MINUTES OF THE ILLINOIS WORKERS' COMPENSATION COMMISSION WORKERS' COMPENSATION ADVISORY BOARD MEETING

WILLIAM G. STRATTON BUILDING, 401 S. SPRING ST., ROOM 500 ½, SPRINGFIELD, IL and JAMES R. THOMPSON CENTER, 100 WEST RANDOLPH STREET, ROOM 9-36, CHICAGO, IL HELD ON JUNE 30, 2015 at 9:30 AM

Present at the meeting:

Chairman Joann Fratiani

Mark Denzler

Michael Carrigan

Rich Aleksy

Jay Shattuck

Todd Maisch

Kim Maisch

Mark Flannery

Robert Karr

Sean Stott

Present by phone:

Aaron Anderson

Not present at the meeting:

Phil Gruber

Mark Prince

IWCC staff present at the meeting were:

Ron Rascia, General Counsel

Dennie Michelle Mogensen, Deputy General Counsel

Chairman Joann Fratianni called the meeting to order at 9:30 am and noted that a quorum was present. There was a motion by Rich Aleksy and seconded by Mark Denzler and unanimously carried to approve the minutes from meetings held on June 12, 2015.

Because the only item on the agenda concerned the Board's evaluation and recommendation of candidates for Arbitrator positions, Chairman Fratianni asked for a motion to dissolve into closed session pursuant to Section 2(c)(1) and 2(c)(3) of the Open Meetings Act. The motion was made by Mr. Denzler, seconded by Mr. Aleksy, and unanimously carried. The meeting of the Board became closed.

There was a motion by Mr. Alexy, seconded by Kim Maisch, and unanimously carried to arise from closed session. At this time a vote was entertained regarding the board recommendations.

Regarding the reappointment of the eleven current arbitrators, labor voted for the reappointment of all 11. Business voted for the reappointment of Arbitrators Daring, Lindsey, Friedman, Pulia, Huebsch, Bocanegra, Granada, Steffen and Hegarty. Business voted against the reappointment of Arbitrators Andros and O'Malley. Board members Alexy and Flannery voted present.

As to the new candidates to fill current Arbitrator vacancies, Business voted to appoint Christina Hemenway, Douglas Steffenson and Melinda Rowe-Sullivan. Labor voted to appoint Paul Cellini, Masha Chepov, and Christina Ory. Board members Alexy and Flannery voted present.

The Chairman entertained a motion that she should write a letter to the Governor's Office and copy all board members regarding the outcome of the voting. There was a motion by Mr. Denzler and seconded by Ms. Maisch and unanimously carried regarding conveying the Board's vote.

There was a motion by Mr. Aleksy, seconded by Ms. Maisch, and unanimously carried to adjourn the meeting at 9:42 a.m.