# MINUTES OF THE ILLINOIS WORKERS' COMPENSATION COMMISSION WORKERS' COMPENSATION ADVISORY BOARD MEETING

## JAMES R. THOMPSON CENTER

# 100 WEST RANDOLPH STREET – 8<sup>TH</sup> FLOOR, CHAIRMAN'S CONFERENCE ROOM CHICAGO, ILLINOIS **HELD ON AUGUST 21, 2014**

#### Present at the meeting:

Chairman Michael Latz Mark Denzler Aaron Anderson John Carpenter Michael Carrigan

#### Participating via telephone:

Mitchell Abbett Richard Aleksy Philip Gruber David Halffield Robert Karr Mark Prince Sean Stott

#### Not present at the meeting:

William Lowry

## **IWCC** staff present:

Ron Rascia Mike Arnold

Chairman Latz called the meeting to order at 10:00 a.m. Because the only item on the agenda concerned the Board's evaluation and recommendation of candidates for open arbitrator positions, Chairman Latz asked for a motion to dissolve into closed session pursuant to Section 2(c)(1) and (3) of the Open Meetings Act. Mr. Denzler so moved, Mr. Aleksy seconded the motion, and the motion carried unanimously.

There was a motion by Mr. Carrigan, seconded by Mr. Denzler and unanimously carried, to arise from closed session.

The Board then voted on the following resolution:

- I. The Advisory Board unanimously recommends Michael Nowak and Steven Fruth for appointment as Arbitrator.
- II. The Labor representatives/members of the Advisory Board recommend Maria Bocanegra's appointment as Arbitrator.

III. The Employer representatives/members of the Advisory Board recommend Stephen Friedman's appointment as Arbitrator.

Chairman Latz, Mr. Abbett, Mr. Anderson, Mr. Carpenter, Mr. Carrigan, Mr. Denzler, Mr. Gruber, Mr. Halffield, Mr. Karr, and Mr. Stott voted in favor of the resolution. Mr. Aleksy and Mr. Prince voted presented. The resolution was therefore approved.

There was a motion by Mr. Carpenter, seconded by Mr. Aleksy and unanimously carried, to adjourn the meeting.