MINUTES OF THE ILLINOIS WORKERS' COMPENSATION COMMISSION

HELD ON December 7, 2020 at 10:00AM via WebEx

Present at the meeting via WebEx:

Chairman Michael J. Brennan
Commissioner Kathryn Doerries
Commissioner Maria Portela
Commissioner Barbara Flores
Commissioner Marc Parker
Commissioner Douglas McCarthy
Commissioner L. Elizabeth Coppoletti
Commissioner Thomas Tyrrell

IWCC staff present at the meeting via WebEx:

Ronald Rascia, General Counsel Cole D. Garrett, Deputy General Counsel Annette Roti, Confidential Assistant to the Chairman Michele Kowalski, Manager Research and Education Cecelia Kasmierski, Associate General Counsel

On December 7, 2020, at 10:00AM, Chairman Michael J. Brennan called the meeting to order and verified a quorum was present. Chairman Brennan advised that draft minutes for a Commission meeting held on September 22, 2020, had been circulated and asked for any objections to the minutes as written. Hearing no objection, Chairman Brennan called for a motion to approve the minutes. Commissioner McCarthy so moved, Commissioner Tyrrell seconded the motion, and the motion to approve the minutes of the September 22, 2020 Meeting of the Commission carried unanimously.

As to old business, Chairman Brennan moved to discussion of current operations at the Commission. The next phase of CompFile will roll out at the end of January 2021. Training will begin after the first of January. The Chairman thanked Matt Bryant and David Larson for a great job. Chairman Brennan noted that the Microsoft process has been amazing. Chairman Brennan advised that particular disruptions will go away, as evidenced by the settlement contract roll out.

As to new business, Chairman Brennan advised that the Commission is moving out of the Thompson Center by the end of fiscal year 2021. Michele Kowalski is working with CMS regarding the move and the process has begun. First to move will be the hearing rooms and then the offices. The hearing rooms will be going to the Daley Center and the offices to 69 West Washington. Chairman Brennan expressed well wishes to those retiring, including Commissioner McCarthy, Michael Mims, Tonisa Hutchinson, and Loretta Jackson. Commissioner McCarthy commented that it was a great experience, an honor, and the best opportunity. Commissioner McCarthy extended special thanks to Chairman Brennan. The Chairman thanked Commissioner McCarthy and congratulated him on his retirement. The Commissioners and staff also congratulated Commissioner McCarthy. Chairman Brennan extended condolences to Commissioner Simpson regarding the loss of her mother.

There were no members of the public present via WebEx and no public comment.

Upon no further business, Commissioner McCarthy moved to adjourn, Commissioner Flores seconded the motion, and the motion was approved unanimously. The meeting adjourned at 10:19AM.