MINUTES OF THE ILLINOIS WORKERS' COMPENSATION COMMISSION WORKERS' COMPENSATION ADVISORY BOARD MEETING JAMES R. THOMPSON CENTER, 100 WEST RANDOLPH STREET CHAIRMAN'S CONFERENCE ROOM HELD ON JANUARY 20, 2012 at 3:00 PM

Present at the meeting were:

Chairman Mitch Weisz, ex officio member Richard Aleksy – Corti, Aleksy, and Castenada John Carpenter – Chicagoland Chamber of Commerce

Participating via Teleconference were:

Michael Carrigan – Illinois AFL-CIO Sean Stott – Laborers' International Union Mitchell Abbett – Holten Meat Inc. Mark Denzler – Illinois Manufacturers' Association Aaron Anderson – Painters District Council #30 Mark Prince – Prince Law Firm William Lowry – Nyhan, Bambrick, Kinzie, and Lowry David Vite – Illinois Retail Merchants Association David Halffield – Sears Holding Management Company

IWCC staff present at the meeting were:

Kim Janas, Secretary of the Commission Darrell Widen, Deputy General Counsel

Chairman Mitch Weisz called the meeting to order at 3:00 pm and noted that a quorum was present. There was a motion by Mr. Alesky, seconded by Mr. Carpenter, and unanimously carried to approve the minutes from meetings held on August 1, 2, 24, September 2, 16, October 5, 7, and November 30, 2011.

There was a motion by Mr. Carpenter, seconded by Mr. Aleksy, and unanimously carried to move the meeting into closed session pursuant to Section 2a of the Open Meetings Act based on the exemptions specified under Sections 2(c)(1) and 2(c)(3) of the Act to interview a candidate for possible recommendation by the Board as an Arbitrator for the Illinois Workers' Compensation Commission and for deliberations on this recommendation.

There was a motion by Mr. Aleksy, seconded by Mr. Carpenter, and unanimously carried to arise from closed session.

There was a motion by Mr. Prince and seconded by Mr. Carpenter to recommend Mr. Brandon J. Zanotti to the Governor for appointment as an Arbitrator at the Illinois Workers' Compensation Commission. The following members of the Board voted in the affirmative: Mr. Carpenter, Mr. Abbett, Mr. Anderson, Mr. Carrigan, Mr. Denzler, Mr. Halfield, Mr. Stott, and Mr. Vite. The following members voted present: Mr. Lowry, Mr. Aleksy, and Mr. Prince. With a vote of 8-0-3, the motion carried and the recommendation of the Board will be reported to the Governor by Chairman Weisz.

There was a motion by Mr. Aleksy, seconded by Mr. Carpenter, and unanimously carried to adjourn the meeting.