MINUTES OF THE ILLINOIS WORKERS' COMPENSATION COMMISSION WORKERS' COMPENSATION ADVISORY BOARD MEETING JAMES R. THOMPSON CENTER, 100 WEST RANDOLPH STREET CHAIRMAN'S CONFERENCE ROOM HELD ON JUNE 27, 2013 at 2:00 PM

Present at the meeting:

Chairman Michael Latz Aaron Anderson John Carpenter Michael Carrigan William Lowry David Vite

Not present at the meeting:

Richard Alesky Mitch Abbett Mark Denzler

Present by telephone:

Phil Gruber David Halffield Mark Prince Sean Stott

IWCC staff present at the meeting were:

Kimberly Janas, Secretary of the Commission Ronald Rascia, General Counsel

Chairman Michael Latz called the meeting to order and noted that a quorum was present. There was a motion by Mr. Gruber, seconded by Mr. Carrigan, and unanimously carried to approve the minutes from the meeting held on April 26, 2013.

Next, Chairman Latz asked Ms. Janas to provide the Board with a summary of House Bill 3390. Ms. Janas summarized the provisions of the bill, all of which are initiatives of the Commission, and indicated that she and Commission staff were working on necessary operational changes and communicating with interested parties, including the Illinois Association of Court Clerks, to ensure that the provisions of the bill will be implemented in the most expeditious fashion once it takes effect. Chairman Latz thanked Ms. Janas for her work on this legislation.

Chairman Latz then updated the Board members on current issues and projects at the Commission. The Chairman reported that the remodeling of the Commission's Central File Room was currently underway and nearing completion. He encouraged the Board members to stop in and see the progress that had been achieved with the new shelving and organization of the room. Chairman Latz then informed the Board about the status of the funds created following the settlement of the litigation involving the Chamber of Commerce and the Workers' Compensation Commission's operation surcharge, Illinois State Chamber of Commerce v. Filan. A portion of these funds are designated for the improvement of the Commission's IT infrastructure, which may

include electronic filing at the Commission. In order to move forward with the planning for these IT improvements, Chairman Latz stated that the Commission would begin the procurement process by preparing a request for proposals for IT consultants to first assess what needs to be accomplished to successfully implement this project. Chairman Latz noted that this would be a multiyear project, but it was important to establish sufficient groundwork in the planning stages in order to ensure the best possible outcome for Commission operations.

Mr. Vite commented that he hoped that the Chairman would make efforts to keep the Board members informed of all operational changes during the process of planning for and the transition to electronic filing. Mr. Carrigan agreed with Mr. Vite and added that effective communication between the Commission and the Board members would facilitate a smoother transition. Chairman Latz thanked Mr. Vite and Mr. Carrigan for their comments and stated that he would do his best to keep the Board informed of all updates and changes.

Chairman Latz then moved on to the next agenda item, which was the consideration of arbitrator and Commissioner candidates for appointment and reappointment. Because this agenda item involved the appointment, employment, and performance of appointees of the Commission, Chairman Latz asked for a motion to dissolve into closed session pursuant to Section 2(c)(1) and 2(c)(3) of the Open Meetings Act. The motion was made by Mr. Carrigan, seconded by Mr. Carpenter, and unanimously carried. The members of the public in attendance were asked to leave the room and the meeting of the Board became closed.

There was a motion by Mr. Carpenter, seconded by Mr. Carrigan and unanimously carried to arise from closed session.

There was a motion by Mr. Carrigan and seconded by Mr. Vite to recommend to the Governor that Mr. Michael Brennan be appointed as a Public member of the Commission. The following members voted in favor of the motion: Mr. Anderson, Mr. Carpenter, Mr. Carrigan, Mr. Vite, Mr. Gruber, Mr. Halffield, and Mr. Stott. Mr. Lowry and Mr. Prince voted present. With 7 members voting yes, zero members voting no, and two members voting present, the motion carried.

There was a motion by Mr. Carrigan, seconded, by Mr. Vite, and unanimously carried to table any vote to recommend Ms. Ketki Steffen until she had the opportunity to be interviewed at a meeting of the Board.

There was a motion by Mr. Vite and seconded by Mr. Carrigan to recommend to the Governor that Ms. Ilonka Ulrich be appointed as an arbitrator at the Commission. The following members voted in favor of the motion: Mr. Anderson, Mr. Carrigan, Mr. Vite, Mr. Gruber, Mr. Halffield, and Mr. Stott. Mr. Lowry and Mr. Prince voted present. With 7 members voting yes, zero members voting no, and 2 members voting present, the motion carried.

There was a motion by Mr. Carrigan and seconded by Mr. Vite to recommend to the Governor that the following currently serving arbitrators with terms expiring on July 1, 2013 be reappointed for another term: Arbitrator Kurt Carlson, Arbitrator Brian Cronin, Arbitrator Carolyn Doherty, Arbitrator Greg Dollison, Barbara Flores, Arbitrator William Gallagher, Arbitrator Edward Lee, Arbitrator Joshua Luskin, Arbitrator Molly Mason, Arbitrator Douglas McCarthy, Arbitrator Deborah Simpson, and Arbitrator Robert Williams. The following members voted in favor of the motion: Mr. Anderson, Mr. Carpenter, Mr. Carrigan, Mr. Vite, Mr. Gruber, Mr. Halffield, and Mr. Stott. Mr. Lowry and Mr. Prince voted present. With 7 members voting yes, zero members voting no, and 2 members voting present, the motion carried.

Chairman Latz then discussed setting a new meeting time with the Board members for the interview of Ms. Ketki Steffen. The Board members agreed that a July 16 meeting in Chicago would allow for the best attendance of all of the Board members.

There was a motion by Mr. Vite, seconded by Mr. Lowry, and unanimously carried to adjourn the meeting.