this two-
year period, the MRO, the employee or the DER may request in 
writing that the laboratory retain the records for an additional period 
of time, not to exceed two additional years. 

 
f) The employer shall maintain all collection forms for breath and 

saliva testing for a minimum of three years. Within this three-year 
period, the employee may request in writing that the employer retain 
the records for an additional period of time, not to exceed one 
additional year. 

 
g) Laboratories testing a specimen of blood or urine that was reported 

with a verified negative result shall discard both the primary and the 
split specimen as soon as possible. 

 
Section 9140.80  Materials Incorporated by Reference 
 
Copies of the incorporated material are available from the Illinois 
Workers' Compensation Commission, 100 West Randolph, Suite 8-200, 
Chicago, Illinois 60601 or on the Commission's Internet website, 
http://www.iwcc.il.gov/. 
 


