MINUTES OF THE ILLINOIS WORKERS' COMPENSATION COMMISSION WORKERS' COMPENSATION ADVISORY BOARD MEETING HELD VIA WEBEX ON JUNE 22, 2021 at 10:00AM

Present via Webex:

Chairman Michael J. Brennan Aaron Anderson Tim Drea Mark Denzler Mitchell Horwitz Rob Karr Jill Kastner David Weaver

Not Present:

Karen Harris
Denne Knell
Mark Prince
Sean Stott

IWCC Staff Present via WebEx:

Ronald A. Rascia, General Counsel Cole D. Garrett, Deputy General Counsel Annette Roti, Confidential Secretary to the Chairman Michele Kowalski, Research and Education Manager Cecelia Kasmierski, Associate General Counsel

On June 22, 2021 at 10:00AM, Chairman Michael J. Brennan called the meeting to order and verified a quorum was present. Chairman Brennan advised that at previous meetings, the Board had interviewed and discussed candidates for possible term renewals or open Arbitrator positions in closed session pursuant to Sections 2(c)(1) and (3) of the Open Meetings Act. Chairman Brennan asked for a spokesperson from each of the Board's representative groups to communicate the groups' recommendations. Consistent with past practice, practicing attorney members of the Board were afforded an opportunity to vote "present." Board member Jill Kastner voted "present" and did not take part in making any recommendation.

Tim Drea spoke on behalf of the Employee members. The Employee members recommended Joseph Amarillo, Paul Cellini, Gerald Granada, Jessica Hegarty, Adam Hinrichs, Jeffrey Huebsch, Maureen Pulia, and Crystal Caison. Employee members did not recommend Stephen Friedman, Melinda Rowe-Sullivan, and Douglas Steffenson. Employee members continued to recommend those candidates which they had previously recommended at prior Board meetings.

Mark Denzler spoke on behalf of the Employer Members. The Employer members made recommendations only as to the ten arbitrators presented in this meeting and Crystal Caison. The Employer members recommended Paul Cellini, Stephen Friedman, Gerald Granada, Adam Hinrichs, Jeffrey Huebsch, Melinda Rowe-Sullivan, and Douglas Steffenson. Employer members did not recommend Joseph Amarillo. Employer members had no opinion as to Crystal Caison, Jessica Hegarty, and Maureen Pulia.

Upon motion by Mark Denzler and seconded by Tim Drea to send the recommendations to Governor Pritzker, the motion carried unanimously, with abstention from Jill Kastner.

The Chairman asked for public comment and noted that there was no public comment.

Chairman Brennan then indicated that the Commission would prepare a letter communicating the Board's recommendations and comments to Governor Pritzker. Having no further business to discuss, Chairman Brennan asked for a motion to adjourn and the motion to adjourn carried unanimously. The meeting adjourned at 10:09AM.