# MINUTES OF THE ILLINOIS WORKERS' COMPENSATION COMMISSION WORKERS' COMPENSATION ADVISORY BOARD MEETING JAMES R. THOMPSON CENTER, 100 WEST RANDOLPH STREET CHAIRMAN'S CONFERENCE ROOM HELD ON DECEMBER 16, 2013 at 1:30 PM

### Present at the meeting:

Chairman Michael Latz Aaron Anderson John Carpenter Michael Carrigan Sean Stott David Vite

## **Present by telephone:**

Mitch Abbett Mark Prince Phil Gruber Jerry Peck for Mark Denzler

# Not present at the meeting:

Richard Alesky David Halffield William Lowry

#### IWCC staff present at the meeting:

Kimberly Janas, Secretary of the Commission Ronald Rascia, General Counsel Brendan O'Rourke, Assistant to the Chairman Michael Arnold, Deputy General Counsel

Chairman Michael Latz called the meeting to order and noted that a quorum was present. There was a motion by Mr. Vite, seconded by Mr. Stott, and unanimously carried to approve the minutes from the meeting held on October 16, 2013.

First, Chairman Latz provided the Board members with a brief update of legislation that had recently been filed in the General Assembly.

Next, Chairman Latz moved on to the next agenda item of Old Business. There were no matters of Old Business raised by the Board members.

Moving on to New Business, Chairman Latz stated that we would like to present to the Board members two candidates for their consideration: Arbitrator Steve Mathis as a candidate for the Public Member of the Commission and Ms. Jessica Hegarty as a candidate for Arbitrator. As this matter involves the appointment and employment of Arbitrators and Commissioners, Chairman Latz called for a motion to move into closed session pursuant to Section 2(c)(1) and (3) of the Open Meetings Act. There was a motion by Mr. Vite, seconded by Mr. Carrigan, and unanimously carried to move into closed session.

There was a motion by Mr. Vite, seconded by Mr. Carrigan, and unanimously carried to arise from closed session. There was a motion by Mr. Vite and seconded by Mr. Carrigan to recommend to Governor Quinn that Arbitrator Steve Mathis be appointed as a Public Member of the Commission and Ms. Jessica Hegarty be appointed as an arbitrator at the Commission. The following members voted yes: Mr. Anderson, Mr. Carpenter, Mr. Carrigan, Mr. Stott, Mr. Vite, Mr. Abbett, Mr. Gruber, and Mr. Peck for Mr. Denzler. Mr. Prince voted present. With eight members voting yes, no members voting no, and one member voting present, the motion carried. Chairman Latz stated that he would convey the recommendation of the Board members to the Governor's office.

Chairman Latz introduced Brendan O'Rourke as his new assistant. He asked the Board members to welcome Mr. O'Rourke to the Commission. Finally, Chairman Latz indicated that the schedule of meetings for 2014 will be posted to the Commission's website in compliance with the Open Meetings Act. The next scheduled meeting of the Advisory Board was scheduled on January 23, 2014.

There was a motion by Mr. Carrigan, seconded by Mr. Carpenter, and unanimously carried to adjourn the meeting.