# MINUTES OF THE ILLINOIS WORKERS' COMPENSATION COMMISSION WORKERS' COMPENSATION ADVISORY BOARD MEETING JAMES R. THOMPSON CENTER, 100 W. RANDOLPH STREET CHAIRMAN'S CONFERENCE ROOM HELD ON AUGUST 1, 2013 AT 2:00 PM

### Present at the meeting were:

Chairman Michael Latz Richard Aleksy John Carpenter David Vite

#### Not Present at the meeting were:

Aaron Anderson David Halffield William Lowry Mark Prince Sean Stott

## **Present by Telephone:**

Mitch Abbett Michael Carrigan Mark Denzler Phil Gruber

## **IWCC staff present at the meeting were:**

Kate Melford, Confidential Assistant to the Chairman Ronald Rascia, General Counsel

Chairman Mike Latz called the meeting to order at 2:00 pm. The approval of the minutes from the July 16, 2013 meeting were deferred until a future date.

Chairman Latz then moved on to the next agenda item, which was the consideration of a commissioner appointment. There was a motion by Mr. Aleksy, seconded by Mr. Vite, and unanimously carried to dissolve into closed session pursuant to Section 2(c)(1) of the Open Meetings Act to discuss personnel matters and deliberate the commissioner recommendation. The meeting of the Board became closed.

There was a motion by Mr. Carpenter, seconded by Mr. Vite, and unanimously carried to arise from closed session.

There was a motion by Mr. Vite and seconded by Mr. Carpenter to recommend to the Governor that Ms. Jeanmarie Calcagno be appointed as a commissioner. The following members voted in favor of the motion: Mr. Abbett, Mr. Carpenter, Mr. Carrigan, Mr. Denzler, Mr. Gruber, and Mr. Vite. Mr. Aleksy voted present. With six members voting yes, zero members voting no and one member voting present, the motion carried.

Upon motion made by Mr. Aleksy, seconded by Mr. Carpenter, and unanimously carried, the meeting was adjourned.